$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Travelodge Silver Spring

2 stars
View map of 8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Silver Spring

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.7

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fabe
Business
Tappan, NY
Apr 2, 2012

Trip alone in DC

The staff is very courteous; Waynee was extremely helpful over the phone and in person. There is a free bus 1 block away to take you to the Metro station during day and until 7PM. After that, you are on your own by foot. A long walk if you have bad knees, maybe 8 -9 blocks, some uphill. SUBWAY food chain right on premises for a BF egg sandwich or lunch only, nothing late. Don't get room 402; you hear the shower from next room loudly; so if you have an early riser next door, you will be up too. The room was clean and my pillow was great (I even wanted to buy one)! The help was very pleasant. I would stay there again because the price was right, esp. if you are travelling alone. It took 15 minutes by metro to get to union station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

nothing right there besides Subway chain; need to go by car off Georgia Ave. Panera Bread and seemingly nice rest. but can't remember name of st.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gomach8
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

D.C. visit

For the price of a night and 6 miles from the White House, this was a good deal. The staff was the best I've ever had. The beds were super comfy. Internet was so slow and rooms needed some general repairs but the value, location and staff made it a great place and I will book there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

diners, Chinese, and other ethnic restaurants within walking or short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dsuzuki
Business
Silver Springs Dr, 1, Orleans, MD 21766, USA
Nov 21, 2011

The rooms were full of bugs

We switched rooms after being eaten alive by the fees the first night. There were little roaches everywhere, and when I asked to exchange rooms, the employees at all apologetic, nor surprised. The only good thing about this motel the location. It took less than 10 minutes walking to get to the Metro. But I saw other, cleaner, better looking hotels in the same area. Please do not stay in this hotel. I am still covered in bug bites. Spend the extra cash and find yourself a better place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Took less than 10 minutes to walk to the Metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IN THE KNOW
Business
CT
Nov 14, 2011

eh

For the money spent the room was what it was....nothing special. I was told twice that the room was a non smoking room but it had the odor that rooms get from being covered with a spray, and the room also had an ashtray and four burn holes in the bed (the covers, 2 on the comforter, and 1 on the floor) Went to ask for more pillows and sheets as we dared not even go under the comforter on either bed in the 2 bed room and had to wake the night auditor and we were told couldnt get extra sheets or pillows until the morning as someone had to be at the front desk. sleeping at the front desk is okay but just dont leave it is apparently the motto. Parking was included and that was nice. Two different graffiti remarks written on the walls in the room and one was definately not a legal offering

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Longwayfromhome
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Great location

The hotel is an easy walk from the Metro station along well-lit streets at night. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. It appears that efforts are being made to upgrade the accommodations. Internet access was virtually non-existent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jersey Belle
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 26, 2011

Dirty doesn't cover it

The room smelled of pine and some other unidentifiable odor. The rug was filthy, bedspread had burn holes and something sticky on it, the bathtub was moldy, the frig rattled worse than a junker car, and the room itself needed a serious cleaning. I dropped my cell phone behind the phone table and it landed in a wad of human hair. YUCK! I won't recommend this place and wont' go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Canton Grill was great, service excellent and the meal was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WolfmanBlack
Business
Narvon, PA
Oct 22, 2011

Trip to see brother in Hospital

The TV was fuzzy, the micowave ran constantly (had to unplug it), other than these two problems, it was a OK experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
londonlakes
Business
washington dc
Oct 19, 2011

A 2 night mess

I knew while booking that I wouldn't be getting my normal luxurious room and accommodations. When I walked into the room it was small, but neat in appearance. The sheets underneath the blanket were gross; i decided to sleep on top of the blanket fully clothed. The bathroom was huge but had several holes in the wall and the mat inside of the tub was disgusting. The television in the room did not have clear channels. I did find the location convenient for me and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Definitely not a place I would stay with my kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PixieDust612
Business
Pittsburgh, United States
Oct 2, 2011

Already planning on going back.

This place was perfect. The walk to the Metro is really easy, and well-lit at night. I originally had qualms about walking to the motel from the metro at night, even for a half-mile (after all, it is a big city) but the walk was lovely. Well-lit, flat, and in a busy area, so there were plently of people around. There was even a 24-hour CVS and a Giant (grocery store) between our hotel and the metro. The room had a microwave and a fridge, so making sandwiches and taking them with us was a much cheaper alternative to eating out in DC. We got to the hotel at 9:30 in the morning, and even though we couldn't check in until later, they issued our parking permit for their lot so we could leave the car there and park for free. I have been to DC three times before, and I can honestly say this was the best experience I have ever had. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Order metro passes before you go. The metro is a short and flat walk from the hotel, and is the best way to get around DC. The fares can add up your expenses on the trip, so the pass is the best way to get your money's worth on your vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dunyaa
Business
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Sep 26, 2011

getaway tour

hotel steps leading to room smelt of urine. to get ice or tour information you had to go to days inn next door. room had old musty odor from worn carpet. T V only got 4 clear channels two of those were spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

take the open top sightseeing tour the free river cruise could have been longer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top