$165 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
View map of 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
Oct 8, 2009

GREAT!!

great, near everything and even the Hotel food was good. The staff were very nice, and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ct
Sep 22, 2009

great location but dirty

Great location, beautiful view, and helpful and efficient check in. Unfortunately, the room smelled, obviously hadn't been vacumed or dusted, and the bathroom had spots all over the mirrors and hair all over the floor and shower, oh and the tub was sticky. On the second stay of the visit, when I returned in the evening the bed wasn't made, the garbage in the bedroom wasn't thrown out, the carpet still had debris, the crumb from my bagel was still sitting on the desk, and the bathroom was still disgusting...the same spots on the mirror and hair all over the floor and shower were still there (literally in the exact same place). Just about all the maid did was pick up the towels on the floor and throw out the garbage in the bathroom. I hate to complain so didn't even bother. The location and view really were wonderful and the front desk employees were great. It was just one of the dirtiest places I've ever stayed, which is such a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
RI
Sep 14, 2009

Portland By The Bay

Requested non-smoking room - room reeked of tobacco. Had to park one block away - garage always full. Had two double beds - would have preferred king or queen. Windows could not open - no fresh air, and AC was very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Siouxcq
Business
Boston area
Sep 7, 2009

Handy location at a reasonable price

We have stayed here before and plan to again and again. There aren't too many options in Portland to be honest that have the same cost:value ratio. This hotel is conveniently located around the corner from the Portland Museum of Art and the Arts District. It's a short drive to the very heart of the port or if you are just a little heartier than we are, it's really a walkable distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Walter's on Exchange Street. We stumbled upon it after looking at at least a half dozen other restaurants in the port area. It is not inexpensive but more reasonable than the others we found. The food was out of this world! If you love wine, they have a wine list as long as your arm.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lawdawg86
Business
Amarillo, Texas.
Sep 7, 2009

Perfectly Located w/ Very Helpful Staff

Great harbor view from Bayside rooms. We flew in to Manchester and rented a car to get to Portland. The car sat in the garage completely unused because everything was within walking distance. Sometimes the sites were up to a mile away, but, with all the lobster we ate, we didn't mind a fifteen to twenty minute walk at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Porthole Fountain, off Commercial Street, northeast from the Long Wharf, where many of the locals go for a drink and a bite. On the water, old (inside and out) and PERFECT.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billnjane
Business
Hudson,MA
Aug 30, 2009

Great location and service

We had a wonderful overnight stay. Parking arrangements and location met our needs perfectly. The breakfast was a little disappointing, but not the reason for our trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for LL Bean outlet store and Portmanteau, both short walks from the hotel in the Free St. Congress St. area.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belgrade Lks. Maine
Aug 23, 2009

great mother,daughter outing

a great place to spend the night with my two daughters! Close to everything, shops, resturants, clubs....will definitely do it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 20, 2009

Portland Getaway

The location of the hotel was good and accessible to the entire Arts district and waterfront but at the top of a hill at one end of the district. The walk to the hotel takes one past a large open parking lot which is a bit of an unfriendly atmosphere. This made for some long walks to and from the center of the arts district. As I experienced record-braking heat during my visit, the complementary lemonade in the lobby - at all times - was a very welcome refreshment after walking up the hill. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The views of the port were fabulous and enjoyable. My room had a small frige and microwave which made it convenient for quick snacks and breakfasts to be eaten while dressing. The free garage was full one night so the hotel arranged for free valet service which was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

L. L. Bean has a fabulous outlet store about 2 blocks from the hotel. It is less chaotic than the Freeport store and better stocked as well! The front desk can easily direct you to the store.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rxpotato
Business
Rocky Hill, CT
Aug 19, 2009

Happy to Return Again!

Great Experience. Great Service. Good Value. The staff was very nice, they provided us with an extra roll away bed for no additional charge. Only complaints, rooms are a bit small, the decorations are outdated and the shower did not drain very well. Other than the shower, everything else didn't bother us much. I would definitely consider coming back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kingston ma
Aug 17, 2009

rooms need to be updated

Hotel was very convient as far as location goes, but the room we had was very outdated. The furnishings looked like they belonged in the 60's. Our room was noisey, from outside traffic. I would not stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top