$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
View map of 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cdotmarie
Friends
New york, NY
Apr 8, 2014

Friend's Birthday Trip

Visiting from NY for a friend's birthday. The hotel was awesome. Everything looked as it did in the pictures. We were greeted by Julia who was very friendly at the front desk. She pinpointed local restaurants and stores on a map and also included a 50% off drink ticket with our room keys. The rooms were standard, but beds and pillows were unbelievably comfortable. Very convenient having a microwave and fridge in our room. Shuttle service was available to drop us off and pick us back up from downtown Portand, although it was about a 10 minute walk as we found out the next afternoon. John, the shuttle bus driver completely made our stay. He was awesome! Large swimming pool, small gym, and sauna. Overall, great experience. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Street & Co. had the most incredible food and ambiance! A must if you come to downtown Portland.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel good times
Couples
Irmo ,SC
Apr 6, 2014

Maine vacay!

The location is perfect! We walked everywhere. You don't need a rental unless you plan to visit the surrounding harbors. The boat tours are in full season in June. We only got to experience one tour. It was 3 hours around the harbor. The free shuttle is only a 3 mile radius. Keep that in mind if you want to shop outside the Portland city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LisaMS
Couples
Burlington, VT
Dec 30, 2013

Love Portland

We go to Portland every year in March to get away for the weekends and just love the Holiday Inn By the Bay, within walking distance to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tami Arnold
Business
Dallas
Oct 14, 2013

I doubt I'd stay anywhere else.

My stay was fantastic. The entire staff was personable and accomodating. Loved the fact that they have a shuttle so unless your destination is more than three miles away you will not have to rent a car plus pay for parking. My stay was business related and was a ten minute walk DOWNhill to office (and twenty minutes uphill... who needs the workout room after that?) Plus was near the neatest little shops behind the museum. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When going to old port/commercial street, WEAR SNEAKERS! :)

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dangin
Business
RI
Sep 22, 2013

Filthy

I am a business traveler and sleep in hotels about 150 nights/year. The room I stayed in was dirty beyond any other hotel I've stayed since staring this job. It was a double room, when I pulled down the covers it had many long black hairs on the pillows and the sheets. The bathroom was filthy; thick layers of mold that had obviously been neglected for some time, the toilet was dirty - hair on the seat and stains under the seat as well as the outside of the bowl having not been cleaned recently. I was placed in a smoking room despite having both specified a non-smoking room and my Holiday Inn rewards profile stating I want a non-smoking room. The room, was dated, and the smell of smoke did little to improve the ambiance. I would not stay here again if it were free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wanderlust11
Friends
Templeton, MA
Sep 16, 2013

girls weekend

I have no complaints about our trip or the hotel. The only thing I would advise is if you have anything bigger than a compact car DO NOT PARK in the garage that is at the hotel. Drive a short distance down the hill and park in that garage, it's part of the hotel also. I would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of stores to shop.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston happy customers
Family
Boston
Aug 30, 2013

End of summer getaway

Portland is a great walkable city with alot to do both on land and water. This hotel was a two minute walk to the Old Port for great shopping, or access to ferries. In the Art Dstrict and the Old Port there are some amazing restaurants and they are also just a short walk! The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle that can take you anywhere in the Old Port (ferries, etc.), the airport or the train station. We used it several times including a trip to the train station to catch a train to Freeport where you will find the flagship store for LL Bean. Staff was very friendly and helpful even changing our room when we were too close to the elevator and found it too noisy. We would stay here again and would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the Downeaster train by Amtrak. It is a very easy, comfortable and inexpensive way to get there.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KSGL
Couples
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 17, 2013

Good location, average service

It was really nice being so close to the downtown area, and the hotel offers a shuttle service to and from the airport, so those were definite pluses. As far as the actual hotel, it was alright. The staff wasn't very warm and really not that accommodating (we asked for shampoo and spoons and never got them). The room had a microwave and fridge which was awesome, but the air conditioner was funky and wouldn't maintain a constant temperature, there was no fan in the bathroom and the sink and shower weren't as clean as they could have been. I personally do not think it was worth over $200.00 a night and would stay somewhere else if I were to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Seaport Cruise Lines offers a sunset lighthouse cruise that is phenomenal - very informative and beautiful sites on a boat with a fully-stocked bar. Highly recommended!

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdeeds
Business
portland maine
Aug 3, 2013

buss trip

It was great ihad a smoking room thats all i need to say

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PAT OUT
Couples
Belleville NJ
Jul 31, 2013

da good time

Good location. close to da action. would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Down da street

Back to menu Return to top