$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 10, 2015 Check-out: Apr 11, 2015

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
View map of 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island N.Y.
May 8, 2011

Nice Hotel

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull. We had a wonderful stay. Room was very clean. I accidently booked a smoking room, they changed it to a non smoking room without hesitation plus gave me a choice of view. I couldnt ask for more. Price was right. Free parking a plus. Garage is small and tight but works well with smaller car. Location is good, great food in the old port area. Breakfrast not free but they do a great job and reasonable prices plus very convienent. I would recommend this hotel to others. Excellent choice for what we paid. We went during the spring so its still the off season. Nice and quiet, May be diffrent during summer but worth checking into. Nice indoor pool and nice gym. Free coffee and lemonaid in lobby everyday. You cant go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Old port is a short distance from hotel and has nice dinning, great seafood. DiMillios has awsome food. Twin lobster special when we we there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Apr 27, 2011

Very pleasant and affordable

We went sightseeing all over Portland. We did alot of walking,because we took the train. The staff was more than happy to drive us anywhere we wanted to go. There many restaurants in Portland. We ate at a different one for every meal.There is so much to see and do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

J's Oyster is the best place for lobster. The prices are very good and food is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Dec 13, 2010

Great location and value

The staff was welcoming and extremely helpful. My short stay there was lovely and I would love to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston
Nov 29, 2010

Great customer service

Great staff. Very friendly and helpful with restaurants, activities etc. And, they would take us there in the shuttle for no charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ldychurch
Business
Cranston, RI
Oct 26, 2010

The Holiday Inn was a great

The hotel was beautiful but I asked for three beds which we did not get. The food was great. We love the city of Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 27, 2010

Hotel Portland

We were in town for a wedding and chose the hotel for it's location. It was very clean and comfortable and also in walking distance to the Old Port which is where most of the good restaurants are located. Overall we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Becky's Diner in old port for breakfast. It was a great experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grabe
Business
NJ
Aug 29, 2010

Great location...good overall value

We stayed at the holiday Inn to be close to Old Port, which it was. Great location. Good facilities. Would def stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to many great restaurants and bars, as well as shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Avon, CT
Aug 24, 2010

A great buy!

Easy to locate. Great location to walk to everythin g. Offered to pick us up from dinner at downtown location. Great service and told other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many many restaurants within walking distance, as well as shopping and HI will pick you up and drive you back to hotel. Excellent service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
Jul 26, 2010

Good

Good Location, but not on the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suzcat
Business
Augusta, Maine
Jun 13, 2010

Reunion Weekend

I have stayed at this hotel before and frankly do it for price; the location is also good as nothing within Downtown Portland is really out of walking distance. Check in went smoothly, rooms are clean but a bit small and outdated. Parking is free but the garage is horribly cramped - spaces are too close together and there is little room to manuever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portland Maine has many good dining options and most are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top