$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
View map of 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCHib
Business
Grafton, MA, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Comfortable Stay

Nice stay for a night in Portland. Spent Thanksgiving with the kids in Kennebunkport. Will stay again soon. Staff was nice and upgraded us to a room with a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Great food all around Commercial St

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBrennan1000
Business
Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Back in town

My girlfriend and I have frequently visited Portland this past year and we've discovered that the price and location of the Holiday Inn is perfect for our needs. Most nights we like to be able to have a few drinks and wander around so having a highly visible hotel close to the downtown area is quite handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Seek out Novare Res for an amazing craft beer experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blondie from MAss
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 1, 2011

Great place to stay

The staff was so cordial....didn't expect this at a Holiday Inn. The Business Room had all you would need!!! Coffee or Tea 24/7 ...FABULOUS. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luckbug
Business
Collegeville, PA 19426, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Nice price and location.

There were only smoking rooms open which wasn't ideal but other than that it was clean and the staff was very nice. Location and price very sweet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben88
Business
Hartford, CT, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Bay view males the difference

Comfortable, clean, quiet spacious room with good beds and pleasant service. This one expects. The bay view by day and night makes all te difference. Breakfasts are also good and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One Longfellow Square for folk music

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Figgimo
Business
Port Jervis, NY, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Northeast treasure

Very pleasant atmosphere, very friendly staff, and excellent food. We will be sure to book on our next trip up that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Upon exiting the Holiday Inn, do not walk down the hill. I would stay left out of the hotel and head north a block or two and return the same way in order to avoid walking up the hill upon return. Plenty of beautiful shops in this area & the shuttle from the hotel is an excellent way to get around. Pleasantly surprised!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LarN
Business
Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Portland vacation

The staff was friendly and efficient. We liked being able to park in the garage below the hotel for no extra charge. The location is perfect for exploring the downtown and arts district!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 hour sail at sunset was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Traveler2
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 31, 2011

One night

Beautiful room and view. Clean hotel and great access to Portland downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Korean restaurant on Congress

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cupper
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Nice Holiday Inn

Overall, very nice. Staff was very helpful. Good shuttle service to and from airport. Got into our room early, which was great. The room was large and comfortable--the bed was very nice. We were on the "city" side, so the view was ok, but should be better on the ocean side. Amenities were fine and room and hotel were clean, except we did find a child's "sippy cup" when we moved the TV. The internet connection was not very good. The hotel is not in the most interesting part of the city, though nothing is very far and it was very close to where we needed to be. I thought the rate was a bit high, but probably not out of line for the season. Not a "charming" hotel, but it is a Holiday Inn. Overall, it was a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisb
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 17, 2011

weekend getaway

Hotels was nice and the room was quite large. The sofa was a bit old and not very comfortable. The beds were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top