$70 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

4 stars
3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
64 reviews
Pretty good stay!

It was a last minute reservation & everything went smoothly. The only thing that i did not like is... See full review

  • AJJ TW
  • Oct 21, 2014
Convenient location

Staff was very professional and organized. Easy Checkin and out. See full review

  • Rocket1
  • Oct 16, 2014
If you're looking for an affordable, upscale hotel in the DC metro area, consider the Crowne Plaza Washington, D.C Rockville, MD. Our 100% smoke free hotel is conveniently located on I-270 in the Tech Corridor and a mile from the Shady Grove Metro. We are convenient to DC, Germantown and Tyson Corner. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to prominent businesses like DHHS, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital, Johns Hopkins University, University of Maryland, Lockheed Martin, NCI, NIST, Otsuka, Meddimmune, Teva and more. Leisure guests will find our Rockville accommodations offer quick access to DC attractions, Strathmore Music Center, SportsPlex, Going Ape and Needwood Public Golf Course. At Crowne Plaza Washington, D.C Rockville, MD, Your Success Matters. Our premium Rockville hotel facilities include over 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Our spacious meeting rooms are perfect for conferences as well as special occasions or social events. Our light filled atrium offers a unique setting and comfortable atmosphere. This upscale Rockville hotel provides the best in hospitality and amenities. Enjoy free parking, a well-equipped health club with yoga studio, free high-speed Internet access and fine dining in our restaurant or room service. For the very best in affordable and convenient Washington, D.C. area accommodations, choose the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Rockville, MD. Please explore our website or call us direct to make your next stay most successful.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Discovery Zone: 6.1 mi

Dining

Atrium Bistro and Lounge
The Atrium Bistro and Lounge features a menu as unique as our hotel and You. Our Executive Chef has created a menu that has variety and is full of flavor. We feature something for just about every palate. Also, we offer monthly specials to make your mout

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
-
Dec 19, 2010

Horrible

Checked in... No heat in the room at all... Technician came by around 11pm with the room still at 60 Degrees. They switched my room to another in the middle of the night and not even an apology from management in the morning.. I have no idea how they were given 4 stars. I'll try the Hilton up the road instead next time. What a mistake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No Service!
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 27, 2010

Sucks - they transfered me to Sleep Inn

Arrived at 1AM - no room available. They lied to me - saying the room they set aside for me has plumbing problem. They find a room for me at their neighbor Sleep Inn (no restaurant, no Internet, no wake up call service) that I did not have to pay extra. What a joke!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ceevee
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Feb 5, 2013

Overnight Stay

The heating/air unit was right next to the right side of the headboard and the noise of the heat going on and shutting off was bothersome and hard to sleep. The room down the hall which we passed to get to our room had food trays outside the door at 3 PM , were there at 6 PM when we left, and the SAME food trays were still outside the door at Midnight when we arrived back at the room. The couple next to us fought most of the early evening and with paper thin walls, we had to turn the TV up a little louder so as not to hear them. The room facing an atrium was NOT a plus. I would have preferred a room with a window to the outside. This is the worst Crowne Plaza I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
xSF Local
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 28, 2010

Unexpectedly poor service

Made me wait to get a room. I showed up earlier than the regular check in time. The manager at desk indicated the room would be available within 2 hours. Even after waiting for more than 3 hours they did not have a room. On top of that, they didn't have a functioning internet. Quite disappointed with the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KVS
Business
Princeton, New Jersey
Oct 3, 2009

I will not stay in this room again.

The hotel does not have a clear sign at the front. It is very hard to identify the hotel in night time. My room located in a half basement place and bathroom is designed in the middle of the room with bad ventilation. TV has been configured to prevent guest plugging in with thier own DVD player or gaming device. It's not friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, North Carolina
Oct 8, 2012

Poor design lacking quality for four star

This Rockville, Md. facility is really not close to being a four star hotel. These are some of the positives; check-in was quick, courteous and friendly. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable although the rooms were tight and the furniture arrangement/type could have been better. The following are some of the things that prevent this hotel from being a four star hotel; received incorrect information at check-in regarding complementary breakfast (told it was included but it was not) which caused confusion for our party of 11 and cost me a couple of breakfasts at $10+ each; horrendous design of facility - one elevator located on front side of building, so one had to completely walk the circumference of the large building to get to the room; I counted two luggage carts in the hotel; no complementary coffee except for a one cup regular brew in the room, which was of very poor quality. No refrigerator in the room; usually found in much less expensive hotels. The area used to host large hotel events, such as weddings, receptions and reunions is in the middle of the structure, surrounded by the three floors of rooms so that all the noise is heard by all the guests. The facility is very difficult to find without a GPS because the streets are all named Research (something) on very small unlighted street signs. I could continue, but let me sum up by saying that this facility is the most poorly designed facility I have ever seen and quite obviously built on the CHEAP. There is nothing special about this hotel; It is barely a thee star establishment. I would not select this brand hotel again. The value is poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Prime Rib at the Flaming Pitt Restaurant on Rt. 355 (Frederick Ave.) Unless you are VERY hungry get the small 10 oz. The "Pit" as it is known locally is always good and has been an icon in that part of Md. for more than thirty-five years. It's about a 10 minute drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time in New Orleans
Business
North Carolina, USA
Mar 25, 2013

Large rooms, yet a motel-atmosphere to it

Overpriced for what it offers. Rooms are large, yet strangely enough bathrooms are not completely sealed from the bedroom - the bathroom's door opens in the middle like a Far-West saloon. Food is good. The heating system in some rooms (e.g. mine) needs to be activated manually. Location is on the far-NW end of the red-metro line, which a hotel shuttle connects to - sometimes you can wait for 15-30 minutes for the shuttle to arrive. There are no restaurants, malls or other attractions on walking distance to the hotel - you need a car for transportation or take the shuttle to the metro-station and then go to where the metro goes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinning at the hotel is good and priced at reasonable prices. Considering that without a car you have no other options, this is a plus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chengdm
Business
New York, NY
Apr 29, 2014

good location

only problem is that breakfast is not included with your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wisconsin
Oct 5, 2010

Pluses and minuses at Rockville Crowne

I got this room for a great price on [...] about $90 a night. The hotel is rated four star and was comparable in price to three star hotels. Nice hotel, but a few drawbacks that do not, in my mind, a four star hotel make. It's older; you can tell by they way they rigged the plumbing in the bathroom; plus there were a couple of rust issues and no vent, so it got pretty foggy in there after a shower. I wasn't in the hotel much. Breakfast is a buffet affair, but it terminated at 10 a.m. and there was no way to even order anything. Room service in the evening was good for both the food quality (a very reasonalbe, generous and tasty prime rib) and quick service (within 15-20 mins). Location was near the terminus of the Metro's red line @ Shady Grove, which is exactly what I needed. But it may not be for some; not much choice out there for restaurants or even a gas station. Hotel provides shuttle to Metro. Room was very nice, spacious, but weird double doors to bathroom. Had nice set up for desk work, but it was not conducive for in room meal. I made do, however. Also, the windows do not open to get any kind of fresh air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jeraey
Oct 25, 2010

unbeatable location for price

Adequate - Good value for the money. Room was neat clean, but on the small side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top