$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

2 stars
View map of 209 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
27 reviews
Love staying here when visiting Portland!

This hotel is amazing because of it's location, breakfast, and service. I stay here every time I... See full review

  • K-RO
  • Dec 30, 2014
Great spot!

Visited Portland to see some friends and had a great stay at the Hampton Inn downtown. Access off... See full review

  • Bill from Ludington
  • Sep 4, 2014
take in Maine's historic waterfront views...welcome to the Hampton Inn-Portland/Downtown-Waterfront, ME. The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafés. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel!Take the family to the Children's Museum and Theatre of Maine. It's loaded with interactive activities the kids will love and it's less than a mile away. Check out the Portland Museum of Art, the largest and oldest art museum in Maine. Step outside our Portland, ME hotel's front door for easy access to the Casco Bay Lines ferry terminal, ocean excursions and sailing tours, the Portland Trails jogging path and more.Here on business? We're just one mile from the Cumberland County Civic Center, five miles from Portland International Jetport and close to the company headquarters of lUnum, TD Bank, Magellan Petroleum, Maine Bank & Trust, ImmuCell Corp and Pioneer Telephone, to name a few.Visit the Hampton Inn hotel in Portland and take in Maine's historic waterfront views! services & amenities Here at the Hampton Inn Portland, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional. Whether you're planning a corporate meeting or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized.* Meetings & Events * Local Restaurant Gui

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chris g.
Business
N/A
Apr 7, 2015

Holiday

Nice location- fun to stay in town for a change! Nice new hotel. Within walking distance to mist everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K-RO
Business
Schaumburg
Dec 30, 2014

Love staying here when visiting Portland!

This hotel is amazing because of it's location, breakfast, and service. I stay here every time I visit Portland. I just wish they had a hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Shipyard Brewing Co. on Hancock and Newbury northeast of the hotel and Bull Feeney's on Fore Street southwest of the hotel. These are amazing spots for the whiskey and beer drinker!

Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3just looking
Business
Bangor, ME
Dec 2, 2014

breakfast staff

The breakfast staff was welcoming. One man offered me mints, which was quite gracious of him.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TimTravels
Business
Portland, ME
Nov 8, 2014

Great Old Port location

Stayed here for one night. Location is great. Staff was helpfull. Had a problem with my tv but after 10 minutes the staff fixed it. Hot breakfast is a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fore Street restaurant is across the street if you want to indulge.

Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Beam
Business
Maine
Sep 16, 2014

Nice, Clean Room

Room was very nice, VERY clean. Every staff member I ran into was friendly. Great location for downtown, easy in easy out. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill from Ludington
Business
Jupiter, FL
Sep 4, 2014

Great spot!

Visited Portland to see some friends and had a great stay at the Hampton Inn downtown. Access off I295 was very easy and walking access to downtown, the port and ferry terminal was easy as well. Room was clean and perfect. The only thing a little surprising was to be charged $15 for valet parking. Self parking is not an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy Heather
Business
Boston, New York
Sep 1, 2014

Nice location for walking and exploring the city of Portland

This hotel is nicely situated in downtown Portland. We had a lovely large corner room which was spacious with beautiful windows to view the city and harbor. However, it is overpriced for a Hampton Inn. Also, there is valet parking for the hotel and they do not mention that it is an additional daily charge. All in all a fine experience to take in the wonderful city of Portland, Maine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday girl 39
Business
Beverly, MA
Jul 30, 2014

Girls night

Even though we were just up in Portland for 1 night, I couldn't have asked for a better location. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The entire hotel was very clean and had a lot to offer, even though we didn't take advantage of it all. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oz traveller 234
Business
Sydney, Australia
Jul 23, 2014

Clean, great location

Fantastically positioned with easy access to the waterfront and old port. Staff were efficient and responsive and price included breakfast. Room was clean and amenities good although cone view room had more car park and less ocean. The air conditioner was also very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dcmary
Business
Washington DC
Jul 1, 2014

Great location!

This hotel is close to all the cool restaurants and taverns in Portland's beautiful harbor. And -- within steps of an excellent hike and bike trail along the waterside. This is a typical Hampton Inn, clean and comfortable, but every member of the staff was exceptionally personable and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top