$206 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
88 SPRING ST, PORTLAND, ME 04101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
186 reviews
Outstanding

Friendly staff, great location, within walking distance to attractions. See full review

  • Eli F.
  • Jul 27, 2014
Love Portland

We go to Portland every year in March to get away for the weekends and just love the Holiday Inn By... See full review

  • LisaMS
  • Dec 30, 2013
Walk to the Old Port and more from this award-winning hotel

The pedestrian-friendly location of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY makes an easy starting point for Portland exploration. In one direction, the Old Port working waterfront thrives with unique shops and popular restaurants. In the other, the new city Arts District promises excitement and culture with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. Enjoy the largest indoor pool around or take a break from touring town in the fitness center or sauna. A free airport shuttle and free Wi-Fi add value to the great views.

Highlights

  • Largest indoor swimming pool in Greater Portland plus a fitness center and saunas
  • Informal restaurant and lounge with New England-inspired menu
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Courtesy vans to airport, bus terminal, train station and local businesses when available
  • Walking distance to shops and restaurants of Old Port waterfront and arts district

Rooms

Most of the 239 rooms at Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY afford a view worth remembering. Bay-side rooms look out to the Atlantic Ocean while others frame up the White Mountains or the Portland city skyline. Decor is simple and in line with traditional Holiday Inn guest room interiors. Amenities in all rooms include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron and two dual-line telephones with voice mail. Some upgraded rooms feature 42-inch TVs. Wireless Internet access is free. 

Features

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY is a proud recipient of multiple awards from the InterContinental Hotels Group for quality, customer satisfaction and overall excellence. The hotel also ranks in the top 10% of Holiday Inns around the globe. Guests appreciate the parking facilities (fees apply), on-site gift shop and guest laundry facilities. Dine on site, walk to waterfront eateries or request the shuttle to a favorite local hotspot. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Portland airport and transportation hubs

Attractions

  • Portland Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines Ferry (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Co. (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Maine Mall (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (13.8 mi/22.2 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (13.9 mi/22.3 km)
  • Freeport outlet shops (16.7 mi/26.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center with copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms with more than 17, 500 square feet of event space for 8 to 1,400 people

Policies and fees
  • Parking fee costs $10 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6533 -70.2615
Nearby airports
Merrill Auditorium, (BOS), 100.00, MI, N; Cumberland County Civic Center, (PWM), 3.00, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 0.1 mi

Dining

Port of Call Restaurant
Our elegant yet informal full service dining room offers friendly and attentive service. Our daily changing menu features quality American cuisine with a New England flair. Of course, Maine lobster is always on the menu. Enjoy our casual atmosphere, feat
Port of Call Lounge
Port of Call Lounge is open11:00 am to 12:45 am offering your favorite beverage and light fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (186)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gale Storm
Kingfield, ME, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Better than expected

We made last-minute reservations for a Sat. night. The room was better than expected & they upgraded us to a larger room when we arrived. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCHib
Grafton, MA, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Comfortable Stay

Nice stay for a night in Portland. Spent Thanksgiving with the kids in Kennebunkport. Will stay again soon. Staff was nice and upgraded us to a room with a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Great food all around Commercial St

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KBrennan1000
Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Back in town

My girlfriend and I have frequently visited Portland this past year and we've discovered that the price and location of the Holiday Inn is perfect for our needs. Most nights we like to be able to have a few drinks and wander around so having a highly visible hotel close to the downtown area is quite handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Seek out Novare Res for an amazing craft beer experience.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blondie from MAss
Massachusetts
Nov 1, 2011

Great place to stay

The staff was so cordial....didn't expect this at a Holiday Inn. The Business Room had all you would need!!! Coffee or Tea 24/7 ...FABULOUS. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luckbug
Collegeville, PA 19426, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Nice price and location.

There were only smoking rooms open which wasn't ideal but other than that it was clean and the staff was very nice. Location and price very sweet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben88
Hartford, CT, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Bay view males the difference

Comfortable, clean, quiet spacious room with good beds and pleasant service. This one expects. The bay view by day and night makes all te difference. Breakfasts are also good and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One Longfellow Square for folk music

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Figgimo
Port Jervis, NY, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Northeast treasure

Very pleasant atmosphere, very friendly staff, and excellent food. We will be sure to book on our next trip up that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Upon exiting the Holiday Inn, do not walk down the hill. I would stay left out of the hotel and head north a block or two and return the same way in order to avoid walking up the hill upon return. Plenty of beautiful shops in this area & the shuttle from the hotel is an excellent way to get around. Pleasantly surprised!!!

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Figgimo
Port Jervis, NY, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Northeast treasure

Very pleasant atmosphere, very friendly staff, and excellent food. We will be sure to book on our next trip up that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Upon exiting the Holiday Inn, do not walk down the hill. I would stay left out of the hotel and head north a block or two and return the same way in order to avoid walking up the hill upon return. Plenty of beautiful shops in this area & the shuttle from the hotel is an excellent way to get around. Pleasantly surprised!!!

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LarN
Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Portland vacation

The staff was friendly and efficient. We liked being able to park in the garage below the hotel for no extra charge. The location is perfect for exploring the downtown and arts district!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 hour sail at sunset was awesome!

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LarN
Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Portland vacation

The staff was friendly and efficient. We liked being able to park in the garage below the hotel for no extra charge. The location is perfect for exploring the downtown and arts district!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

2 hour sail at sunset was awesome!

Back to menu Return to top