$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

4 stars
3 Research Court, Rockville, MD 20850
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
64 reviews
Pretty good stay!

It was a last minute reservation & everything went smoothly. The only thing that i did not like is... See full review

  • AJJ TW
  • Oct 21, 2014
Convenient location

Staff was very professional and organized. Easy Checkin and out. See full review

  • Rocket1
  • Oct 16, 2014
If you're looking for an affordable, upscale hotel in the DC metro area, consider the Crowne Plaza Washington, D.C Rockville, MD. Our 100% smoke free hotel is conveniently located on I-270 in the Tech Corridor and a mile from the Shady Grove Metro. We are convenient to DC, Germantown and Tyson Corner. Business travelers will appreciate our close proximity to prominent businesses like DHHS, Shady Grove Adventist Hospital, Johns Hopkins University, University of Maryland, Lockheed Martin, NCI, NIST, Otsuka, Meddimmune, Teva and more. Leisure guests will find our Rockville accommodations offer quick access to DC attractions, Strathmore Music Center, SportsPlex, Going Ape and Needwood Public Golf Course. At Crowne Plaza Washington, D.C Rockville, MD, Your Success Matters. Our premium Rockville hotel facilities include over 13,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. Our spacious meeting rooms are perfect for conferences as well as special occasions or social events. Our light filled atrium offers a unique setting and comfortable atmosphere. This upscale Rockville hotel provides the best in hospitality and amenities. Enjoy free parking, a well-equipped health club with yoga studio, free high-speed Internet access and fine dining in our restaurant or room service. For the very best in affordable and convenient Washington, D.C. area accommodations, choose the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Rockville, MD. Please explore our website or call us direct to make your next stay most successful.

Hotel Map

39.1046 -77.1871
Nearby airports
Dulles InterAirport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, NE; Baltimore-Washington International Airpo, (BWI), 45.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Discovery Zone: 6.1 mi

Dining

Atrium Bistro and Lounge
The Atrium Bistro and Lounge features a menu as unique as our hotel and You. Our Executive Chef has created a menu that has variety and is full of flavor. We feature something for just about every palate. Also, we offer monthly specials to make your mout

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ceevee
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Feb 5, 2013

Overnight Stay

The heating/air unit was right next to the right side of the headboard and the noise of the heat going on and shutting off was bothersome and hard to sleep. The room down the hall which we passed to get to our room had food trays outside the door at 3 PM , were there at 6 PM when we left, and the SAME food trays were still outside the door at Midnight when we arrived back at the room. The couple next to us fought most of the early evening and with paper thin walls, we had to turn the TV up a little louder so as not to hear them. The room facing an atrium was NOT a plus. I would have preferred a room with a window to the outside. This is the worst Crowne Plaza I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swiss Cheese
Business
Ridgewood, NJ
Dec 18, 2012

Great Experience

All you could ask for in a traveler's oriented hotel- clean, comfortable, and no vexations. Its perfect if you're just looking for a nice place to stay, and won't be in need of any amenities (though they do have amenities, I just never used them.) A ways away from DC, but there is a metro station nearby (I wish the hotel had made this a more apparent). On a side note, I lost my laptop cable in the room, the maid found it and returned it to me as I was leaving; an hour after I left, I noticed I was missing my camera, called the front desk and the maid had found that too. Truly honest, good staff. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nano Turista
Business
North Port, Fl
Oct 30, 2012

Good Washington Connection

I was surprise to learn the hotel offer free shuttle to the Washington Metro, It saved my day. Tks, F. Duran

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, North Carolina
Oct 8, 2012

