$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Travelodge Silver Spring

2 stars
8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
88 reviews
Nice Cost Benefit

Nice cost benefit. Good location, around 15-20 minutes to The Mall (Wahsington DC), close the metro... See full review

  • Ivan Garrido
  • Apr 8, 2014
Already planning on going back.

This place was perfect. The walk to the Metro is really easy, and well-lit at night. I originally... See full review

  • PixieDust612
  • Oct 2, 2011
The Travelodge Silver Spring is ideal for families and business travelers who want excellent value on a budget. The hotel affords comfortably appointed rooms, outdoor pool, and free parking a rare find in Washington DC area. It also boasts a Subway on premises, as well being convenient to shopping, entertainment, and eateries such as City Place or Union Station. You can experience our Nations treasures such as the White House, beautiful Capitol Hill, historic Smithsonian museums or pause for reflection at Vietnam or Navy Memorials and the Pentagon. You can board an organized sightseeing tour which offers a hotel pickup and drop-off, or go exploring on your own on one of the best and cleanest transportation systems in the world, the Metro line, which is only 5 blocks away. The most impressive amenity the hotel offers its guests is its friendly, well trained staff who are at your service to make certain your visit to Washington, DC is a great one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon. Convenient to popular local attractions including Discovery Channel Building, NIH, NOAA, CIA Headquarters, Walter Reed Medical Center, and Downtown Silver Spring shopping area. Our guest can enjoy shopping at City Place, Wheaton Mall, and Georgetown Mall We are conveniently located near the following airports: Reagan National Airport, Baltimore Washington International Airport, Dulles International Airport Metro Subway Station - Blocks Away Airport Shuttle Available Car Rentals - Enterprise and Thrifty

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Silver Spring also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Brookside Nature Center: 5 mi
  • National Capital Trolley Museum: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Silver Spring

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.7

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jersey Belle
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 26, 2011

Dirty doesn't cover it

The room smelled of pine and some other unidentifiable odor. The rug was filthy, bedspread had burn holes and something sticky on it, the bathtub was moldy, the frig rattled worse than a junker car, and the room itself needed a serious cleaning. I dropped my cell phone behind the phone table and it landed in a wad of human hair. YUCK! I won't recommend this place and wont' go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Canton Grill was great, service excellent and the meal was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IN THE KNOW
Business
CT
Nov 14, 2011

eh

For the money spent the room was what it was....nothing special. I was told twice that the room was a non smoking room but it had the odor that rooms get from being covered with a spray, and the room also had an ashtray and four burn holes in the bed (the covers, 2 on the comforter, and 1 on the floor) Went to ask for more pillows and sheets as we dared not even go under the comforter on either bed in the 2 bed room and had to wake the night auditor and we were told couldnt get extra sheets or pillows until the morning as someone had to be at the front desk. sleeping at the front desk is okay but just dont leave it is apparently the motto. Parking was included and that was nice. Two different graffiti remarks written on the walls in the room and one was definately not a legal offering

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dsuzuki
Business
Silver Springs Dr, 1, Orleans, MD 21766, USA
Nov 21, 2011

The rooms were full of bugs

We switched rooms after being eaten alive by the fees the first night. There were little roaches everywhere, and when I asked to exchange rooms, the employees at all apologetic, nor surprised. The only good thing about this motel the location. It took less than 10 minutes walking to get to the Metro. But I saw other, cleaner, better looking hotels in the same area. Please do not stay in this hotel. I am still covered in bug bites. Spend the extra cash and find yourself a better place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Took less than 10 minutes to walk to the Metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super tech
Business
toms river,nj
May 13, 2012

don't recommend

they gave us a smoking room instead of non smoking so room was smelly. the bathroom door didn't close properly. we were disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
L nyrofan
Business
Syracuse, New York
May 21, 2012

Don't go there

The place was dirty, cigarette butts were everywhere, dead bugs were not cleaned up, unsavory characters were hanging out on balconies drinking. Worst place I have ever stayed, and that is saying a lot. As we say here in our part of the country, it skeeved us. We couldn't wait to get out of there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
justwandering
Business
York pa
Sep 4, 2012

BEDBUGS

Rude receptionist, not clean, no hot water next morning, bedbug bites all over. Very bad experience, Reported problems to Corporate, but Travelodge does not care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meep77
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 5, 2012

Checking around silver springs

All are good except for the lights outside. The curtains cannot cover the light coming in and it was REALLY bright and I couldn't sleep much. They should refit the curtains to ensure that the lights aren't going in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
YoungProfessional
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 16, 2012

do not stay here unless you can't afford something better

The lobby stank of gin. I encountered one drunken guest stumbling about. Right now my neck and left hand are swollen from bedbug bites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chuchu mhlove
Business
silver spring md
Jan 13, 2013

very unsatisfied with the stay in travel lodge

The experience that we had was very unpleasant from the beginning of our stay. Intially we were in a room with a lot of noise ,also unable to sleep through out the night because of skin irritation. Then we were transferred to a different room which was even worse. I was itching through out the night and couldnt stop . I was really uncomfortable . We requested to be placed in a different room but was only given the option for a smoking room which wouldnt work because I have astma. Overall we were trying to work with travelodge to be comfortable stay but the staff was not very helpful therefore we feel we deserve a full refund for the inconvenience and discomfort we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cindy the GODpillow Lady
Business
Galax, VA
Mar 25, 2013

Don't go

I understand that this a a 2 star hotel...peeling wallpaper, broken shower curtain, but crawly bugs..really? And at least freshen up my room- daily. Plus they kept on taking my used soap from the shower and not replacing it..very surprising when you get in the shower and have to use shampoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top