$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Travelodge Silver Spring

2 stars
8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
86 reviews
Nice Cost Benefit

Nice cost benefit. Good location, around 15-20 minutes to The Mall (Wahsington DC), close the metro... See full review

  • Ivan Garrido
  • Apr 8, 2014
Excellent Economy Hotel

I was in town for two days on business. The Travelodge is a modest walk from the Silver Spring... See full review

  • Well Traveled Consultant
  • Apr 6, 2013
The Travelodge Silver Spring is ideal for families and business travelers who want excellent value on a budget. The hotel affords comfortably appointed rooms, outdoor pool, and free parking a rare find in Washington DC area. It also boasts a Subway on premises, as well being convenient to shopping, entertainment, and eateries such as City Place or Union Station. You can experience our Nations treasures such as the White House, beautiful Capitol Hill, historic Smithsonian museums or pause for reflection at Vietnam or Navy Memorials and the Pentagon. You can board an organized sightseeing tour which offers a hotel pickup and drop-off, or go exploring on your own on one of the best and cleanest transportation systems in the world, the Metro line, which is only 5 blocks away. The most impressive amenity the hotel offers its guests is its friendly, well trained staff who are at your service to make certain your visit to Washington, DC is a great one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon. Convenient to popular local attractions including Discovery Channel Building, NIH, NOAA, CIA Headquarters, Walter Reed Medical Center, and Downtown Silver Spring shopping area. Our guest can enjoy shopping at City Place, Wheaton Mall, and Georgetown Mall We are conveniently located near the following airports: Reagan National Airport, Baltimore Washington International Airport, Dulles International Airport Metro Subway Station - Blocks Away Airport Shuttle Available Car Rentals - Enterprise and Thrifty

Hotel Map

38.9873 -77.0281
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Silver Spring also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Brookside Nature Center: 5 mi
  • National Capital Trolley Museum: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Silver Spring

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.7

37% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BClay
Philadelphia, Pa
Jun 18, 2012

Meh, you get what you pay for

I promise to keep this short. This hotel is connected to the Days Inn Silver Spring and located fairly close to both downtown Silver Spring as well as the Silver Spring Metro stations which is a plus. Don't expect to be "wowed" by this establishment, but don't expect to want to leave mid-stay either. It's basic. Basic room, smaller than average bathroom, disinterested lobby staff, etc. Housekeeping didn't understand much English, but provided us coffee without a coffee-maker in the room and an iron (strictly upon request) with no board (convenient no?). All in all, stay here for the price and nothing else. This hotel is appropriate or folks who can stomach the bare minimum without the glitz and glamour of an establishment that places value on such aesthetics

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jun 10, 2012

Loud, but otherwise fine

The room was fine and clean, the staff did their job, and everything was fine, except that the people in the room next door were very loud and drunk -- the cops even had to come. Nevertheless, significantly cheaper than anywhere in DC, and not too far from the Silver Spring Metro once you figure out where you are going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
L nyrofan
Syracuse, New York
May 21, 2012

Don't go there

The place was dirty, cigarette butts were everywhere, dead bugs were not cleaned up, unsavory characters were hanging out on balconies drinking. Worst place I have ever stayed, and that is saying a lot. As we say here in our part of the country, it skeeved us. We couldn't wait to get out of there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super tech
toms river,nj
May 13, 2012

don't recommend

they gave us a smoking room instead of non smoking so room was smelly. the bathroom door didn't close properly. we were disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
enz00
Staten Island, NY, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Bare bones

Lower side of average. I believe the attempt at providing decent service is there but, without much to work with the attempt is fruit less. The room needed renovations 5 years ago. TV is a dinosaur. Micro wave/ refridge combo makes an awful "ticking noise" at night that could only be stopped by unplugging both. Room is spacious yet bare, First hotel I was ever in that did not provide a list of local attractions, internet instructions, hotel rules...nothing but a three page pad, pen and phone book. Hotel front desk was helpful if possible. The good thing about hotel is the proximity to metro and down town Silver Springs. Movies, lots of dining, convenience stores, drug stores, etc close by made it an ok place to stay for the price.... just barely. I would not recomend to a friend because those I know would rather pay a bit more for a more quality hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Good amount of local shopping and eating. Walkable but a little far. Movie theater was a blessing with kids. Metro being a 10+ minute walk a big plus.

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fabe
Tappan, NY
Apr 2, 2012

Trip alone in DC

The staff is very courteous; Waynee was extremely helpful over the phone and in person. There is a free bus 1 block away to take you to the Metro station during day and until 7PM. After that, you are on your own by foot. A long walk if you have bad knees, maybe 8 -9 blocks, some uphill. SUBWAY food chain right on premises for a BF egg sandwich or lunch only, nothing late. Don't get room 402; you hear the shower from next room loudly; so if you have an early riser next door, you will be up too. The room was clean and my pillow was great (I even wanted to buy one)! The help was very pleasant. I would stay there again because the price was right, esp. if you are travelling alone. It took 15 minutes by metro to get to union station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

nothing right there besides Subway chain; need to go by car off Georgia Ave. Panera Bread and seemingly nice rest. but can't remember name of st.

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gomach8
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

D.C. visit

For the price of a night and 6 miles from the White House, this was a good deal. The staff was the best I've ever had. The beds were super comfy. Internet was so slow and rooms needed some general repairs but the value, location and staff made it a great place and I will book there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

diners, Chinese, and other ethnic restaurants within walking or short drive away.

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dsuzuki
Silver Springs Dr, 1, Orleans, MD 21766, USA
Nov 21, 2011

The rooms were full of bugs

We switched rooms after being eaten alive by the fees the first night. There were little roaches everywhere, and when I asked to exchange rooms, the employees at all apologetic, nor surprised. The only good thing about this motel the location. It took less than 10 minutes walking to get to the Metro. But I saw other, cleaner, better looking hotels in the same area. Please do not stay in this hotel. I am still covered in bug bites. Spend the extra cash and find yourself a better place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Took less than 10 minutes to walk to the Metro.

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IN THE KNOW
CT
Nov 14, 2011

eh

For the money spent the room was what it was....nothing special. I was told twice that the room was a non smoking room but it had the odor that rooms get from being covered with a spray, and the room also had an ashtray and four burn holes in the bed (the covers, 2 on the comforter, and 1 on the floor) Went to ask for more pillows and sheets as we dared not even go under the comforter on either bed in the 2 bed room and had to wake the night auditor and we were told couldnt get extra sheets or pillows until the morning as someone had to be at the front desk. sleeping at the front desk is okay but just dont leave it is apparently the motto. Parking was included and that was nice. Two different graffiti remarks written on the walls in the room and one was definately not a legal offering

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Longwayfromhome
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Great location

The hotel is an easy walk from the Metro station along well-lit streets at night. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. It appears that efforts are being made to upgrade the accommodations. Internet access was virtually non-existent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search