$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
125 reviews
Wonderful staff who made our stay memorable

The Holiday Inn Portland by the Bay is conveniently located. I love the shuttle service which you... See full review

  • Aleli 422
  • Oct 9, 2014
Outstanding

Friendly staff, great location, within walking distance to attractions. See full review

  • Eli F.
  • Jul 27, 2014
Walk to the Old Port and more from this award-winning hotel

The pedestrian-friendly location of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY makes an easy starting point for Portland exploration. In one direction, the Old Port working waterfront thrives with unique shops and popular restaurants. In the other, the new city Arts District promises excitement and culture with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. Enjoy the largest indoor pool around or take a break from touring town in the fitness center or sauna. A free airport shuttle and free Wi-Fi add value to the great views.

Highlights

  • Largest indoor swimming pool in Greater Portland plus a fitness center and saunas
  • Informal restaurant and lounge with New England-inspired menu
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Courtesy vans to airport, bus terminal, train station and local businesses when available
  • Walking distance to shops and restaurants of Old Port waterfront and arts district

Rooms

Most of the 239 rooms at Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY afford a view worth remembering. Bay-side rooms look out to the Atlantic Ocean while others frame up the White Mountains or the Portland city skyline. Decor is simple and in line with traditional Holiday Inn guest room interiors. Amenities in all rooms include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron and two dual-line telephones with voice mail. Some upgraded rooms feature 42-inch TVs. Wireless Internet access is free. 

Features

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY is a proud recipient of multiple awards from the InterContinental Hotels Group for quality, customer satisfaction and overall excellence. The hotel also ranks in the top 10% of Holiday Inns around the globe. Guests appreciate the parking facilities (fees apply), on-site gift shop and guest laundry facilities. Dine on site, walk to waterfront eateries or request the shuttle to a favorite local hotspot. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Portland airport and transportation hubs

Attractions

  • Portland Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines Ferry (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Co. (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Maine Mall (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (13.8 mi/22.2 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (13.9 mi/22.3 km)
  • Freeport outlet shops (16.7 mi/26.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center with copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms with more than 17, 500 square feet of event space for 8 to 1,400 people

Policies and fees
  • Parking fee costs $10 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 0.1 mi

Dining

Port of Call Restaurant
Our elegant yet informal full service dining room offers friendly and attentive service. Our daily changing menu features quality American cuisine with a New England flair. Of course, Maine lobster is always on the menu. Enjoy our casual atmosphere, feat
Port of Call Lounge
Port of Call Lounge is open11:00 am to 12:45 am offering your favorite beverage and light fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdeeds
Business
portland maine
Aug 3, 2013

buss trip

It was great ihad a smoking room thats all i need to say

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PAT OUT
Business
Belleville NJ
Jul 31, 2013

da good time

Good location. close to da action. would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Down da street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RemBrantley
Business
Milford, ME
Jul 12, 2013

Worst Hotel in the Old Port!

