$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 15, 2014

Dunes on the Waterfront

3 stars
518 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
9 reviews
Excellent place to stay

The place has been around since 1960 but it is very well taken care of and modern. The grounds are... See full review

  • Bill from Massachusetts
  • Aug 16, 2013
Can't wait to go back

This was a perfect little get away, I could lay in the sun and my husband could fish all 2 minutes... See full review

  • jlhjklgjhg
  • Jul 1, 2013
THE DUNES ON THE WATERFRONT IS ONE OF THE ORIGINAL COTTAGE COLONY RESORTS IN OGUNQUIT MAINE. LOCATED DIRECTLY ON THE OGUNQUIT TIDAL RIVER THE DUNES OFFERS CLASSIC NEW ENGLAND COTTAGES AND WELL APPOINTED GUESTROOMS ALL WITH BREATHTAKING VIEWS OF THE RIVER SAND DUNES AND OCEAN. THE COTTAGES FEATURE LIVING ROOM WITH FIREPLACE FULL KITCHEN FULL BATH AND ONE OR TWO BEDROOMS WITH DOUBLE QUEEN OR TWIN BEDS. THE GUEST ROOMS FEATURE FULL BATH TWIN DOUBLE QUEEN OR KING BEDS. FULL BATH AND IN ROOM REFRIGERATOR AND COFFEE MAKER. ALL THE UNITS ARE EQUIPPED WITH CABLE TV PHONE AND ARE FULLY HEATED AND AIR CONDITIONED. THE DUNES IS LOCATED JUST 300 YARDS FROM OGUNQUIT BEACH AND 5 MILE FROM THE VILLAGE CENTER AND IS RIGHT ON THE TROLLEY LINE. WALK TO AREA RESTAURANTS SHOPS AND ATTRACTIONS OR SIMPLY ENJOY THE OUTDOOR HEATED POOL AND THE WONDERFUL VIEWS.

Hotel Map

43.259 -70.599
Nearby airports
Portland Intl Jetport, (PWM), 35.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dunes on the Waterfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dunes on the Waterfront Rooms

Deluxe
Guest Room Deluxe - The rooms are equipped with either two doubles. Two queens or one queen and two twins. They include full bathrooms. In room refrigerator. Coffee maker and wonderful water views.
Two Bedrooms
Guest Room Two Bedrooms - Large guest room with 2 bedrooms. One bedroom has one double bed and the other bedroom has a queen bed and a twin bed. The rooms are furnished with traditional decor and offer views of the gardens and distant water views
Two Bedrooms
Two Bedroom Cottage C - Small Two bedroom cottage with one double and one twin full kitchen screened porch. These cottages have distant water views and very nice outside sitting area.
Two Bedrooms
Two Bedroom Cottage B - These are detached 2 bedroom cottages with either one queen and two twins or one king and two twins with full kitchens fireplace and most with a screened porch. These cottages have distant views of the water.
One Bedroom
One Bedroom Cottage B - These cottages offer either one bedroom with one Queen bed or 2 single beds or a combination living room and bedroom with one king bed. They have full kitchens full bath living room with fireplace and great views of the water.
One Bedroom
One Bedroom Cottage A - Largewater front One bedroom cottage with one double and one twin bed. These units offer full kitchen living room with fire place screened porch full bath and outstanding water views.
Standard
Guest Room Standard - Small comfortable guest rooms with either one full bed or one queen bed. In room refrigerator and coffee maker. Two people maximum.
Standard
Guest Room Classic - Small well appointed guest rooms with queen bed water views in room refrigerator and coffee maker. These rooms offer comfortable accommodations for two people.
Standard
Description not provided
Suite
Cottage Suite - Small studio units with one queen bed full kitchen fireplace and some with screened porch. These units have nice views of the water.
Superior
Guest Room Superior - These rooms are in our cottage style buildings and offer king beds in room refrigerators and coffee makers. Most rooms have nice views of the water and gardens.
Two Bedrooms
Two Bedroom Cottage A - Either two doubles. One queen and two twins. Two doubles and one twin or one double and three twins. Equipped with full kitchen. Screened porch and fireplace. Cottages also have water views.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Dunes on the Waterfront

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dunes on the Waterfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goldsk
Montreal
Jul 15, 2014

great place to stay

I stayed at the dunes during high season! It was a very cozy and well kept area! I would stay there again in a heart beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Dunes on the Waterfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robford
London
Oct 26, 2013

Great location

Lovely location overlooking the dunes. Staff were very helpful. Would definitely recommend for a relaxing break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dunes on the Waterfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MKMaine Traveler
Sturbridge
Oct 22, 2013

Quaint and peaceful!

