$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Travelodge Silver Spring

2 stars
View map of 8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
86 reviews
dc trip

very convenient to busses, restaurants, and main roads, yet situated in a quiet area. See full review

  • gomach8
  • Jun 6, 2015
Good for a night

This room was good if you'd just be staying for a night or two and not planning on being in the... See full review

  • Concert Fan91
  • Mar 4, 2015
The Travelodge Silver Spring is ideal for families and business travelers who want excellent value on a budget. The hotel affords comfortably appointed rooms, outdoor pool, and free parking, a rare find in Washington DC area. It also boasts a Subway on premises, as well being convenient to shopping, entertainment, and eateries such as City Place or Union Station. You can experience our Nations treasures such as the White House, beautiful Capitol Hill, historic Smithsonian museums or pause for reflection at Vietnam or Navy Memorials and the Pentagon. You can board an organized sightseeing tour which offers a hotel pickup and drop-off, or go exploring on your own on one of the best and cleanest transportation systems in the world, the Metro line, which is only 5 blocks away. The most impressive amenity the hotel offers its guests is its friendly, well trained staff who are at your service to make certain your visit to Washington, DC is a great one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon. Convenient to popular local attractions including Discovery Channel Building, NIH, NOAA, CIA Headquarters, Walter Reed Medical Center, and Downtown Silver Spring shopping area. Our guests can enjoy shopping at City Place, Wheaton Mall, and Georgetown Mall We are conveniently located near the following airports - Reagan National Airport, Baltimore Washington International Airport, Dulles International Airport Metro Subway Station - Blocks Away Airport Shuttle Available Car Rentals - Enterprise and Thrifty

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Silver Spring also booked these hotels.

★★
$88
2.0 / 5 58 reviews
★★
$63
3.2 / 5 46 reviews
★★★
$76
3.1 / 5 57 reviews
★★
$95
2.1 / 5 8 reviews
★★
$71
2.7 / 5 23 reviews
$51
2.2 / 5 106 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Brookside Nature Center: 5 mi
  • National Capital Trolley Museum: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Silver Spring

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 86
Amenities:
1.8
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2.1
Comfort:
2.1
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.6

25% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gomach8
Friends
Douglas
Jun 6, 2015

dc trip

very convenient to busses, restaurants, and main roads, yet situated in a quiet area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hayley L.
Friends
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

hotel was ok

when I stayed here, it was a friend & I, it was in November & the weather was a bit chilly. In the room we had, the heater was running but the room was not warm. Other than being cold & the hotel room was an older room, it was ok. We stayed here because we were seeing Washington DC & also attended a concert nearby, so this hotel was for just one night & made do to be a place to sleep & shower. The parking lot was small, & it was hard to find a park when we arrived, & after finally seeing someone pull out of heir space, we grabbed it. The next morning as we were leaving, someone else was trying to find a park as well, & grabbed ours as soon as we drove off. We arrived late, & staff was friendly at both check in & out. This hotel worked as the purpose we intended it to, which was just to be there a few hrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BClay
Friends
Philadelphia, Pa
Jun 18, 2012

Meh, you get what you pay for

I promise to keep this short. This hotel is connected to the Days Inn Silver Spring and located fairly close to both downtown Silver Spring as well as the Silver Spring Metro stations which is a plus. Don't expect to be "wowed" by this establishment, but don't expect to want to leave mid-stay either. It's basic. Basic room, smaller than average bathroom, disinterested lobby staff, etc. Housekeeping didn't understand much English, but provided us coffee without a coffee-maker in the room and an iron (strictly upon request) with no board (convenient no?). All in all, stay here for the price and nothing else. This hotel is appropriate or folks who can stomach the bare minimum without the glitz and glamour of an establishment that places value on such aesthetics

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dsuzuki
Friends
Silver Springs Dr, 1, Orleans, MD 21766, USA
Nov 21, 2011

The rooms were full of bugs

We switched rooms after being eaten alive by the fees the first night. There were little roaches everywhere, and when I asked to exchange rooms, the employees at all apologetic, nor surprised. The only good thing about this motel the location. It took less than 10 minutes walking to get to the Metro. But I saw other, cleaner, better looking hotels in the same area. Please do not stay in this hotel. I am still covered in bug bites. Spend the extra cash and find yourself a better place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Took less than 10 minutes to walk to the Metro.

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IN THE KNOW
Friends
CT
Nov 14, 2011

eh

For the money spent the room was what it was....nothing special. I was told twice that the room was a non smoking room but it had the odor that rooms get from being covered with a spray, and the room also had an ashtray and four burn holes in the bed (the covers, 2 on the comforter, and 1 on the floor) Went to ask for more pillows and sheets as we dared not even go under the comforter on either bed in the 2 bed room and had to wake the night auditor and we were told couldnt get extra sheets or pillows until the morning as someone had to be at the front desk. sleeping at the front desk is okay but just dont leave it is apparently the motto. Parking was included and that was nice. Two different graffiti remarks written on the walls in the room and one was definately not a legal offering

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Netherlands
Jan 3, 2011

Good beds in Silver Spring

We were visiting Washington to see friends and experience the city. What is good about the hotels, that it is near to the metro. The beds are good and the size of the room is ok. Wat less good is, that the windows cannot be openend at night. I did not like the heating system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Marhalls, very good brands against very low prices. Panera, very nice breakfeast and unlimited tea. Taking metro is GREAT.

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Rochester, NY
Aug 30, 2010

Extremely Disappointing

Desk failed to facilitate requested wake-up calls, TV didn't work despite repeated assurances it would be repaired, parking was first-come-first-served despite assurances of free parking for patrons (extremely inconvenient) which forced us to search for unsecured parking 3 blocks away from inn, room only barely passably clean. Overall, a fourth class lodging and service experience. Never again. Felt very uncomfortable.Absolutely not worth $90/night. Lodge should have paid me!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Miami, FL
Jun 10, 2010

worst hotel experience

i couldn't stay in the room, too noisy, and it was very unclean. the housekeeper did not change the towels even though they were on the bathroom floor, she just picked them up and fold them and put them back. i don't recomand anyone to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top