$197 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
View map of 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Discodogman
Business
Edmonton, Alberta
Jul 31, 2014

Comfortable Stay, Great Location

We loved our brief stay at the Holiday Inn Portland-By-The-Bay. The rooms weren't fancy but were comfortable, clean, and offered everything any reasonable person could want. The staff was super-friendly, but best of all was the location: short walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emilitsa Greek Restaurant: try it.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brats
Business
New York Metro
Jul 30, 2014

By the Bay

Nice Hotel near the Bay! Very comfortable rooms. Convenient location near downtown Portland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eli F.
Business
Chapel Hill
Jul 27, 2014

Outstanding

Friendly staff, great location, within walking distance to attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want a cheap great meal, away from the tourist trap area, drive 15 minutes to a place called "The Painted Turtle", I got three lobster tails, steak, potato, and salad for $20. Or you can get 3 whole lobsters for $21.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jasper79
Business
NH
Jun 25, 2014

Convenient location

This hotel is right in down town Portland so it's walking distance from anything you need but you pay for it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alberso
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 9, 2014

Good hotel in a pretty good location

Hotel is walking distance to the main points of interest in downtown Portland, ME. The rooms are nice and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wenhub
Business
Portland
Jun 8, 2014

Parking was ridiculous

Checked in and told there was a $10/night parking fee. Pulled into garage and found very few spots because they were extremely narrow and people had to take up 2 spots just to fit. Left early evening to drive out of town for massage only to return and there were NO spots available. There were NO signs telling me there was an over flow lot. AND, when I checked in the hotel staff didn't tell me either about parking issues. So, it was late and I parked in registration area then got up the next morning to check out by 8:30 am and was informed I was being charged not only the $10/night fee (of which I couldnt even use in garage) and $25 for parking in registration area. I gave the hotel frontdesk manager Nathan a piece of my mind. No sigms informing people of other parking OR that you will be charged if you park in registration area. AND. Teyhad my phone # thats they could have called me in theevening to tell me i would need to move my car. UGH! They need to improve their parking garage. It was filthy with leaves and dirt/dust all over too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cdotmarie
Business
New york, NY
Apr 8, 2014

Friend's Birthday Trip

Visiting from NY for a friend's birthday. The hotel was awesome. Everything looked as it did in the pictures. We were greeted by Julia who was very friendly at the front desk. She pinpointed local restaurants and stores on a map and also included a 50% off drink ticket with our room keys. The rooms were standard, but beds and pillows were unbelievably comfortable. Very convenient having a microwave and fridge in our room. Shuttle service was available to drop us off and pick us back up from downtown Portand, although it was about a 10 minute walk as we found out the next afternoon. John, the shuttle bus driver completely made our stay. He was awesome! Large swimming pool, small gym, and sauna. Overall, great experience. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Street & Co. had the most incredible food and ambiance! A must if you come to downtown Portland.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel good times
Business
Irmo ,SC
Apr 6, 2014

Maine vacay!

The location is perfect! We walked everywhere. You don't need a rental unless you plan to visit the surrounding harbors. The boat tours are in full season in June. We only got to experience one tour. It was 3 hours around the harbor. The free shuttle is only a 3 mile radius. Keep that in mind if you want to shop outside the Portland city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LisaMS
Business
Burlington, VT
Dec 30, 2013

Love Portland

We go to Portland every year in March to get away for the weekends and just love the Holiday Inn By the Bay, within walking distance to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tami Arnold
Business
Dallas
Oct 14, 2013

I doubt I'd stay anywhere else.

My stay was fantastic. The entire staff was personable and accomodating. Loved the fact that they have a shuttle so unless your destination is more than three miles away you will not have to rent a car plus pay for parking. My stay was business related and was a ten minute walk DOWNhill to office (and twenty minutes uphill... who needs the workout room after that?) Plus was near the neatest little shops behind the museum. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When going to old port/commercial street, WEAR SNEAKERS! :)

Back to menu Return to top