$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

2 stars
336 Odlin Road I-95, Bangor, ME 04401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
60 reviews
Great stay!

Our room was perfect! Very clean, cozy and comfy! Great friendly staff....comfy bed with extra... See full review

  • TMW2986
  • Sep 30, 2014
Clean, comfortable, and friendly service.

What more can I say? From check in, to cleaning services, to check out, everyone was very friendly... See full review

  • kateerin
  • Aug 29, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn - Bangor conveniently located near attractions and convenient to Interstates 95 and 295. Take a trip to Arcadia National Park an hour away for spectacular hiking and breathtaking views of the mountains and coastline. Cheer for the University of Maine hockey and basketball teams at Alfond Arena just 16 minutes away. Find excitement at Blackbeards Family Fun Park less than a mile away with mini golf and go-kart races, or head to Speedway 95 for car races and monster truck rallies just 2 miles away. Enjoy a delicious breakfast and lunch at the Howard Johnsons Restaurant onsite, or many local eateries. Enjoy complimentary car and large-vehicle parking, making it easy to explore and bring the whole family. Relax at the seasonal outdoor pool, and plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet access. All comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Smoke-free rooms are also available at this lodging where pets are welcome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Bangor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.5
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pswoolyb
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 18, 2014

Good Location for Airport

A nice out of the way spot close to the airport and the main highway. Although the rooms are separated by smoking/non-smoking there was still a hint of smoke in my room (not sure if it was coming in through the vent or under the door). The furniture was very pretty (deep cherry wood) and the bed & decor was quite nice. The diner being attached is a nice perk and the food was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TMW2986
Business
Linneus, ME
Sep 30, 2014

Great stay!

Our room was perfect! Very clean, cozy and comfy! Great friendly staff....comfy bed with extra pillows. Restaurant and lounge right there. All was great...and all for a very cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edith Anne
Business
New Brunswick, Canada
Sep 24, 2014

Economical getaway weekend

Loved that I could find a nice, clean, quiet place to stay for a weekend away on a fairly tight budget. Only down fall to us was we did find the beds firm in comparison to our own and we could have used another blanket considering we like to sleep with the window open. But when we asked for one they were out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No nickname after 3 tries
Business
Portland, Maine
Sep 7, 2014

Great for the price

I was pleasantly surprised at what I got for my money. The room was very clean, maybe recently remodeled with a fairly new TV. This motel is definitely worth a stay. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kateerin
Business
Hopedale, MA
Aug 29, 2014

Clean, comfortable, and friendly service.

What more can I say? From check in, to cleaning services, to check out, everyone was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and even being late sleepers we got maid service every day without having to request them to come back. The pool was clean and the area around it was well maintained. The room was much more than we were expecting. Our king sized bed was large and very comfortable. There was a large mini fridge, microwave, safe and plenty of tables and chairs. The flat screen T.V. was very nice and they offered a lot of channels. The bathroom was great, plenty of soap, the towels were clean and soft. Howard Johnson’s will be our go to hotel when we stay in Bangor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are a Stephen King fan, you must check out SK Tours. Our tour guide Stu knows so much about Bangor, Bangor being Derry and all things Stephen King.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter The Fish
Business
New Brunswick, Canada
Jul 11, 2014

Upgraded Key Cards

While this hotel is as old as me, they've upgraded the facility: new reception area and door pass key with tap to open. No swiping of the card thru a slot, just pass the card near the room lock, pool door, entrance door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Discount movie theatre just a few hundred yards up the road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fresh Air Dogs
Business
bangor me
Jul 10, 2014

ok, and ...

First room I was assigned hadn't been cleaned or beds made, had to go back to the office to request another room. Had to go to the desk multiple times to get my card reactivated, not a huge deal, just an annoyance when I'm hauling all my stuff to the second floor then can't get in my room. Hallways reeked of smoke smell, my room was fine just didn't like the smell getting there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcel Sirois
Business
Madawaska, ME
Jun 10, 2014

Peaceful night

Quite night. Close to stores. Nice place to stop with motorcycle. Close to I-95 exit and entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mateo
Business
Mexico
Aug 28, 2013

A night in Bangor

Clean and comfortable hotel on the edge of Bangor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Bangor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy.Camper99
Business
Maine
Mar 17, 2013

Usually a nice place

I'm usually pleased with this hotel with a good location right off the highway, cheap price, cleanliness, and a nice stay. It's not the ritz, but I don't feel like spending top dollar. However, this past stay wasn't that great. They were undergoing renovations to the rooms but I still felt like the bathroom could have used a better cleaning. And upon entering the room, I felt like I was in a freezer! Luckily the heater was easy and fast the heat the room up, but come on, it's winter - you need to heat the place! Hopefully the heat issue was due to the construction and hotel upgrades going on. I'll for sure give the place another go because it is the first time I'm disappointed with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top