I booked this hotel/cottage mainly as a getaway for serenity and peace. Initially, I booked a "guest" room, thinking I had booked a cottage. When I called to inquire, I found that I was not in the location I wanted, and thankfully, was able to change my reservation. The downside is that my reservation went from $120 per night to $245 per night. The cottage was immaculately clean and very well appointed. The kitchen was full of the needed utensils and impeccable. There was a coffee maker, but no coffee. The hostess at the desk gave me some packets so I could make coffee in the morning. The beds were doubles, which was not a plus, but they were very comfortable. My only real complaint with the cottage was that the couch and chairs were very uncomfortable and that there was no coffee table or ottoman. I was impressed by the modern touches in the bathroom, the fireplace and the general comfort of the cottage. I would definitely visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are planning to dine out, remember that it is very difficult to find parking in town. Check to make sure you can make reservations at the local restaurants.

Review of Dunes on the Waterfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bill from Massachusetts
Palmer, Ma.
Aug 16, 2013

Excellent place to stay

The place has been around since 1960 but it is very well taken care of and modern. The grounds are beautiful and spacious. You can walk to the beach when the tide is out or check out a row boat to get across the channel when the tide is in. The staff is very friendly and do a great job in making you feel welcome. There is an excellent Lobster Restaurant located right at the end of the driveway so you can walk to dinner. It is also located on the trolley route.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lobster Restaurant located at the end of the driveway. Excellent meal.

Review of Dunes on the Waterfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jlhjklgjhg
NH
Jul 1, 2013

Can't wait to go back

This was a perfect little get away, I could lay in the sun and my husband could fish all 2 minutes from our room . This really couldn't get any better. The staff was great we had awesome food all around us and plently of peace and quite. This was the most relaxing Vac I have taken in a long time. I would go back in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best breakfast ever just across the street it's called The Egg and I.

Review of Dunes on the Waterfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, Ma
May 30, 2011

Great!

We had a great little room with adirondack chairs outside. The cabins were spread out so it felt very private. They even had row boats to take out on the river and we used them to cross to get to the beach. All in all, I would highly recommend The Dunes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast right across the street at Egg and I.

Review of Dunes on the Waterfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maine
Jul 10, 2010

The Dunes on the Waterfront Ogunquit, ME

The Dunes on the Waterfront, Ogunquit, Maine. This is a wonderful location, especially if you're not a person who needs/wants to be right in the middle of touristy hub, but can get there easily/quickly when you want. Quiet, beautifully manicured grounds with lots of little cottages. But only about 4 have an unobscured view of the Ogunquit River/Dunes;ours wasn't one which was a little disappointing, since "waterview" was advertised. You have to either row a boat at high tide to the dunes ( which are the back side of the MOST AMAZING Ogunquit beach) OR walk through some mud/clam shells/across varying depth of the Ogunquit River. Incredibly, the throngs of people at either end of the beach don't tend to gather in the middle where you will end up. The place is missing a workout facility. And our stay would have been improved by having at least a microwave along with the mini fridge. It was over 90 degrees when we checked in and incredibly high humidity, but the air conditioner was not on. It was truly oppressive. I understand about saving energy, but it took 2+ hours to get the room comfortable. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ogunquit Beach is magnificent. We spent all our time here, Boogie Boarding, so my hint is, bring Boogie Boards and shorty wetsuits, because even in July and in HOT weather, the water is a little hard to stay in for as long as you might like (the water was 57 degrees posted on the beach July 9, 2010).

Review of Dunes on the Waterfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe C
Wynantskill NY
Oct 26, 2009

weekend getaway

My wife and i where very pleased with the accomidations. the cottage was clean, well equiped,for our needs, The help was very pleasant and helpful.The location was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dunes on the Waterfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scranton
Jun 11, 2008

Awesome Place to Stay!!

We have never been to Maine before and this was our first stop of many. We loved the Dunes on the Waterfront and we plan to revisit it again. It was quiet and very romantic. A short drive or walk to the main attractions. The area was amazing. Very Family Friendly !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marginal Walk way is a must. Check out the small shops at Perkin's cove.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search