$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Travelodge Silver Spring

2 stars
8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
88 reviews
Nice Cost Benefit

Nice cost benefit. Good location, around 15-20 minutes to The Mall (Wahsington DC), close the metro... See full review

  • Ivan Garrido
  • Apr 8, 2014
Already planning on going back.

This place was perfect. The walk to the Metro is really easy, and well-lit at night. I originally... See full review

  • PixieDust612
  • Oct 2, 2011
The Travelodge Silver Spring is ideal for families and business travelers who want excellent value on a budget. The hotel affords comfortably appointed rooms, outdoor pool, and free parking a rare find in Washington DC area. It also boasts a Subway on premises, as well being convenient to shopping, entertainment, and eateries such as City Place or Union Station. You can experience our Nations treasures such as the White House, beautiful Capitol Hill, historic Smithsonian museums or pause for reflection at Vietnam or Navy Memorials and the Pentagon. You can board an organized sightseeing tour which offers a hotel pickup and drop-off, or go exploring on your own on one of the best and cleanest transportation systems in the world, the Metro line, which is only 5 blocks away. The most impressive amenity the hotel offers its guests is its friendly, well trained staff who are at your service to make certain your visit to Washington, DC is a great one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon. Convenient to popular local attractions including Discovery Channel Building, NIH, NOAA, CIA Headquarters, Walter Reed Medical Center, and Downtown Silver Spring shopping area. Our guest can enjoy shopping at City Place, Wheaton Mall, and Georgetown Mall We are conveniently located near the following airports: Reagan National Airport, Baltimore Washington International Airport, Dulles International Airport Metro Subway Station - Blocks Away Airport Shuttle Available Car Rentals - Enterprise and Thrifty

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Silver Spring also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Brookside Nature Center: 5 mi
  • National Capital Trolley Museum: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Silver Spring

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 88
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mysteryfan
Business
Arlington VA
Jun 18, 2014

a very positive experience

The people at the front desk were friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Housekeeper was excellent. There is a laundromat not far away. Excellent access to public transportation. Good value for m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

So great to have a laundromat nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivan Garrido
Business
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Apr 8, 2014

Nice Cost Benefit

Nice cost benefit. Good location, around 15-20 minutes to The Mall (Wahsington DC), close the metro rail, there is a subway next to the hotel. Simple, but good roon and service, considering the cost. The internet WiFi is really bad, that is the negative point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking in the Mall (Washington DC), visiting the museums and the memorials is wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AB of PH3
Business
Atlanta
Mar 31, 2014

Low expectations? They wiil be met.

In town for a memorial service, I wasn't in the mood to complain about the room. The bed was fine. The woman in the office/lobby was friendly. The parking was free. So much for the ok. The reception on the tv was pretty bad. I didn't try the wi-fi. Of the three lamps in the room, one worked, one was unplugged (discovered when I was looking for the on/off switch) and one didn't have a light bulb in it. However, the lights above the sink and in the bathroom did work. The hot/cold water connections were switched at the sink. At first I thought I wasn't going to get any hot water at all, but discovered the mistake after letting the cold water run for several minutes. The room safe fell forward to the ground when I opened the door...it had been pulled off of its bolts in the wall and was merely resting against the back of the closet until I upset the balance. I do think the lock worked, but since someone could carry the whole safe out of the room, I decided to not use it for security. The soap in the bath tub looked as if the corner of the paper wrapping had been chewed off. (Rodent, perhaps?). Not unbelievable, since in order to use one of the two stairwells to the second floor (the closest to my room), I had to step over boxes and debris and around a trash can, all next to the enclosure for the cardboard waste from the hotel. I told my friends in town that my hotel was one to write home about. Like so many things in life, I don't want to repeat this experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
edegg
Business
maryland
Oct 7, 2013

pretty good

not the best but for a 2 star hotel pretty good. better tv reception....ac works great clean bathrooms thin walls though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJW2
Business
kenosha, wisconsin
Jan 21, 2013

can't beat the price

A nice, reasonable walk to the Metro to get into the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meep77
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 5, 2012

Checking around silver springs

All are good except for the lights outside. The curtains cannot cover the light coming in and it was REALLY bright and I couldn't sleep much. They should refit the curtains to ensure that the lights aren't going in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 10, 2012

Loud, but otherwise fine

The room was fine and clean, the staff did their job, and everything was fine, except that the people in the room next door were very loud and drunk -- the cops even had to come. Nevertheless, significantly cheaper than anywhere in DC, and not too far from the Silver Spring Metro once you figure out where you are going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fabe
Business
Tappan, NY
Apr 2, 2012

Trip alone in DC

The staff is very courteous; Waynee was extremely helpful over the phone and in person. There is a free bus 1 block away to take you to the Metro station during day and until 7PM. After that, you are on your own by foot. A long walk if you have bad knees, maybe 8 -9 blocks, some uphill. SUBWAY food chain right on premises for a BF egg sandwich or lunch only, nothing late. Don't get room 402; you hear the shower from next room loudly; so if you have an early riser next door, you will be up too. The room was clean and my pillow was great (I even wanted to buy one)! The help was very pleasant. I would stay there again because the price was right, esp. if you are travelling alone. It took 15 minutes by metro to get to union station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

nothing right there besides Subway chain; need to go by car off Georgia Ave. Panera Bread and seemingly nice rest. but can't remember name of st.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
londonlakes
Business
washington dc
Oct 19, 2011

A 2 night mess

I knew while booking that I wouldn't be getting my normal luxurious room and accommodations. When I walked into the room it was small, but neat in appearance. The sheets underneath the blanket were gross; i decided to sleep on top of the blanket fully clothed. The bathroom was huge but had several holes in the wall and the mat inside of the tub was disgusting. The television in the room did not have clear channels. I did find the location convenient for me and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely not a place I would stay with my kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dunyaa
Business
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Sep 26, 2011

getaway tour

hotel steps leading to room smelt of urine. to get ice or tour information you had to go to days inn next door. room had old musty odor from worn carpet. T V only got 4 clear channels two of those were spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

take the open top sightseeing tour the free river cruise could have been longer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top