$206 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
123 reviews
Outstanding

Friendly staff, great location, within walking distance to attractions. See full review

  • Eli F.
  • Jul 27, 2014
Love Portland

We go to Portland every year in March to get away for the weekends and just love the Holiday Inn By... See full review

  • LisaMS
  • Dec 30, 2013
Walk to the Old Port and more from this award-winning hotel

The pedestrian-friendly location of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY makes an easy starting point for Portland exploration. In one direction, the Old Port working waterfront thrives with unique shops and popular restaurants. In the other, the new city Arts District promises excitement and culture with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. Enjoy the largest indoor pool around or take a break from touring town in the fitness center or sauna. A free airport shuttle and free Wi-Fi add value to the great views.

Highlights

  • Largest indoor swimming pool in Greater Portland plus a fitness center and saunas
  • Informal restaurant and lounge with New England-inspired menu
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Courtesy vans to airport, bus terminal, train station and local businesses when available
  • Walking distance to shops and restaurants of Old Port waterfront and arts district

Rooms

Most of the 239 rooms at Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY afford a view worth remembering. Bay-side rooms look out to the Atlantic Ocean while others frame up the White Mountains or the Portland city skyline. Decor is simple and in line with traditional Holiday Inn guest room interiors. Amenities in all rooms include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron and two dual-line telephones with voice mail. Some upgraded rooms feature 42-inch TVs. Wireless Internet access is free. 

Features

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY is a proud recipient of multiple awards from the InterContinental Hotels Group for quality, customer satisfaction and overall excellence. The hotel also ranks in the top 10% of Holiday Inns around the globe. Guests appreciate the parking facilities (fees apply), on-site gift shop and guest laundry facilities. Dine on site, walk to waterfront eateries or request the shuttle to a favorite local hotspot. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Portland airport and transportation hubs

Attractions

  • Portland Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines Ferry (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Co. (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Maine Mall (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (13.8 mi/22.2 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (13.9 mi/22.3 km)
  • Freeport outlet shops (16.7 mi/26.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center with copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms with more than 17, 500 square feet of event space for 8 to 1,400 people

Policies and fees
  • Parking fee costs $10 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

43.6533 -70.2615
Nearby airports
Portland International Jetport, (PWM), 3.00, MI, E; Logan, (BOS), 100.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 0.1 mi

Dining

Port of Call Restaurant
Our elegant yet informal full service dining room offers friendly and attentive service. Our daily changing menu features quality American cuisine with a New England flair. Of course, Maine lobster is always on the menu. Enjoy our casual atmosphere, feat
Port of Call Lounge
Port of Call Lounge is open11:00 am to 12:45 am offering your favorite beverage and light fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The girls
Sterling, Ma.
Oct 30, 2012

Overnight stay

Staff was extremely friendly, room was great and loved that check out was at noon. We really loved that the pool hours were until late, when you are staying 1 night in a hotel, you really want to enjoy the town. We got to enjoy the day, and relax later that night in the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are all kinds of stores that are a short walk away. If you love restaurants or just to hang out in a sports pub to watch your favorite football team win, there's plenty of pubs around and great people to meet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chmelyk
chicago
Aug 27, 2014

great hotel

I was very impressed. The hotel was very clean, staff was very helpful. The room was beautiful,large with a larger refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker.The hotel was close to restaurants and the Portland Art museum. There was good walk to the waterfront. Ate at the restaurant once and it was ok. Overall was wery impressed for a Holiday Inn, would highly recomend. There is a free shuttle service to the airport and downtown .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

dont miss the trolly tour and the boat ride to see all the lighthouses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flyzz
la ca
Aug 11, 2014

GOOD alternative

1. Late check in sucks. 2. Room is not too bad. 3. Airport shuttle is 4*'s. 4. Bar is nice and they serve late. Roomy with good drinks. Not overpriced. 5. Comp coffee & lemonade 24 hours. 6. Pool is a good size (indoor). 7. Summer rates are way too much. 8. Gym is too small. 9. Maid service could be better. 10.10 minute walk to the shops, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ferry to one of the islands is reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Other Portlander
USA
Aug 3, 2014

Would recommend without hesitation

The staff was excellent - friendly, helpful knowledgeable. The shuttle was a great help. Room was clean and comfortable. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Take the tours!!!! We took a boat and trolley tour and glad we did - great photo ops. Check with groupon or living social for discounts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greatest Husband
East Brunswick, NJ
Aug 2, 2014

Nice little Getaway

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with questions. Room was clean and had all the basics you could need. Located only two blocks from the waterfront it's a nice location as well. Being much cheaper than the other hotels in Portland makes this the easy and wise choice. Definately would stay here if we come back for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

This hotel sits on a high point overlooking the Bay, so ask for a bayview room and be rewarded with a beautiful view of Casco Bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Discodogman
Edmonton, Alberta
Jul 31, 2014

Comfortable Stay, Great Location

We loved our brief stay at the Holiday Inn Portland-By-The-Bay. The rooms weren't fancy but were comfortable, clean, and offered everything any reasonable person could want. The staff was super-friendly, but best of all was the location: short walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emilitsa Greek Restaurant: try it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brats
Business
New York Metro
Jul 30, 2014

By the Bay

Nice Hotel near the Bay! Very comfortable rooms. Convenient location near downtown Portland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eli F.
Chapel Hill
Jul 27, 2014

Outstanding

Friendly staff, great location, within walking distance to attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want a cheap great meal, away from the tourist trap area, drive 15 minutes to a place called "The Painted Turtle", I got three lobster tails, steak, potato, and salad for $20. Or you can get 3 whole lobsters for $21.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jasper79
NH
Jun 25, 2014

Convenient location

This hotel is right in down town Portland so it's walking distance from anything you need but you pay for it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alberso
Puerto Rico
Jun 9, 2014

Good hotel in a pretty good location

Hotel is walking distance to the main points of interest in downtown Portland, ME. The rooms are nice and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wenhub
Portland
Jun 8, 2014

Parking was ridiculous

Checked in and told there was a $10/night parking fee. Pulled into garage and found very few spots because they were extremely narrow and people had to take up 2 spots just to fit. Left early evening to drive out of town for massage only to return and there were NO spots available. There were NO signs telling me there was an over flow lot. AND, when I checked in the hotel staff didn't tell me either about parking issues. So, it was late and I parked in registration area then got up the next morning to check out by 8:30 am and was informed I was being charged not only the $10/night fee (of which I couldnt even use in garage) and $25 for parking in registration area. I gave the hotel frontdesk manager Nathan a piece of my mind. No sigms informing people of other parking OR that you will be charged if you park in registration area. AND. Teyhad my phone # thats they could have called me in theevening to tell me i would need to move my car. UGH! They need to improve their parking garage. It was filthy with leaves and dirt/dust all over too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search