$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Travelodge Silver Spring

2 stars
View map of 8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Silver Spring

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.7

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
District of Columbia, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Does the job, but never twice

With rock hard beds, limited parking, and a certain stinginess about amenities, this hotel is a place to hang your hat just outside of D.C., but nothing more. It's actually next to a Day's Inn. Everything was just more efficient, comfortable and friendlier next door than at the Travelodge. Like I said: it's habitable, but that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of great places to eat in walking distance (including a subway that's on the property). Just hanging a left onto Georgia Ave and a five or ten minute walk will get you to much nicer restaurants as well.

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
doesu
Business
Seattle,WA
Jul 27, 2011

Motel was unsafe

My daughter and I spent one sleepless rather frightening night here and checked out the next day. My overall experience was it is an unsavory unsafe and unhealthy place to stay for travellors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UU Ma
Business
Claremont, CA
Jul 21, 2011

Not a place for the fastidious

The only good things I can say are that the staff are totally sweet and accommodating and the furniture and air conditioner worked well. The first night I was put into a smoking room with dry rot on the bathroom door frame, cracked tile, peeling wallpaper, fingerprints everywhere, etc. Big yuck factor. Next room was in better shape, though still not great, but was in a dead zone for the wireless and cell phone and then I found a wad of black hair stuck to a supposedly clean towel. Probably fine place for young students, but not for anyone who feels strongly about cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
calloused feet
Business
houston, tx
Jul 16, 2011

Pretty Good for the Price!!

EXCELLENT LOCATION!!! Had problems with shower draining on the 1st night, was given a new room next morning during weekend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to train station, dining, and my daughter's 4-H activities.

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 26, 2011

catastrophe is an understatement

It was the worst hotel I've been to.First, I paid and reserved a 2 bedroom non smoking room. [...]It was 1000 PM and I had no transportation to go look for another motel, and they promised me that the next day they'll give me a 2 bedroom nonsmoking room, so I put up with the stench of the smoking room. Of course, the next day I came in at 900, and again they had no nonsmoking double bed room - I had to choose between a smoking 2 queen bed or a non smoking one bed room (of course I chose the non smoking). To make things worse, although they promised WiFi connection, there was no signal in the rooms, and I had to go to the lobby to read Emails. Also, they had no working iron in the whole motel - I had to buy 2 new shirts for my presentations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
va
May 8, 2011

very bad

rooms smells not clean very old not safe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
beijing, china
May 1, 2011

As expected from a Travelodge

The front desk staff was quite efficient and helpful. The room was on the modest side, and the facility could use some renovation. Getting heavy bags up and down the stairs was a hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IVFat Walter Reed
Business
Salem, AL
Mar 25, 2011

PAY EXTRA STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!

Wow, if only I could post the pictures I took. First off you are in the hood, the hotel room was dirty. We walked into the hotel and my first words were, "Oh... my...Gosh..." the curtains and comforter are covered with teddy bears. I know that sounds funny but it was CREEPY! Also their was a little chair that had the "sleepy bear" on it. I dont know everyone Ive sent that picture to has said, "WOW thats creepy,I would have left!" I realize it was just decor but it was weird. But on top of that, the guy in the room next to us had his TV on, I dont know if it was loud to him but it was YELLING in our room, then the other neighbor started playing music at 12am on a Sunday/Monday morning. We had an appt. at Walter Reed at 6am so we needed the sleep!!! Well about 1am people were standing outside our door laughing and talking. It was just an awful place. When we checked in we had to talk to the lady behind bullet proof glass and the Subway next door we went to and had to order through the bullet proof glass. Do not recommend!!! I never complain about hotels but this was just awful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Netherlands
Jan 3, 2011

Good beds in Silver Spring

We were visiting Washington to see friends and experience the city. What is good about the hotels, that it is near to the metro. The beds are good and the size of the room is ok. Wat less good is, that the windows cannot be openend at night. I did not like the heating system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Marhalls, very good brands against very low prices. Panera, very nice breakfeast and unlimited tea. Taking metro is GREAT.

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boaton,ma
Dec 13, 2010

to be avoided

horrible place...shabby bathroom..my daughter thought we were in india....wireless worked only in one corner of the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top