Poor design lacking quality for four star

This Rockville, Md. facility is really not close to being a four star hotel. These are some of the positives; check-in was quick, courteous and friendly. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable although the rooms were tight and the furniture arrangement/type could have been better. The following are some of the things that prevent this hotel from being a four star hotel; received incorrect information at check-in regarding complementary breakfast (told it was included but it was not) which caused confusion for our party of 11 and cost me a couple of breakfasts at $10+ each; horrendous design of facility - one elevator located on front side of building, so one had to completely walk the circumference of the large building to get to the room; I counted two luggage carts in the hotel; no complementary coffee except for a one cup regular brew in the room, which was of very poor quality. No refrigerator in the room; usually found in much less expensive hotels. The area used to host large hotel events, such as weddings, receptions and reunions is in the middle of the structure, surrounded by the three floors of rooms so that all the noise is heard by all the guests. The facility is very difficult to find without a GPS because the streets are all named Research (something) on very small unlighted street signs. I could continue, but let me sum up by saying that this facility is the most poorly designed facility I have ever seen and quite obviously built on the CHEAP. There is nothing special about this hotel; It is barely a thee star establishment. I would not select this brand hotel again. The value is poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Prime Rib at the Flaming Pitt Restaurant on Rt. 355 (Frederick Ave.) Unless you are VERY hungry get the small 10 oz. The "Pit" as it is known locally is always good and has been an icon in that part of Md. for more than thirty-five years. It's about a 10 minute drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toddler's mom
Business
Rockville, Md
Aug 6, 2012

Not so good experience with one staff member - good overall

When booking I requested a crib for my daughter. Then, hours before my arrival I called the hotel to make sure the crib would be in my room because I was arriving late in the night. To make it short, after telling me they may not have a crib at all, after half an hour waiting in my room, the receptionist told me to feel free to shop around for another hotel. At 11 pm? Enough said. The crib came after 40 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Ditch Doctor
Business
Kingston, TN
Jul 25, 2012

Great Hotel on a Budget!

I booked this hotel for a recent trip for a wedding. The hotel itself was great. The rooms were clean. Beds were comfortable. The reception clerk when I checked in wasn't that friendly however that was the only negative experience with the staff. Everyone else I encountered was extremely nice and polite. The shower had an oversized shower head that was wonderful especially with the the great water pressure. The only down side of the room was that they have a lot of exposed water pipes. I believe this is common in this area as I noticed this in other places I vised while on my trip. The only other negitive thing that I can think about would be that the hotel's convention rooms were very busy. I am not sure if it happened to be busy on the weekend of my stay or if it is like that all the time. All in all I would come back and stay at this hotel. You can not beat the price for the quality of the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service was very good. Even though I had a chicken ceaser salad it was worth every penny!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the walls'
Business
Martinsburg, PA 16662, USA
Mar 20, 2012

great room, noisy guests

while the room was very nice, we had some very loud guests outside and in the hallway very late that woke us up. we should have called the front desk to complain but we assumed the noise wouldn't last very long so we didn't call. other than that we were very pleased with our stay and would recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cangri
Business
Sterling, VA 20164, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Good Place!!!

We stayed for one night and everything was good. Will recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Bowling Alley on the other side of the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County
Aug 6, 2011

Fell just short of Great

The room was great, the service good, but the business center left a lot to be desired. Only one computer with a software that limited the capabiliities to word process, use the internet and had many other limitations. Also, the gym was not open 24 hours but the business center was. Don't understand why one would and the other wouldn't. Overall the stay was pleasant but I would not stay their again if I return on a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

FedEx about 2 miles away but is not a 24 hour service. If you are visiting this hotel on business, this info will be helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza WASHINGTON DC - ROCKVILLE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rockero
Business
Barranquitas, PR
Jun 3, 2011

Very nice and clean hotel

We were travelling from Philadelphia to North Carolina and made a stop at the Crowne Plaza to visit DC. We expected to be near Washington, DC but it doesn't matter. The hotel was very clean, an excellent service at the front desk, room temperature was excellent, the beds: ufffff!!!!! My wife went for a rest at 6:00pm and wake up the other day at 10am. we ordered a pizza with hot wings and a 2 lt.coke for just 18.95 @ a pizzeria in front of the hotel, with free delivery directly to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top