$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
125 reviews
Wonderful staff who made our stay memorable

The Holiday Inn Portland by the Bay is conveniently located. I love the shuttle service which you... See full review

  • Aleli 422
  • Oct 9, 2014
Outstanding

Friendly staff, great location, within walking distance to attractions. See full review

  • Eli F.
  • Jul 27, 2014
Walk to the Old Port and more from this award-winning hotel

The pedestrian-friendly location of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY makes an easy starting point for Portland exploration. In one direction, the Old Port working waterfront thrives with unique shops and popular restaurants. In the other, the new city Arts District promises excitement and culture with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. Enjoy the largest indoor pool around or take a break from touring town in the fitness center or sauna. A free airport shuttle and free Wi-Fi add value to the great views.

Highlights

  • Largest indoor swimming pool in Greater Portland plus a fitness center and saunas
  • Informal restaurant and lounge with New England-inspired menu
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Courtesy vans to airport, bus terminal, train station and local businesses when available
  • Walking distance to shops and restaurants of Old Port waterfront and arts district

Rooms

Most of the 239 rooms at Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY afford a view worth remembering. Bay-side rooms look out to the Atlantic Ocean while others frame up the White Mountains or the Portland city skyline. Decor is simple and in line with traditional Holiday Inn guest room interiors. Amenities in all rooms include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron and two dual-line telephones with voice mail. Some upgraded rooms feature 42-inch TVs. Wireless Internet access is free. 

Features

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY is a proud recipient of multiple awards from the InterContinental Hotels Group for quality, customer satisfaction and overall excellence. The hotel also ranks in the top 10% of Holiday Inns around the globe. Guests appreciate the parking facilities (fees apply), on-site gift shop and guest laundry facilities. Dine on site, walk to waterfront eateries or request the shuttle to a favorite local hotspot. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Portland airport and transportation hubs

Attractions

  • Portland Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines Ferry (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Co. (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Maine Mall (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (13.8 mi/22.2 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (13.9 mi/22.3 km)
  • Freeport outlet shops (16.7 mi/26.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center with copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms with more than 17, 500 square feet of event space for 8 to 1,400 people

Policies and fees
  • Parking fee costs $10 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

43.6533 -70.2615
Nearby airports
Portland International Jetport, (PWM), 3.00, MI, E; Logan, (BOS), 100.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 0.1 mi

Dining

Port of Call Restaurant
Our elegant yet informal full service dining room offers friendly and attentive service. Our daily changing menu features quality American cuisine with a New England flair. Of course, Maine lobster is always on the menu. Enjoy our casual atmosphere, feat
Port of Call Lounge
Port of Call Lounge is open11:00 am to 12:45 am offering your favorite beverage and light fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kmack party for Ellie
Business
Chelmsford, MA
Feb 22, 2010

Portland Girls Night

We love the Holiday Inn By The Bay. Great location and the staff is great. Eight women - four to a room - are not always easy to coordinate and please -but they manage every time. The only improvement that needs to be made is new mattresses!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jubee
Business
louisiana
Dec 28, 2009

great location & great price

we really enjoyed our stay in portland. the hotel had a great view of the city and was walking distance from everything we wanted to do (including being directly across the street from the hockey arena).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 24, 2009

Smokey,fiance got hives,left, no refund

Given the review from a travel advisory site, I thought we would have a nice weekend away, with a great room. My fiance has an issue/allergy with smoke, so I obviously chose a smoke free room. After parking in the parking garage, I couldn't help but notice the stench of cigarette smoke in the elevator up to the lobby. When we checked into our room, there was another odd chemical-like smell, perhaps a masking product used to cover up something worse. We decided we could go to eat, and when we came back, determine whether she could tolerate the smell. The elevator ride was the same after dinner and my fiance had hives due to the lingering effects of smoke, which I also noticed in the lobby and hallways. When we determined we could not stay the night, we looked into the Hilton Garden Inn down the street and went to our front desk around 8pm. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
four children
Business
Australia
Nov 3, 2009

Great Service

Great service, was impressed by the taxi service provided by the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Bend, IN
Nov 3, 2009

Anniversary Getaway

Nice room, not 5 star, but very comfortable. Everything in downtown is within walking distance of the hotel or an easy drive. The view of the bay was outstanding!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
Oct 8, 2009

GREAT!!

great, near everything and even the Hotel food was good. The staff were very nice, and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ct
Sep 22, 2009

great location but dirty

Great location, beautiful view, and helpful and efficient check in. Unfortunately, the room smelled, obviously hadn't been vacumed or dusted, and the bathroom had spots all over the mirrors and hair all over the floor and shower, oh and the tub was sticky. On the second stay of the visit, when I returned in the evening the bed wasn't made, the garbage in the bedroom wasn't thrown out, the carpet still had debris, the crumb from my bagel was still sitting on the desk, and the bathroom was still disgusting...the same spots on the mirror and hair all over the floor and shower were still there (literally in the exact same place). Just about all the maid did was pick up the towels on the floor and throw out the garbage in the bathroom. I hate to complain so didn't even bother. The location and view really were wonderful and the front desk employees were great. It was just one of the dirtiest places I've ever stayed, which is such a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
RI
Sep 14, 2009

Portland By The Bay

Requested non-smoking room - room reeked of tobacco. Had to park one block away - garage always full. Had two double beds - would have preferred king or queen. Windows could not open - no fresh air, and AC was very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Siouxcq
Business
Boston area
Sep 7, 2009

Handy location at a reasonable price

We have stayed here before and plan to again and again. There aren't too many options in Portland to be honest that have the same cost:value ratio. This hotel is conveniently located around the corner from the Portland Museum of Art and the Arts District. It's a short drive to the very heart of the port or if you are just a little heartier than we are, it's really a walkable distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Walter's on Exchange Street. We stumbled upon it after looking at at least a half dozen other restaurants in the port area. It is not inexpensive but more reasonable than the others we found. The food was out of this world! If you love wine, they have a wine list as long as your arm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lawdawg86
Business
Amarillo, Texas.
Sep 7, 2009

Perfectly Located w/ Very Helpful Staff

Great harbor view from Bayside rooms. We flew in to Manchester and rented a car to get to Portland. The car sat in the garage completely unused because everything was within walking distance. Sometimes the sites were up to a mile away, but, with all the lobster we ate, we didn't mind a fifteen to twenty minute walk at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Porthole Fountain, off Commercial Street, northeast from the Long Wharf, where many of the locals go for a drink and a bite. On the water, old (inside and out) and PERFECT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top