$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2015 Check-out: Aug 16, 2015

Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

4 stars
View map of 3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
59 reviews
Nice stay!

This location was very clean and comfortable. The staf provided quality customer service. I will... See full review

  • BoyboyCrum
  • Apr 17, 2015
Great stay!

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Quality customer service, and clean comfortable room. I will visit... See full review

  • BoyboyCrum
  • Apr 15, 2015
If you're looking for an affordable, upscale hotel in the DC metro area, consider the Crowne Plaza Washington, D.C Rockville, MD. Our 100% smoke free hotel is conveniently located on I-270 in the Tech Corridor and a mile from the Shady Grove Metro. We are convenient to DC, Germantown and Tyson Corner. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to prominent businesses like DHHS, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital, Johns Hopkins University, University of Maryland, Lockheed Martin, NCI, NIST, Otsuka, Meddimmune, Teva and more. Leisure guests will find our Rockville accommodations offer quick access to DC attractions, Strathmore Music Center, SportsPlex, Going Ape and Needwood Public Golf Course. At Crowne Plaza Washington, D.C Rockville, MD, Your Success Matters. Our premium Rockville hotel facilities include over 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Our spacious meeting rooms are perfect for conferences as well as special occasions or social events. Our light filled atrium offers a unique setting and comfortable atmosphere. This upscale Rockville hotel provides the best in hospitality and amenities. Enjoy free parking, a well-equipped health club with yoga studio, free high-speed Internet access and fine dining in our restaurant or room service. For the very best in affordable and convenient Washington, D.C. area accommodations, choose the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Rockville, MD. Please explore our website or call us direct to make your next stay most successful.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Discovery Zone: 6.1 mi

Dining

Atrium Bistro and Lounge
The Atrium Bistro and Lounge features a menu as unique as our hotel and You. Our Executive Chef has created a menu that has variety and is full of flavor. We feature something for just about every palate. Also, we offer monthly specials to make your mout

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 59
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charlene fisher
Business
N/A
May 5, 2015

Business/pleasure trip

The hotel it self was great, what I did not like was the internet code they provided me was wrong. Therefore, I had to travel to another hotel to use their service, furthermore, when they corrected the problem no one informed when the staff told me the will.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rocket1
Business
Los Angeles CA
Oct 16, 2014

Convenient location

Staff was very professional and organized. Easy Checkin and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ProfessorTraveler
Business
Washington D.C.
May 7, 2014

Good place to stay when on business

My wife and I spent a night at the hotel when we had an early morning meeting in Rockville (and it would have been somewhat difficult to reach there by 7:00 a.m. from our home 55 miles away). Didn't have the opportunity to use many of the hotel services, but the overnight stay was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel offers shuttle to take guests to local shopping or other locations.

Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarioSz
Business
Jerusalem, Israel
Mar 26, 2013

Nice hotel

Shuttle service but you still need your own car. To Washington DC (center) one hour in the Metro train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Not very near, shuttle service provided by the hotel.

Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time in New Orleans
Business
North Carolina, USA
Mar 25, 2013

Large rooms, yet a motel-atmosphere to it

Overpriced for what it offers. Rooms are large, yet strangely enough bathrooms are not completely sealed from the bedroom - the bathroom's door opens in the middle like a Far-West saloon. Food is good. The heating system in some rooms (e.g. mine) needs to be activated manually. Location is on the far-NW end of the red-metro line, which a hotel shuttle connects to - sometimes you can wait for 15-30 minutes for the shuttle to arrive. There are no restaurants, malls or other attractions on walking distance to the hotel - you need a car for transportation or take the shuttle to the metro-station and then go to where the metro goes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinning at the hotel is good and priced at reasonable prices. Considering that without a car you have no other options, this is a plus

Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County
Aug 6, 2011

Fell just short of Great

The room was great, the service good, but the business center left a lot to be desired. Only one computer with a software that limited the capabiliities to word process, use the internet and had many other limitations. Also, the gym was not open 24 hours but the business center was. Don't understand why one would and the other wouldn't. Overall the stay was pleasant but I would not stay their again if I return on a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

FedEx about 2 miles away but is not a 24 hour service. If you are visiting this hotel on business, this info will be helpful.

Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jan 30, 2011

Fantastic family getway

It's a good and cleen hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wisconsin
Oct 5, 2010

Pluses and minuses at Rockville Crowne

I got this room for a great price on [...] about $90 a night. The hotel is rated four star and was comparable in price to three star hotels. Nice hotel, but a few drawbacks that do not, in my mind, a four star hotel make. It's older; you can tell by they way they rigged the plumbing in the bathroom; plus there were a couple of rust issues and no vent, so it got pretty foggy in there after a shower. I wasn't in the hotel much. Breakfast is a buffet affair, but it terminated at 10 a.m. and there was no way to even order anything. Room service in the evening was good for both the food quality (a very reasonalbe, generous and tasty prime rib) and quick service (within 15-20 mins). Location was near the terminus of the Metro's red line @ Shady Grove, which is exactly what I needed. But it may not be for some; not much choice out there for restaurants or even a gas station. Hotel provides shuttle to Metro. Room was very nice, spacious, but weird double doors to bathroom. Had nice set up for desk work, but it was not conducive for in room meal. I made do, however. Also, the windows do not open to get any kind of fresh air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
xSF Local
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 28, 2010

Unexpectedly poor service

Made me wait to get a room. I showed up earlier than the regular check in time. The manager at desk indicated the room would be available within 2 hours. Even after waiting for more than 3 hours they did not have a room. On top of that, they didn't have a functioning internet. Quite disappointed with the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget-minded DC businesswoman
Business
NC
Apr 18, 2010

Friendly service, nice rooms, bad timing

My room was a little odd, as the windows faced the "terrace" -- an indoor courtyard of sorts that appears to serve as a banquet room. The odd part is that there are tables set up right outside the window, and people passing by frequently that can look right in at you, even though you're on the second floor. I also had the misfortune of being right in the midst of a block of rooms that were hosting a middle school field trip. Enough said. But, the rooms were very nice, superbly clean, with a comfy chaise lounge and pleasant decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top