$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Travelodge Silver Spring

2 stars
8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.1
out of 5
135 reviews
Nice Cost Benefit

Nice cost benefit. Good location, around 15-20 minutes to The Mall (Wahsington DC), close the metro... See full review

  • Ivan Garrido
  • Apr 8, 2014
Excellent Economy Hotel

I was in town for two days on business. The Travelodge is a modest walk from the Silver Spring... See full review

  • Well Traveled Consultant
  • Apr 6, 2013
The Travelodge Silver Spring is ideal for families and business travelers who want excellent value on a budget. The hotel affords comfortably appointed rooms, outdoor pool, and free parking a rare find in Washington DC area. It also boasts a Subway on premises, as well being convenient to shopping, entertainment, and eateries such as City Place or Union Station. You can experience our Nations treasures such as the White House, beautiful Capitol Hill, historic Smithsonian museums or pause for reflection at Vietnam or Navy Memorials and the Pentagon. You can board an organized sightseeing tour which offers a hotel pickup and drop-off, or go exploring on your own on one of the best and cleanest transportation systems in the world, the Metro line, which is only 5 blocks away. The most impressive amenity the hotel offers its guests is its friendly, well trained staff who are at your service to make certain your visit to Washington, DC is a great one. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon. Convenient to popular local attractions including Discovery Channel Building, NIH, NOAA, CIA Headquarters, Walter Reed Medical Center, and Downtown Silver Spring shopping area. Our guest can enjoy shopping at City Place, Wheaton Mall, and Georgetown Mall We are conveniently located near the following airports: Reagan National Airport, Baltimore Washington International Airport, Dulles International Airport Metro Subway Station - Blocks Away Airport Shuttle Available Car Rentals - Enterprise and Thrifty

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Silver Spring also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9873 -77.0281
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Brookside Nature Center: 5 mi
  • National Capital Trolley Museum: 7.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Silver Spring

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.7

35% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kestrel
New York, NY
Apr 9, 2013

Perfect Location

Believe me when I say it, "I'm in love with Silver Spring." Two of my friends and I decided to visit DC during our vacation, and after reading some reviews, I decided to give Travelodge a try. The two main reasons I chose to stay at Silver Spring is the closeness to DC (5 min to metro station -> 15 min on metro -> and you are in the center of the district) and the price for the room (of course there are dozens other hotels in Silver Spring, but I wasn't planning on staying at the hotel room the whole time). But when I got to Silver Spring, I was sure it well worth it. The city is beautiful, it reminded me of mini-NYC with less people and more safer. They have their own mall, cinema, hundreds of stores and restaurants, and many other recreational areas. I suggest you spent some time walking around in the evening. The HOTEL -> Let's just say it was an ok place. Everything is working, they have parking, comfortable beds, BUT the rooms could be a bit cleaner. Don't expect anything special, its just a place to sleep, for just the right price (at least that's what I was looking for.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants, cafes, stores, pharmacies, coffee shops, and metro station, all within a 10 min walk in any direction.

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Well Traveled Consultant
Business
Omaha, NE
Apr 6, 2013

Excellent Economy Hotel

I was in town for two days on business. The Travelodge is a modest walk from the Silver Spring metro station. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The staff was friendly and welcoming. All and all a good place to stay if you are on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cindy the GODpillow Lady
Business
Galax, VA
Mar 25, 2013

Don't go

I understand that this a a 2 star hotel...peeling wallpaper, broken shower curtain, but crawly bugs..really? And at least freshen up my room- daily. Plus they kept on taking my used soap from the shower and not replacing it..very surprising when you get in the shower and have to use shampoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MJW2
kenosha, wisconsin
Jan 21, 2013

can't beat the price

A nice, reasonable walk to the Metro to get into the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chuchu mhlove
silver spring md
Jan 13, 2013

very unsatisfied with the stay in travel lodge

The experience that we had was very unpleasant from the beginning of our stay. Intially we were in a room with a lot of noise ,also unable to sleep through out the night because of skin irritation. Then we were transferred to a different room which was even worse. I was itching through out the night and couldnt stop . I was really uncomfortable . We requested to be placed in a different room but was only given the option for a smoking room which wouldnt work because I have astma. Overall we were trying to work with travelodge to be comfortable stay but the staff was not very helpful therefore we feel we deserve a full refund for the inconvenience and discomfort we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
YoungProfessional
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 16, 2012

do not stay here unless you can't afford something better

The lobby stank of gin. I encountered one drunken guest stumbling about. Right now my neck and left hand are swollen from bedbug bites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meep77
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 5, 2012

Checking around silver springs

All are good except for the lights outside. The curtains cannot cover the light coming in and it was REALLY bright and I couldn't sleep much. They should refit the curtains to ensure that the lights aren't going in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buchu
Business
Rwanda
Oct 5, 2012

Staff helps a lot

It was the first time to visit Silver Spring, so we were strangers. But a lady in reception helps a lot. She gave us many information. Hotel itself is alright, but the most important thing for us is how staffs are welcoming us. Thanks a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
justwandering
Business
York pa
Sep 4, 2012

BEDBUGS

Rude receptionist, not clean, no hot water next morning, bedbug bites all over. Very bad experience, Reported problems to Corporate, but Travelodge does not care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R Vince L
Business
VA
Jul 3, 2012

Old but nice folks

Business trip to play amusic concert at Walter Reed. This hotel is th eperfect one to stay at to beat ALL the traffic to the base as you get there the back way. I was from the hotel on the base in 15 minutes at the busiest part of the morning. The hotel is old and could use TLC, but my room was very wuiet and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top