I will never stay at Holiday Inn by the Bay again. There were so many things wrong with this place, I don't even know where to begin. First, the lobby was beautiful, so I really thought we were in for a treat. Check in was smooth with no problems. We got off the elevator on the 4th floor and the first thing we notice is an odd odor. Not pleasant, but we can deal with it. Then the room key doesn't work. So we use the other. That doesn't work either. After about 15 attempts, the door opens. Again, a strange odor and a large stain in the middle of the carpet. The room is small, outdated and not particularly clean. The reservations were for four people and there were only 3 sets of towels. After being in the room for about an hour, someone knocks on the door. My husband asks through the door if he can help them. A person says that they thought this was their room. Hubby tells them no, this room is occupied. We go to dinner and about an hour after returning, the phone rings. It's the front desk manager calling to see if anyone was in the room. What? He says they were not sure if we checked in, so he had to check. My husband tells him that someone came to our room earlier thinking it was theirs. He said, no, that was my housekeeper! He said he sent them to see if anyone was in the room. At this point, my husband's not happy and lets them know. They apologize. We go to bed and again, the odor. I feel it's the linens, but my husband and kids don't think it's terrible, so I let it slide. The AC kept me awake all night. Each time it kicked on (which was about every 20 minutes) it sounded like a jet engine winding up for take off. Crazy annoying! Also, the toilet would not stop running after it was flushed without us wiggling the handle repeatedly. The next morning, I'm getting out of the shower when I hear my husband having a loud conversation with someone. I come out to find that yet another person had come to our door saying this was their room! He called the front desk and let them know AGAIN how unhappy he was. Again, they apologized, but made no offers to atone for the irritation and inconvenience. On our second day, we returned to the hotel at around 9:30. We went into the parking garage (that we paid $10 per night for) to find there are no parking spaces left. When we checked in, we were told where to park. So, my husband went to the front desk to express his irritation. They are not apologetic; actually they appear to be bothered by us and say that there's another parking area down the street. My husband drives down to the other parking area, to find that it's locked and he cannot get into it. So he drives around the block (one way street) and back to the front desk again. He was told that the manager just "ran down to let you in". So he drove back again! Oh! Then there were the creepy security guys! They seemed to pop out of nowhere. They were very UNFRIENDLY and just plain creepy. I mean, jeez, this is Maine. Who DOESN'T nod or say hello when getting into an elevator or meeting someone in a hallway, especially when it's their place of employment. Security should make you feel safe, not make you feel like you need to hold your purse tighter! And apparently, the room odor was the linen. The second day, the linens and towels didn't have that awful odor. But the entries from the parking areas...that odor seemed to get worse while we were there. Pass on this hotel. Seriously. We've stayed at the Portland Regency and the Marriott in the Old Port within the past two years. Great experiences. Stay anywhere but Holiday Inn! The ONLY plus is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CrashPo
Business
New York
Jun 24, 2013

good place to stay

clean, quite, pool, good location, parking, walking distance to a number of parks and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Woki
Business
Portland, Maine
Jun 16, 2013

Relaxed atmosphere

Everyone at this hotel was very friendly and willing to help in anyway. It was a clean relaxed atmosphere. The distance from the hotel to the port and all the shops and eateries are very close. The only think i could think of that was not up to par was that the vent in the bathroom did not work, but other than that everything was clean and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ricardo8
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
Apr 14, 2013

Great walkable location

Across the street from the Portland Museum of Art and walking distance to the old Port and all its amenities. Very courteous and helpful and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emilitsa - very good Greek dining - about two blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lezel
Business
New Jersey
Apr 7, 2013

Great Find!!!!!

The hotel was really lovely! Beautiful bay view, great pool and loved the sauna. Would definitely stay here again! Staff was very helpful when asking directions. Location is right in the heart of Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vermonter D
Business
Vermont
Nov 12, 2012

Pleasant Stay in a Nor'easter

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Portland by the Bay in early November, during a crazy storm. We were glad to be so close to the restaurants and bars we wanted to go to because of the weather. Great location, decent view too. They were very accommodating, gave us toothbrushes which we failed to pack. We weren't able to get a late check out, but we didn't request until the night before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Novare Res: Best Beer in New England

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fifties and free
Business
Ma
Nov 10, 2012

Overnight trip

The front desk people weren't that friendly. Thr room was nice. Went to use the hairdryer which was in a bag in the morning. It was broken. Called housekeeping and they brought up a new one very quickly. Portland waterfront is a fun place to shop and walk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The girls
Business
Sterling, Ma.
Oct 30, 2012

Overnight stay

Staff was extremely friendly, room was great and loved that check out was at noon. We really loved that the pool hours were until late, when you are staying 1 night in a hotel, you really want to enjoy the town. We got to enjoy the day, and relax later that night in the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are all kinds of stores that are a short walk away. If you love restaurants or just to hang out in a sports pub to watch your favorite football team win, there's plenty of pubs around and great people to meet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top