$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Travelodge Silver Spring

2 stars
8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
88 reviews
Nice Cost Benefit

Nice cost benefit. Good location, around 15-20 minutes to The Mall (Wahsington DC), close the metro... See full review

  • Ivan Garrido
  • Apr 8, 2014
Already planning on going back.

This place was perfect. The walk to the Metro is really easy, and well-lit at night. I originally... See full review

  • PixieDust612
  • Oct 2, 2011
The Travelodge Silver Spring is ideal for families and business travelers who want excellent value on a budget. The hotel affords comfortably appointed rooms, outdoor pool, and free parking a rare find in Washington DC area. It also boasts a Subway on premises, as well being convenient to shopping, entertainment, and eateries such as City Place or Union Station. You can experience our Nations treasures such as the White House, beautiful Capitol Hill, historic Smithsonian museums or pause for reflection at Vietnam or Navy Memorials and the Pentagon. You can board an organized sightseeing tour which offers a hotel pickup and drop-off, or go exploring on your own on one of the best and cleanest transportation systems in the world, the Metro line, which is only 5 blocks away. The most impressive amenity the hotel offers its guests is its friendly, well trained staff who are at your service to make certain your visit to Washington, DC is a great one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon. Convenient to popular local attractions including Discovery Channel Building, NIH, NOAA, CIA Headquarters, Walter Reed Medical Center, and Downtown Silver Spring shopping area. Our guest can enjoy shopping at City Place, Wheaton Mall, and Georgetown Mall We are conveniently located near the following airports: Reagan National Airport, Baltimore Washington International Airport, Dulles International Airport Metro Subway Station - Blocks Away Airport Shuttle Available Car Rentals - Enterprise and Thrifty

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Silver Spring also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Brookside Nature Center: 5 mi
  • National Capital Trolley Museum: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Silver Spring

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.7

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UU Ma
Business
Claremont, CA
Jul 21, 2011

Not a place for the fastidious

The only good things I can say are that the staff are totally sweet and accommodating and the furniture and air conditioner worked well. The first night I was put into a smoking room with dry rot on the bathroom door frame, cracked tile, peeling wallpaper, fingerprints everywhere, etc. Big yuck factor. Next room was in better shape, though still not great, but was in a dead zone for the wireless and cell phone and then I found a wad of black hair stuck to a supposedly clean towel. Probably fine place for young students, but not for anyone who feels strongly about cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
calloused feet
Business
houston, tx
Jul 16, 2011

Pretty Good for the Price!!

EXCELLENT LOCATION!!! Had problems with shower draining on the 1st night, was given a new room next morning during weekend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to train station, dining, and my daughter's 4-H activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 26, 2011

catastrophe is an understatement

It was the worst hotel I've been to.First, I paid and reserved a 2 bedroom non smoking room. [...]It was 1000 PM and I had no transportation to go look for another motel, and they promised me that the next day they'll give me a 2 bedroom nonsmoking room, so I put up with the stench of the smoking room. Of course, the next day I came in at 900, and again they had no nonsmoking double bed room - I had to choose between a smoking 2 queen bed or a non smoking one bed room (of course I chose the non smoking). To make things worse, although they promised WiFi connection, there was no signal in the rooms, and I had to go to the lobby to read Emails. Also, they had no working iron in the whole motel - I had to buy 2 new shirts for my presentations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
va
May 8, 2011

very bad

rooms smells not clean very old not safe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
beijing, china
May 1, 2011

As expected from a Travelodge

The front desk staff was quite efficient and helpful. The room was on the modest side, and the facility could use some renovation. Getting heavy bags up and down the stairs was a hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adam traveler
Business
Rockville MD
Apr 15, 2011

good service for the price

better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saint
Business
Las Piedras, Puerto Rico
Apr 6, 2011

Good

I went to Washington DC for a conference to help the peoples of Burma/Mymar at the Washington University, we had lobby trainning and visited our representatives in Congress. We pray God and Congress will grant our requests made! I did all travel by public transportation and also had some RR time to visit/see some ky places in Washington: White House, Congress, Supreme Court, Lincoln and Jefferson Memorail, the Pentagon and the Holocust Jewish Museum, China Town and more... It is my third time for I have visited in 2004 and 2008 for the North Korea Freedon Day and Freedom Week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway, Seven Eleven, Free Bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IVFat Walter Reed
Business
Salem, AL
Mar 25, 2011

PAY EXTRA STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!

Wow, if only I could post the pictures I took. First off you are in the hood, the hotel room was dirty. We walked into the hotel and my first words were, "Oh... my...Gosh..." the curtains and comforter are covered with teddy bears. I know that sounds funny but it was CREEPY! Also their was a little chair that had the "sleepy bear" on it. I dont know everyone Ive sent that picture to has said, "WOW thats creepy,I would have left!" I realize it was just decor but it was weird. But on top of that, the guy in the room next to us had his TV on, I dont know if it was loud to him but it was YELLING in our room, then the other neighbor started playing music at 12am on a Sunday/Monday morning. We had an appt. at Walter Reed at 6am so we needed the sleep!!! Well about 1am people were standing outside our door laughing and talking. It was just an awful place. When we checked in we had to talk to the lady behind bullet proof glass and the Subway next door we went to and had to order through the bullet proof glass. Do not recommend!!! I never complain about hotels but this was just awful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Netherlands
Jan 3, 2011

Good beds in Silver Spring

We were visiting Washington to see friends and experience the city. What is good about the hotels, that it is near to the metro. The beds are good and the size of the room is ok. Wat less good is, that the windows cannot be openend at night. I did not like the heating system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Marhalls, very good brands against very low prices. Panera, very nice breakfeast and unlimited tea. Taking metro is GREAT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boaton,ma
Dec 13, 2010

to be avoided

horrible place...shabby bathroom..my daughter thought we were in india....wireless worked only in one corner of the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top