$206 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
88 SPRING ST, PORTLAND, ME 04101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
185 reviews
Love Portland

We go to Portland every year in March to get away for the weekends and just love the Holiday Inn By... See full review

  • LisaMS
  • Dec 30, 2013
good place to stay

clean, quite, pool, good location, parking, walking distance to a number of parks and restaurants. See full review

  • CrashPo
  • Jun 24, 2013
Walk to the Old Port and more from this award-winning hotel

The pedestrian-friendly location of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY makes an easy starting point for Portland exploration. In one direction, the Old Port working waterfront thrives with unique shops and popular restaurants. In the other, the new city Arts District promises excitement and culture with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. Enjoy the largest indoor pool around or take a break from touring town in the fitness center or sauna. A free airport shuttle and free Wi-Fi add value to the great views.

Highlights

  • Largest indoor swimming pool in Greater Portland plus a fitness center and saunas
  • Informal restaurant and lounge with New England-inspired menu
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Courtesy vans to airport, bus terminal, train station and local businesses when available
  • Walking distance to shops and restaurants of Old Port waterfront and arts district

Rooms

Most of the 239 rooms at Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY afford a view worth remembering. Bay-side rooms look out to the Atlantic Ocean while others frame up the White Mountains or the Portland city skyline. Decor is simple and in line with traditional Holiday Inn guest room interiors. Amenities in all rooms include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron and two dual-line telephones with voice mail. Some upgraded rooms feature 42-inch TVs. Wireless Internet access is free. 

Features

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY is a proud recipient of multiple awards from the InterContinental Hotels Group for quality, customer satisfaction and overall excellence. The hotel also ranks in the top 10% of Holiday Inns around the globe. Guests appreciate the parking facilities (fees apply), on-site gift shop and guest laundry facilities. Dine on site, walk to waterfront eateries or request the shuttle to a favorite local hotspot. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Portland airport and transportation hubs

Attractions

  • Portland Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines Ferry (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Co. (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Maine Mall (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (13.8 mi/22.2 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (13.9 mi/22.3 km)
  • Freeport outlet shops (16.7 mi/26.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center with copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms with more than 17, 500 square feet of event space for 8 to 1,400 people

Policies and fees
  • Parking fee costs $10 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6533 -70.2615
Nearby airports
Merrill Auditorium, (BOS), 100.00, MI, N; Cumberland County Civic Center, (PWM), 3.00, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 0.1 mi

Dining

Port of Call Restaurant
Our elegant yet informal full service dining room offers friendly and attentive service. Our daily changing menu features quality American cuisine with a New England flair. Of course, Maine lobster is always on the menu. Enjoy our casual atmosphere, feat
Port of Call Lounge
Port of Call Lounge is open11:00 am to 12:45 am offering your favorite beverage and light fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerry's wife
St Petersburg, FL, USA
May 1, 2012

we had a great time

The shuttle service was a definate bonus. Every staff member we had contact with were nice, friendly and accommodating. Only susggestion I have is there should be late night dining or at least a food vending machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pool boy
manchester nh
Apr 19, 2012

old port fun

1o minute walk to old port, plenty of rest. and shops and bars, hotel also has a schuttle van. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

had a good lunch at bull feeneys irish pub

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shombolly
New York, NY, USA
Apr 12, 2012

great value

location,comfort,price and parking all good stuff .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shombolly
New York, NY, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Good Value

Clean, free prking , decent lounge,great location to museums, nite life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viksfan87
Maine, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Comfortable and Professional

Great location in the heart of the Old Port in Portland and one of the few hotels with easy access going to and from the hotel. Everything is classy and comfortable, I didn't want to leave the room because of the large comfortable beds and the 44" HDTVs. Definitely the place to stay if you are going to the Old Port.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shebedinogal
Massachusetts, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Perfect for Portland

Clean, friendly staff, great location. I took my daughters for a weekend and the location was central to everything planned. Great swimming pool. For a 2 star property, it really was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Duck Fat restaurant - de-lish! Really not that far away, but not around the corner.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
McFrowns
Brewer, ME
Jan 23, 2012

Old Port Visit

This is a nice Hotel That is in a great location to enjoy the Bars and restaurants in the old port. It is a nice hotel, clean and a good price for the location. Only thing they could improve were the beds. A little hard and the Pillows were a little to thick for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to the arena and bars and restaurants like Gritty's.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gr8ful
Wilton, NH, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Great Hotel

We were attending a show at the State Theater and this hotel was perfect. Venue right around the corner and the room was amazing for the price. Very modern, big screen tv, keurig coffe maker! This is now our go to hotel for all State Theater shows!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gale Storm
Kingfield, ME, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Better than expected

We made last-minute reservations for a Sat. night. The room was better than expected & they upgraded us to a larger room when we arrived. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCHib
Grafton, MA, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Comfortable Stay

Nice stay for a night in Portland. Spent Thanksgiving with the kids in Kennebunkport. Will stay again soon. Staff was nice and upgraded us to a room with a view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Great food all around Commercial St

Back to menu Return to top