$197 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
View map of 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lawdawg86
Business
Amarillo, Texas.
Sep 7, 2009

Perfectly Located w/ Very Helpful Staff

Great harbor view from Bayside rooms. We flew in to Manchester and rented a car to get to Portland. The car sat in the garage completely unused because everything was within walking distance. Sometimes the sites were up to a mile away, but, with all the lobster we ate, we didn't mind a fifteen to twenty minute walk at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Porthole Fountain, off Commercial Street, northeast from the Long Wharf, where many of the locals go for a drink and a bite. On the water, old (inside and out) and PERFECT.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billnjane
Business
Hudson,MA
Aug 30, 2009

Great location and service

We had a wonderful overnight stay. Parking arrangements and location met our needs perfectly. The breakfast was a little disappointing, but not the reason for our trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for LL Bean outlet store and Portmanteau, both short walks from the hotel in the Free St. Congress St. area.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belgrade Lks. Maine
Aug 23, 2009

great mother,daughter outing

a great place to spend the night with my two daughters! Close to everything, shops, resturants, clubs....will definitely do it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 20, 2009

Portland Getaway

The location of the hotel was good and accessible to the entire Arts district and waterfront but at the top of a hill at one end of the district. The walk to the hotel takes one past a large open parking lot which is a bit of an unfriendly atmosphere. This made for some long walks to and from the center of the arts district. As I experienced record-braking heat during my visit, the complementary lemonade in the lobby - at all times - was a very welcome refreshment after walking up the hill. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The views of the port were fabulous and enjoyable. My room had a small frige and microwave which made it convenient for quick snacks and breakfasts to be eaten while dressing. The free garage was full one night so the hotel arranged for free valet service which was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

L. L. Bean has a fabulous outlet store about 2 blocks from the hotel. It is less chaotic than the Freeport store and better stocked as well! The front desk can easily direct you to the store.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rxpotato
Business
Rocky Hill, CT
Aug 19, 2009

Happy to Return Again!

Great Experience. Great Service. Good Value. The staff was very nice, they provided us with an extra roll away bed for no additional charge. Only complaints, rooms are a bit small, the decorations are outdated and the shower did not drain very well. Other than the shower, everything else didn't bother us much. I would definitely consider coming back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kingston ma
Aug 17, 2009

rooms need to be updated

Hotel was very convient as far as location goes, but the room we had was very outdated. The furnishings looked like they belonged in the 60's. Our room was noisey, from outside traffic. I would not stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hatfield, PA
Aug 13, 2009

Great Place to Stay on Business

Great place to stay, everytime i'm in Portland on business it's a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 11, 2009

Very Nice

Very welcoming, great location, good price, breakfast was fantastic (Bickfords without the grease)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
newbury, ma
Aug 8, 2009

Good location and service

Very friendly and efficient staff. Free parking, newspapers, small snacks. Good location. Room was the average mid-range chain- you know it, BR to right of door, round table, one easy chair, small desk, small CRT TV in armoire.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hugo's. Very good food in a small plates format. Order as few (but 3 minimum), or as many as you wish.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Down South
Aug 7, 2009

Excellent Service Until a Week Later

The service was excellent & the restaurant was superb; however, a week after we got home, they had charged me for a night's stay and I had prepaid for the entire trip and had a receipt showing a zero balance. It took several phone calls and being on hold forever before I was reimbursed about a week later. It's a great place to stay, but check your charges for at least a month after you check out. It was a real hassle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Call the Merry Table if you want to eat there to make sure they're open. We walked down there and they had closed early, even though their hrs. were posted & said they were open.

Back to menu Return to top