$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Travelodge Silver Spring

2 stars
8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
87 reviews
Nice Cost Benefit

Nice cost benefit. Good location, around 15-20 minutes to The Mall (Wahsington DC), close the metro... See full review

  • Ivan Garrido
  • Apr 8, 2014
Excellent Economy Hotel

I was in town for two days on business. The Travelodge is a modest walk from the Silver Spring... See full review

  • Well Traveled Consultant
  • Apr 6, 2013
The Travelodge Silver Spring is ideal for families and business travelers who want excellent value on a budget. The hotel affords comfortably appointed rooms, outdoor pool, and free parking a rare find in Washington DC area. It also boasts a Subway on premises, as well being convenient to shopping, entertainment, and eateries such as City Place or Union Station. You can experience our Nations treasures such as the White House, beautiful Capitol Hill, historic Smithsonian museums or pause for reflection at Vietnam or Navy Memorials and the Pentagon. You can board an organized sightseeing tour which offers a hotel pickup and drop-off, or go exploring on your own on one of the best and cleanest transportation systems in the world, the Metro line, which is only 5 blocks away. The most impressive amenity the hotel offers its guests is its friendly, well trained staff who are at your service to make certain your visit to Washington, DC is a great one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon. Convenient to popular local attractions including Discovery Channel Building, NIH, NOAA, CIA Headquarters, Walter Reed Medical Center, and Downtown Silver Spring shopping area. Our guest can enjoy shopping at City Place, Wheaton Mall, and Georgetown Mall We are conveniently located near the following airports: Reagan National Airport, Baltimore Washington International Airport, Dulles International Airport Metro Subway Station - Blocks Away Airport Shuttle Available Car Rentals - Enterprise and Thrifty

Hotel Map

38.9873 -77.0281
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Silver Spring also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Brookside Nature Center: 5 mi
  • National Capital Trolley Museum: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Silver Spring

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 87
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
2.7
Value:
2.5

24% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K Lag
Orlando, FL
Sep 25, 2014

Quick trip to DC

We only stayed here for two nights and spent most of our days in DC, so we weren't here much. The walk to the hotel from the Silver Spring metro is pretty straightforward, a little confusing to find it (past the Days Inn coming from East-West highway) but not impossible. There's not much around, but there are a few restaurants along E-W Hwy, as well as a Subway on premises (they close at 9pm). Check-in was easy (we prepaid), and we found our room easily enough. We had room #404 on the second floor of the hotel. The room is decently sized, a bit worn out looking, but overall fine. The wifi (password written on your paper roomkey sleeve!) was surprisingly fast - we were expecting it to be virtually non-existant, but it kept up with us browsing multiple pages on one device rapidly. A few things I noticed after a few hours in the room: Even with the A/C on, I smelled a faint urine smell in the room, however our bathroom smelled fine, like a well-cleaned bathroom. Not sure if it was coming from another room or from the carpet, but it was kind of off-putting. Also, the walls are PAPER THIN, and you can hear everything your neighbors are doing. One neighbor was talking loudly on the phone, and we could even hear the person on the other end of the phone. There was a door adjoining these two rooms, which didn't help (and made me feel a bit uneasy). Another neighbor watched TV loudly and it was tolerable with the A/C on, but still distracting. BRING EARPLUGS IF YOU SLEEP LIGHTLY! One plus: The room stayed very dark, so if you need your room to be like a tomb, it's perfect. Never heard any noises from the street, so no issues there. The neighborhood didn't feel unsafe, per se, but there was NO ONE around, which felt dicey. I wanted to go to an Ethiopian restaurant a few blocks down, but it was after dark and wasn't keen on going out without knowing what was up. Checkout was easy, no issues there. Ddin't notice if they do a continental breakfast, jus saw they had a coffee setup on the back counter in the lobby. Overall it was a decent place to rest your head, don't know if I'd be back. Think I might choose a place closer to DC in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the unlimited short-trip pass if staying for 4 days or longer. We didn't get to explore the city as much as we could have since we were constantly worried about bleeding money from the metro trips. The extra cost is worth the convenience and will pay for itself!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Momma krey
Middle island, ny
Sep 25, 2013

