$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Charles Inn

2 stars
20 Broad St, Bangor, ME 04401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
5 reviews
Business friendly Hotel

The Charles Inn is a comfortable small hotel located in downtown Bangor,Maine. Restraunts, houses... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 9, 2008
The spirit of Maine

Located in the heart of downtown Bangor, and close to the arts and shopping district, this hotel... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 29, 2008
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT! Come visit The Charles Inn, Bangor's first Art Gallery Hotel in Maine. We have over 150 pieces of original artworks by the well-recognized artists. FREE deluxe continental breakfast (kosher and non-kosher) is provided for all our guests in the charming and cozy gallery cafe. Our central Bangor location in the historic landmark zone not only has the best proximity to downtown restaurants, pubs and entertainment, but also to businesses, professional buildings, and governmental offices as well.This Victorian-style Inn is three blovks from the Penobscot River and four miles from Bangor International Airport. Golfers can play at some of teh most challenging courses in the country and beach lovers are 30 minutes from the seashore of Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. Whether it's pleasure or business, The Charles Inn is the ideal location and facility for accommodating family gatherings, meetings and smaller conferences with our unique conference room that can seat up to 20 people. Our guests can stay connected with our Free WiFi Internet Access available in the lobby and cafe. Free local telephone calls and parking service available to our guests. /text area> Rooms
below is an example of how a room description will appear on-line. "Suite" is the
Text entered into the "name / type" field and the text that follows is the text entered
In the "description" field:
Suites: All suites have individual heat and A/C and are decorated in relaxing
Earth tones.
Name / type Description (character limit: 1000)
Well appointed with a historically styled motif, featuring air-conditioning, 25" color satellite television, full bathroom, free local calling.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Charles Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Charles Inn Rooms

Single Room
Well appointed with a historically styled motif, one full size bed, featuring air-conditioning, 25" color satellite television, full bathroom, iron, ironing board, free local calling.
Double Room
Well appointed with a historically styled motif, with two full beds, featuring air-conditioning, 25" color satellite television, full bathroom, iron, ironing board, free local calling.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan your next Reunion, Anniversary Party, or Business Meeting in our small meeting room. Seating for up to 20 ppl. Private Dining Room also available for small banquets or as a Hospitality Suite.

Dining

Gallery Cafe
A deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning from 7-10 am in our quaint coffee shop overlooking West Market Square. 24-hour Complimentary Coffee/Tea Station for our guests. Assorted drinks and snacks available for a fee.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (5)

Ratings and reviews for The Charles Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Charles Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
buffaloe11
Business
austin tx
Sep 2, 2010

charles inn

great location good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Charles Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not Really That Picky
Business
Boston MA
Sep 1, 2009

Downtown Bangor, downmarket hotel

We were tired, it was there... creaky floor... three channels on the cable TV... we came, we slept, we left...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Charles Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Oct 9, 2008

Business friendly Hotel

The Charles Inn is a comfortable small hotel located in downtown Bangor,Maine. Restraunts, houses of worship and a branch of Bank of America are within easy walking distance. Several pieces of local artare displayed in the lobby. An internet connection in available in the lobby for guest use. Many business persons make this hotel their base when visiting businesses in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafe next door offers sidewalk service and local music - weather permitting. There is a museum and a park within 5 minutes walk as well as houses of worship.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Charles Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 21, 2008

Staff was very friendly

The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast offered at 7am had quite a variety of healthy food choices and the tea was fresh and hot as was the coffee. The room was large and very clean. Unfortunately the only two pillows in the room were very flat and the mattress was a little too firm for my liking. There are a couple of pubs in the immediate vicinity that were perfect for that after dinner beverage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You are a short walk to all amenities, whether it be shopping, dining, or entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Charles Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 29, 2008

The spirit of Maine

Located in the heart of downtown Bangor, and close to the arts and shopping district, this hotel was exactly what I expected to find. A small, local experience that was far from a new facility, but was kept clean, open, and accessible. The rooms and bathrooms are kept very clean, and, for the age of the hotel, in very good condition. I was not looking for a pool or gym facility, and had no need to pay for a hotel that would have provided one. The front desk staff was always available and courteous, the bed was large, cofortable, and warm, the room well furnished. Wireless service was free, and the morning breakfast was kept available even for very late risers. If you aren't wary of venturing into independantely owned smaller hotels, The Charles Inn is a fantastic place to spend 3-4 quiet days of recovery, capped by small town hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a variety of restaurants, including Thai, Irish pubs, and steak houses within fifty steps of the front door. A small grocery and coffee shop across the street made it simple to pick up any items that were needed to augment the visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top