$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Sea Bay Hotel

3 stars
View map of 6007 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sea Bay Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbury, NJ
Mar 21, 2011

Sea Bay Hotel Review

We just needed hotel on OC, Maryland for one night. We came down to play golf for 2 days and just needed a place to sleep. The room was clean, had plenty of room and a balcony where we were able to go out and sit. It is a slow time of year for OC and the hotel is in the middle of remnovating several of its rooms. This didn't cause any problem to us whatsoever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kensington, MD
Aug 15, 2009

Acceptable Moderate-Priced Accommodation

If you expect to hear the ocean from your room, this hotel isn't going to satisfy your needs. This hotel is located right beside Rt. 90, and fronts on Coastal Hwy., so there's alot of traffic noise most of the time. However, if you're a tennis player, the OC tennis center is right beside the hotel. We played golf a couple of times, and the location makes the courses easily accessible. To get to the beach, you have to cross 6 lanes of traffic, but if you use the crosswalks, you shouldn't have a problem. Also, we found that if we entered the beach on the street, with a handicapped accessible entrance, beside Tubby's, (a decent place for a take-out sandwich), we weren't attacked by biting flies the minute we entered the beach area, which we experienced when we used the 61st Street entrance. Also, this beach area is not nearly as congested as that which is closest to the boardwalk. We liked the fact that the beach umbrella/beach chair rental stand is situated right at the 61st St. entrance to the beach. This location is close enough to the boardwalk, but far enough away that you're not getting the bar crowd noise/traffic. We found that most of our "neighbors" were young couples, or families w/ a couple of kids. There wasn't any wild partying going on, but if you are a sensitive sleeper, you might not find the rooms to be as soundproof as you would like. Appreciated that the drapes were black out drapes w/ sheers over them, so you could sleep late if you wanted to, or allow the light in w/ privacy. The air conditioner worked well, and we actually turned it to fan only when we got too cold...the fridge is about 3'X2' and is large enough to hold a gallon of milk, half gallon of juice (if you remove a shelf), plus a bunch of cold drinks, or fruit, etc. I was happy that it stayed cold enough to freeze bottled water, so that we could take it to the beach for the day. Also, the microwave worked well enough to pop popcorn. We appreciated that the hotel had coffee urns set up in the lobby each morning. The desk staff was efficient and helpful, and the cleaning staff were pleasant. It did take a while for them to get to the rooms each day, but they did a sufficient job making up the room and offered us extra towels. They do spray everything with something between guests, so the first thing we did when we entered the room was opened the sliding glass door to air the room out. We brought our own bath towels for real showers, but used the ones the hotel provided after quick rinse showers between beach to golf expeditions, and to dry our hair and as hand towels. Our room had 2 double beds, a pull-out sofa and a table and chairs. The sofa and table were nice, but we would have preferred at least 1 queen-sized bed, or a king-size bed in our room. Lighting was decent, with a floor lamp, a conventional lamp, lights affixed to the wall between the 2 beds and a light over the pullman kitchen area. It would have been nice if the balcony had a plastic table, to hold a drink. This was the year for an economical vacation, and this fit the bill. We ate continental breakfast in our room, and ate lunch and dinner out each day. We walked to a couple of nearby restaurants (Jumbo's and Tubby's), and drove to several others -- Bayside Skillet (crepes and omelettes), Big P*cker's, Olive Tree (home-made pasta), Mackey's, Crabcake Factory (very good crabcakes), and Captain's Galley II -- which served us truly the best crabcakes we've ever eaten! Nearby establishments include a variety of restaurants at different price points. You will find everything from bar food to seafood, carry-out to sit-down to all-you-can-eat, within walking distance. Also, casual dress seemed to be appropriate attire wherever we went. If you wanted to park your car for the duration of your visit, it would be possible. We feel that we got what we paid for...a clean enough room for the amount we paid. It's not the Ritz, but we didn't shell out boa...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain's Galley II, near the commercial fishing district, off of Rt. 50, serves the best crabcakes you've ever eaten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northeastern PA
Jul 29, 2009

Good location and a nice view

The hotel was very nice. It was quiet, but it wasn't as if you couldn't have a good time. The staff was friendly and the location was good. It's on the bay side, but you can easily cross to the beach. It is withing walking distance of Seacrets, which is a hot spot at OCMD. It was a good location for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Seacrets Jamaica, USA.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom Kayaking
Business
Paramus, NJ
Jul 30, 2009

Very Nice Place to Stay

It was nice and convenient for my stay. It was quiet at night. I did not spend much time at the hotel other than to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

On Route 611 is a place named "Smokers". The food is very good, if you like smoked food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coplay, PA
Jul 25, 2009

Average stay

Hotel was located near very good eating spots, but the cleaning service was not up to par (amenities were not replaced when used, nor was the room ever vacuumed while we were there). Walls are very thin in the rooms and the noise level is high. We would not go back mainly because of the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seacrets is within walking distance along with quite a few other excellent eating spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jul 25, 2009

Good Deal

Easy walk to the beach, souviner shops, minigolf and food. Right beside Route 90 for easy travel in and out. Bus stops right in front for an easy trip to the Boardwalk or anywhere in town. The hotel wasn't fancy, but great for anyone who just wants to be at the beach and not spend a lot of time in the room. They were always cleaning the lobby and the employees were friendly. My teenagers loved it - they could walk back from the beach for lunch (fridge and microwave were a big help).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Pickle Man
Business
Pennsylvania
Aug 13, 2009

Acceptable.

There was nothing wrong with the hotel. We were only there one night. Perfectly acceptable short term accomidations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cee Baby
Business
Mburg, WV
Jul 26, 2009

Inexpensive Clean Place to Sleep

Pretty much just needed a place to sleep at night! When you are at the beach you dont want to be in the room right? Rooms were clean and didd not stink, very nice size! One block away from beach! 5-10mins from Boardwalk! I would not recommend this hotel for a FAMILY VACATION there will be parties in this hotel, due to the high amount of young people that stay there. Also if possible get a room facing the ocean not the Bay, the bay does not smell to pleasant! OVERALL great stay for a decent price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Ride the bus to the boardwalk, and save some money by staying in this hotel 40 blocks away instead of paying to stay on the boardwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob Daddy
Business
Fishers, Indiana
Jul 19, 2009

Good Times at the Sea Bay

The hotel was just a place to lay our heads for two nights. We were always on the go so not much time was spent hanging out in the room. The hotel/room were fine for a beach hotel. It served its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ride the city bus all day for $2.00 If more people used public transportation, it would cut down on the bad traffic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
curlyhairedmonkey
Business
cortland,ny
Jul 17, 2009

okay....

The hotel was okay. We used it basically as a place to sleep, shower, and change clothes. It was however, not the cleanest. There was a customer comment card sitting on top of the bible in the drawer (in plain sight), that was filled out in April, and we stayed there in July, so needless to say they weren't very good at cleaning rooms. Also, some of the outlets didn't work in the room, and there were puke stains on the mattress. We had a great time in ocean city, and most of the hotel staff was nice, just not that clean of a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the beach from anywhere, but a heads up...it is illegal to change from clothes to swimming suit in a bathroom in ocean city. You have to change in your hotel room, so if you plan on going to the beach after you check-out, make sure you are already changed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top