$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Travelodge Silver Spring

2 stars
View map of 8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Silver Spring

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.8

39% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveling P
Business
Washington,DC
Apr 14, 2014

it was ok

The room it's self was fine but I found it frustrating that there were no elevators as we had heavy suitcases. The room was ok but could have been cleaner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivan Garrido
Business
Porto Alegre, Brazil
Apr 8, 2014

Nice Cost Benefit

Nice cost benefit. Good location, around 15-20 minutes to The Mall (Wahsington DC), close the metro rail, there is a subway next to the hotel. Simple, but good roon and service, considering the cost. The internet WiFi is really bad, that is the negative point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking in the Mall (Washington DC), visiting the museums and the memorials is wonderful.

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AB of PH3
Business
Atlanta
Mar 31, 2014

Low expectations? They wiil be met.

In town for a memorial service, I wasn't in the mood to complain about the room. The bed was fine. The woman in the office/lobby was friendly. The parking was free. So much for the ok. The reception on the tv was pretty bad. I didn't try the wi-fi. Of the three lamps in the room, one worked, one was unplugged (discovered when I was looking for the on/off switch) and one didn't have a light bulb in it. However, the lights above the sink and in the bathroom did work. The hot/cold water connections were switched at the sink. At first I thought I wasn't going to get any hot water at all, but discovered the mistake after letting the cold water run for several minutes. The room safe fell forward to the ground when I opened the door...it had been pulled off of its bolts in the wall and was merely resting against the back of the closet until I upset the balance. I do think the lock worked, but since someone could carry the whole safe out of the room, I decided to not use it for security. The soap in the bath tub looked as if the corner of the paper wrapping had been chewed off. (Rodent, perhaps?). Not unbelievable, since in order to use one of the two stairwells to the second floor (the closest to my room), I had to step over boxes and debris and around a trash can, all next to the enclosure for the cardboard waste from the hotel. I told my friends in town that my hotel was one to write home about. Like so many things in life, I don't want to repeat this experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Many More Memories
Business
Durham, NC
Feb 7, 2014

A great mini getaway

My son and I drove in from NC, to get away for a few days. Being it was around the holidays, I didn't want to spend a great deal on a room. The Travel lodge was centrally located allowing access to both DC and MD. I felt safe when I was alone in the room. I had no problems when I extended my stay another night.Staff were friendly, price reasonable, and my room was clean. If you offered suits I'd probably stay a week versus two to three days and don't get me started on food...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Down town Silver Spring is literally right up the road!

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
edegg
Business
maryland
Oct 7, 2013

pretty good

not the best but for a 2 star hotel pretty good. better tv reception....ac works great clean bathrooms thin walls though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Momma krey
Business
Middle island, ny
Sep 25, 2013

You get what you pay for

You get what you pay for! It's a motel!! No breakfast! The soda machine took money & wouldn't dispense! The location is questionable! It was basically clean is best I can say!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great Thai restaurant just a 10 minute walk away. Also, a homemade Ice cream shop! Wonderful flavors!

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
eva84
Business
washington dc
Jul 20, 2013

horrible staff

there is not one thing i could name as a positive thing about the place except maybe the location close by to everything. everything else was horrible and even hard to explain how these people run business with such a horrific attitude. the room did not feel neither clean or comfy really had a run down feel to it. but most important part was the staff. i have not even once in my life been talked down to in this way and treated with so much rudeness and disrespect ANYWHERE. the management show no care or interest in that and the customer service to them clearly stand in the last place obviously. NEVER visiting again or recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thneed
Business
DC
Jun 14, 2013

Just okay

The bed was good, the frig worked, and there were clean towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kestrel
Business
New York, NY
Apr 9, 2013

Perfect Location

Believe me when I say it, "I'm in love with Silver Spring." Two of my friends and I decided to visit DC during our vacation, and after reading some reviews, I decided to give Travelodge a try. The two main reasons I chose to stay at Silver Spring is the closeness to DC (5 min to metro station -> 15 min on metro -> and you are in the center of the district) and the price for the room (of course there are dozens other hotels in Silver Spring, but I wasn't planning on staying at the hotel room the whole time). But when I got to Silver Spring, I was sure it well worth it. The city is beautiful, it reminded me of mini-NYC with less people and more safer. They have their own mall, cinema, hundreds of stores and restaurants, and many other recreational areas. I suggest you spent some time walking around in the evening. The HOTEL -> Let's just say it was an ok place. Everything is working, they have parking, comfortable beds, BUT the rooms could be a bit cleaner. Don't expect anything special, its just a place to sleep, for just the right price (at least that's what I was looking for.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants, cafes, stores, pharmacies, coffee shops, and metro station, all within a 10 min walk in any direction.

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Well Traveled Consultant
Business
Omaha, NE
Apr 6, 2013

Excellent Economy Hotel

I was in town for two days on business. The Travelodge is a modest walk from the Silver Spring metro station. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The staff was friendly and welcoming. All and all a good place to stay if you are on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top