You get what you pay for

You get what you pay for! It's a motel!! No breakfast! The soda machine took money & wouldn't dispense! The location is questionable! It was basically clean is best I can say!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great Thai restaurant just a 10 minute walk away. Also, a homemade Ice cream shop! Wonderful flavors!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
eva84
washington dc
Jul 20, 2013

horrible staff

there is not one thing i could name as a positive thing about the place except maybe the location close by to everything. everything else was horrible and even hard to explain how these people run business with such a horrific attitude. the room did not feel neither clean or comfy really had a run down feel to it. but most important part was the staff. i have not even once in my life been talked down to in this way and treated with so much rudeness and disrespect ANYWHERE. the management show no care or interest in that and the customer service to them clearly stand in the last place obviously. NEVER visiting again or recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chuchu mhlove
silver spring md
Jan 13, 2013

very unsatisfied with the stay in travel lodge

The experience that we had was very unpleasant from the beginning of our stay. Intially we were in a room with a lot of noise ,also unable to sleep through out the night because of skin irritation. Then we were transferred to a different room which was even worse. I was itching through out the night and couldnt stop . I was really uncomfortable . We requested to be placed in a different room but was only given the option for a smoking room which wouldnt work because I have astma. Overall we were trying to work with travelodge to be comfortable stay but the staff was not very helpful therefore we feel we deserve a full refund for the inconvenience and discomfort we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
L nyrofan
Syracuse, New York
May 21, 2012

Don't go there

The place was dirty, cigarette butts were everywhere, dead bugs were not cleaned up, unsavory characters were hanging out on balconies drinking. Worst place I have ever stayed, and that is saying a lot. As we say here in our part of the country, it skeeved us. We couldn't wait to get out of there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jersey Belle
Atlanta, GA
Oct 26, 2011

Dirty doesn't cover it

The room smelled of pine and some other unidentifiable odor. The rug was filthy, bedspread had burn holes and something sticky on it, the bathtub was moldy, the frig rattled worse than a junker car, and the room itself needed a serious cleaning. I dropped my cell phone behind the phone table and it landed in a wad of human hair. YUCK! I won't recommend this place and wont' go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Canton Grill was great, service excellent and the meal was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PixieDust612
Pittsburgh, United States
Oct 2, 2011

Already planning on going back.

This place was perfect. The walk to the Metro is really easy, and well-lit at night. I originally had qualms about walking to the motel from the metro at night, even for a half-mile (after all, it is a big city) but the walk was lovely. Well-lit, flat, and in a busy area, so there were plently of people around. There was even a 24-hour CVS and a Giant (grocery store) between our hotel and the metro. The room had a microwave and a fridge, so making sandwiches and taking them with us was a much cheaper alternative to eating out in DC. We got to the hotel at 9:30 in the morning, and even though we couldn't check in until later, they issued our parking permit for their lot so we could leave the car there and park for free. I have been to DC three times before, and I can honestly say this was the best experience I have ever had. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Order metro passes before you go. The metro is a short and flat walk from the hotel, and is the best way to get around DC. The fares can add up your expenses on the trip, so the pass is the best way to get your money's worth on your vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
District of Columbia, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Does the job, but never twice

With rock hard beds, limited parking, and a certain stinginess about amenities, this hotel is a place to hang your hat just outside of D.C., but nothing more. It's actually next to a Day's Inn. Everything was just more efficient, comfortable and friendlier next door than at the Travelodge. Like I said: it's habitable, but that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of great places to eat in walking distance (including a subway that's on the property). Just hanging a left onto Georgia Ave and a five or ten minute walk will get you to much nicer restaurants as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IVFat Walter Reed
Salem, AL
Mar 25, 2011

PAY EXTRA STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!

Wow, if only I could post the pictures I took. First off you are in the hood, the hotel room was dirty. We walked into the hotel and my first words were, "Oh... my...Gosh..." the curtains and comforter are covered with teddy bears. I know that sounds funny but it was CREEPY! Also their was a little chair that had the "sleepy bear" on it. I dont know everyone Ive sent that picture to has said, "WOW thats creepy,I would have left!" I realize it was just decor but it was weird. But on top of that, the guy in the room next to us had his TV on, I dont know if it was loud to him but it was YELLING in our room, then the other neighbor started playing music at 12am on a Sunday/Monday morning. We had an appt. at Walter Reed at 6am so we needed the sleep!!! Well about 1am people were standing outside our door laughing and talking. It was just an awful place. When we checked in we had to talk to the lady behind bullet proof glass and the Subway next door we went to and had to order through the bullet proof glass. Do not recommend!!! I never complain about hotels but this was just awful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Nov 5, 2010

OK...road work....

The hotel was clean. There was road work RIGHT outside our window, which made sleeping a little difficult. They're advertised as being close to the metro, but it was a bit more of a walk than it seemed it should be. We were there to travel back and forth to DC, and the travel time was not too bad. Overall just fine, and worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Guatemalan food on Georgia Ave, just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top