$188 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
View map of 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viksfan87
Couples
Maine, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Comfortable and Professional

Great location in the heart of the Old Port in Portland and one of the few hotels with easy access going to and from the hotel. Everything is classy and comfortable, I didn't want to leave the room because of the large comfortable beds and the 44" HDTVs. Definitely the place to stay if you are going to the Old Port.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shebedinogal
Family
Massachusetts, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Perfect for Portland

Clean, friendly staff, great location. I took my daughters for a weekend and the location was central to everything planned. Great swimming pool. For a 2 star property, it really was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Duck Fat restaurant - de-lish! Really not that far away, but not around the corner.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
McFrowns
Friends
Brewer, ME
Jan 23, 2012

Old Port Visit

This is a nice Hotel That is in a great location to enjoy the Bars and restaurants in the old port. It is a nice hotel, clean and a good price for the location. Only thing they could improve were the beds. A little hard and the Pillows were a little to thick for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to the arena and bars and restaurants like Gritty's.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gr8ful
Couples
Wilton, NH, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Great Hotel

We were attending a show at the State Theater and this hotel was perfect. Venue right around the corner and the room was amazing for the price. Very modern, big screen tv, keurig coffe maker! This is now our go to hotel for all State Theater shows!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gale Storm
Couples
Kingfield, ME, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Better than expected

We made last-minute reservations for a Sat. night. The room was better than expected & they upgraded us to a larger room when we arrived. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCHib
Couples
Grafton, MA, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Comfortable Stay

Nice stay for a night in Portland. Spent Thanksgiving with the kids in Kennebunkport. Will stay again soon. Staff was nice and upgraded us to a room with a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Great food all around Commercial St

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBrennan1000
Couples
Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Back in town

My girlfriend and I have frequently visited Portland this past year and we've discovered that the price and location of the Holiday Inn is perfect for our needs. Most nights we like to be able to have a few drinks and wander around so having a highly visible hotel close to the downtown area is quite handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Seek out Novare Res for an amazing craft beer experience.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blondie from MAss
Friends
Massachusetts
Nov 1, 2011

Great place to stay

The staff was so cordial....didn't expect this at a Holiday Inn. The Business Room had all you would need!!! Coffee or Tea 24/7 ...FABULOUS. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luckbug
Friends
Collegeville, PA 19426, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Nice price and location.

There were only smoking rooms open which wasn't ideal but other than that it was clean and the staff was very nice. Location and price very sweet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben88
Couples
Hartford, CT, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Bay view males the difference

Comfortable, clean, quiet spacious room with good beds and pleasant service. This one expects. The bay view by day and night makes all te difference. Breakfasts are also good and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One Longfellow Square for folk music

Back to menu Return to top