$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 5, 2014 Check-out: Dec 7, 2014

Travelodge Silver Spring

2 stars
8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
88 reviews
Nice Cost Benefit

Nice cost benefit. Good location, around 15-20 minutes to The Mall (Wahsington DC), close the metro... See full review

  • Ivan Garrido
  • Apr 8, 2014
Already planning on going back.

This place was perfect. The walk to the Metro is really easy, and well-lit at night. I originally... See full review

  • PixieDust612
  • Oct 2, 2011
The Travelodge Silver Spring is ideal for families and business travelers who want excellent value on a budget. The hotel affords comfortably appointed rooms, outdoor pool, and free parking a rare find in Washington DC area. It also boasts a Subway on premises, as well being convenient to shopping, entertainment, and eateries such as City Place or Union Station. You can experience our Nations treasures such as the White House, beautiful Capitol Hill, historic Smithsonian museums or pause for reflection at Vietnam or Navy Memorials and the Pentagon. You can board an organized sightseeing tour which offers a hotel pickup and drop-off, or go exploring on your own on one of the best and cleanest transportation systems in the world, the Metro line, which is only 5 blocks away. The most impressive amenity the hotel offers its guests is its friendly, well trained staff who are at your service to make certain your visit to Washington, DC is a great one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon. Convenient to popular local attractions including Discovery Channel Building, NIH, NOAA, CIA Headquarters, Walter Reed Medical Center, and Downtown Silver Spring shopping area. Our guest can enjoy shopping at City Place, Wheaton Mall, and Georgetown Mall We are conveniently located near the following airports: Reagan National Airport, Baltimore Washington International Airport, Dulles International Airport Metro Subway Station - Blocks Away Airport Shuttle Available Car Rentals - Enterprise and Thrifty

Hotel Map

38.9873 -77.0281
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Silver Spring also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Brookside Nature Center: 5 mi
  • National Capital Trolley Museum: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Silver Spring

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.7

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IN THE KNOW
Business
CT
Nov 14, 2011

eh

For the money spent the room was what it was....nothing special. I was told twice that the room was a non smoking room but it had the odor that rooms get from being covered with a spray, and the room also had an ashtray and four burn holes in the bed (the covers, 2 on the comforter, and 1 on the floor) Went to ask for more pillows and sheets as we dared not even go under the comforter on either bed in the 2 bed room and had to wake the night auditor and we were told couldnt get extra sheets or pillows until the morning as someone had to be at the front desk. sleeping at the front desk is okay but just dont leave it is apparently the motto. Parking was included and that was nice. Two different graffiti remarks written on the walls in the room and one was definately not a legal offering

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Longwayfromhome
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Great location

The hotel is an easy walk from the Metro station along well-lit streets at night. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. It appears that efforts are being made to upgrade the accommodations. Internet access was virtually non-existent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jersey Belle
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 26, 2011

Dirty doesn't cover it

The room smelled of pine and some other unidentifiable odor. The rug was filthy, bedspread had burn holes and something sticky on it, the bathtub was moldy, the frig rattled worse than a junker car, and the room itself needed a serious cleaning. I dropped my cell phone behind the phone table and it landed in a wad of human hair. YUCK! I won't recommend this place and wont' go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Canton Grill was great, service excellent and the meal was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WolfmanBlack
Business
Narvon, PA
Oct 22, 2011

Trip to see brother in Hospital

The TV was fuzzy, the micowave ran constantly (had to unplug it), other than these two problems, it was a OK experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
londonlakes
Business
washington dc
Oct 19, 2011

A 2 night mess

I knew while booking that I wouldn't be getting my normal luxurious room and accommodations. When I walked into the room it was small, but neat in appearance. The sheets underneath the blanket were gross; i decided to sleep on top of the blanket fully clothed. The bathroom was huge but had several holes in the wall and the mat inside of the tub was disgusting. The television in the room did not have clear channels. I did find the location convenient for me and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely not a place I would stay with my kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PixieDust612
Business
Pittsburgh, United States
Oct 2, 2011

Already planning on going back.

This place was perfect. The walk to the Metro is really easy, and well-lit at night. I originally had qualms about walking to the motel from the metro at night, even for a half-mile (after all, it is a big city) but the walk was lovely. Well-lit, flat, and in a busy area, so there were plently of people around. There was even a 24-hour CVS and a Giant (grocery store) between our hotel and the metro. The room had a microwave and a fridge, so making sandwiches and taking them with us was a much cheaper alternative to eating out in DC. We got to the hotel at 9:30 in the morning, and even though we couldn't check in until later, they issued our parking permit for their lot so we could leave the car there and park for free. I have been to DC three times before, and I can honestly say this was the best experience I have ever had. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Order metro passes before you go. The metro is a short and flat walk from the hotel, and is the best way to get around DC. The fares can add up your expenses on the trip, so the pass is the best way to get your money's worth on your vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dunyaa
Business
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Sep 26, 2011

getaway tour

hotel steps leading to room smelt of urine. to get ice or tour information you had to go to days inn next door. room had old musty odor from worn carpet. T V only got 4 clear channels two of those were spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

take the open top sightseeing tour the free river cruise could have been longer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler34
Business
Los Gatos, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great value for the price

I read a few reviews before I booked, so I didn't expect much. I was surprised to see the fridge, microwave, coffemaker, safe, good size flat screen TV. Everythig worked well. My room was huge (it was at the end, so I'm not sure if every room is so big), had 2 desks and 1 table. Some stuff is not new, but in good working condition. 10 min walk from a metro. Price was GREAT! I was glad I booked this very affordable and convenient place. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
District of Columbia, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Does the job, but never twice

With rock hard beds, limited parking, and a certain stinginess about amenities, this hotel is a place to hang your hat just outside of D.C., but nothing more. It's actually next to a Day's Inn. Everything was just more efficient, comfortable and friendlier next door than at the Travelodge. Like I said: it's habitable, but that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a lot of great places to eat in walking distance (including a subway that's on the property). Just hanging a left onto Georgia Ave and a five or ten minute walk will get you to much nicer restaurants as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
doesu
Business
Seattle,WA
Jul 27, 2011

Motel was unsafe

My daughter and I spent one sleepless rather frightening night here and checked out the next day. My overall experience was it is an unsavory unsafe and unhealthy place to stay for travellors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top