$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 10, 2015 Check-out: Mar 11, 2015

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
View map of 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
126 reviews
Winter trip to Portland Maine

My husband and I had a great stay at the Holiday Inn by the Bay in Portland, Maine. Upon arrival,... See full review

  • Ana T.
  • Jan 21, 2015
Wonderful staff who made our stay memorable

The Holiday Inn Portland by the Bay is conveniently located. I love the shuttle service which you... See full review

  • Aleli 422
  • Oct 9, 2014
Walk to the Old Port and more from this award-winning hotel

The pedestrian-friendly location of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY makes an easy starting point for Portland exploration. In one direction, the Old Port working waterfront thrives with unique shops and popular restaurants. In the other, the new city Arts District promises excitement and culture with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. Enjoy the largest indoor pool around or take a break from touring town in the fitness center or sauna. A free airport shuttle and free Wi-Fi add value to the great views.

Highlights

  • Largest indoor swimming pool in Greater Portland plus a fitness center and saunas
  • Informal restaurant and lounge with New England-inspired menu
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Courtesy vans to airport, bus terminal, train station and local businesses when available
  • Walking distance to shops and restaurants of Old Port waterfront and arts district

Rooms

Most of the 239 rooms at Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY afford a view worth remembering. Bay-side rooms look out to the Atlantic Ocean while others frame up the White Mountains or the Portland city skyline. Decor is simple and in line with traditional Holiday Inn guest room interiors. Amenities in all rooms include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron and two dual-line telephones with voice mail. Some upgraded rooms feature 42-inch TVs. Wireless Internet access is free. 

Features

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY is a proud recipient of multiple awards from the InterContinental Hotels Group for quality, customer satisfaction and overall excellence. The hotel also ranks in the top 10% of Holiday Inns around the globe. Guests appreciate the parking facilities (fees apply), on-site gift shop and guest laundry facilities. Dine on site, walk to waterfront eateries or request the shuttle to a favorite local hotspot. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Portland airport and transportation hubs

Attractions

  • Portland Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines Ferry (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Co. (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Maine Mall (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (13.8 mi/22.2 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (13.9 mi/22.3 km)
  • Freeport outlet shops (16.7 mi/26.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center with copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms with more than 17, 500 square feet of event space for 8 to 1,400 people

Policies and fees
  • Parking fee costs $10 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 0.1 mi

Dining

Port of Call Restaurant
Our elegant yet informal full service dining room offers friendly and attentive service. Our daily changing menu features quality American cuisine with a New England flair. Of course, Maine lobster is always on the menu. Enjoy our casual atmosphere, feat
Port of Call Lounge
Port of Call Lounge is open11:00 am to 12:45 am offering your favorite beverage and light fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBrennan1000
Business
Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Back in town

My girlfriend and I have frequently visited Portland this past year and we've discovered that the price and location of the Holiday Inn is perfect for our needs. Most nights we like to be able to have a few drinks and wander around so having a highly visible hotel close to the downtown area is quite handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Seek out Novare Res for an amazing craft beer experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blondie from MAss
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 1, 2011

Great place to stay

The staff was so cordial....didn't expect this at a Holiday Inn. The Business Room had all you would need!!! Coffee or Tea 24/7 ...FABULOUS. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luckbug
Business
Collegeville, PA 19426, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Nice price and location.

There were only smoking rooms open which wasn't ideal but other than that it was clean and the staff was very nice. Location and price very sweet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben88
Business
Hartford, CT, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Bay view males the difference

Comfortable, clean, quiet spacious room with good beds and pleasant service. This one expects. The bay view by day and night makes all te difference. Breakfasts are also good and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One Longfellow Square for folk music

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Figgimo
Business
Port Jervis, NY, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Northeast treasure

Very pleasant atmosphere, very friendly staff, and excellent food. We will be sure to book on our next trip up that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Upon exiting the Holiday Inn, do not walk down the hill. I would stay left out of the hotel and head north a block or two and return the same way in order to avoid walking up the hill upon return. Plenty of beautiful shops in this area & the shuttle from the hotel is an excellent way to get around. Pleasantly surprised!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LarN
Business
Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Portland vacation

The staff was friendly and efficient. We liked being able to park in the garage below the hotel for no extra charge. The location is perfect for exploring the downtown and arts district!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 hour sail at sunset was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Traveler2
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 31, 2011

One night

Beautiful room and view. Clean hotel and great access to Portland downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Korean restaurant on Congress

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cupper
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Nice Holiday Inn

Overall, very nice. Staff was very helpful. Good shuttle service to and from airport. Got into our room early, which was great. The room was large and comfortable--the bed was very nice. We were on the "city" side, so the view was ok, but should be better on the ocean side. Amenities were fine and room and hotel were clean, except we did find a child's "sippy cup" when we moved the TV. The internet connection was not very good. The hotel is not in the most interesting part of the city, though nothing is very far and it was very close to where we needed to be. I thought the rate was a bit high, but probably not out of line for the season. Not a "charming" hotel, but it is a Holiday Inn. Overall, it was a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisb
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 17, 2011

weekend getaway

Hotels was nice and the room was quite large. The sofa was a bit old and not very comfortable. The beds were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Aug 11, 2011

Downtown location, and not very clean.

Our experience was just okay at this hotel. We spent 2 nights there. The first night I discovered our blanket had a huge stain on it. I also discovered a lot of hair in the bathroom. Hair was on the floor, on the counter, and even on the lids of the coffee cups. I said something to the front desk about the hair, and the stain, and she so called "wrote it down." I put in a request for a new blanket. When we came back to the hotel the second night, I discovered even more hair in the bathroom. They did not clean the floor or the counter, nor did they replace the lids to the coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you visit this city, I recommend the Foody Tour. It was great! We went to many local businesses, and had a chance to taste some food, beer, and wine. We also did the Trolley tour which is fun also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top