$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

2 stars
9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
112 reviews
Great getaway

Comfy beds. Friendly staff. Quick and easy check In and out. Awesome view!! See full review

  • Cory M
  • Mar 23, 2014
wow

what a big place,perfect loved the pastel colors. big king size bed. looked for my husband all... See full review

  • african violet lady.
  • Apr 29, 2013
Ocean City beachfront hotel with spacious suites and quality amenities

Princess Royale Hotel and Conference Center bills itself as Ocean City's largest all-suite, non-smoking facility. The AAA 3-Diamond beachfront property accommodates families, couples, and business travelers with amenities like a large indoor pool, fitness center, game room, business center, free Wi-Fi, and 30,000 square feet of meeting and exhibit space. Schooners restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner in a seaview setting. Staff golf coordinator can arrange preferred tee times at one of 17 championship golf courses.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Suites with flat-screen television and kitchenette
  • Indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna
  • More than 30,000 square feet of meeting space
Rooms

The 310 spacious, newly remodeled, two-room suites overlook the ocean or a four-story tropical atrium with indoor pool. Rooms are furnished with two queen-size beds or one king-size bed with Tempur-pedic mattress, 32-inch LCD high-definition cable television (with HBO and Disney Channel), free Wi-Fi, two telephones with voicemail, 240-thread-count bedding, granite counters, and fully equipped kitchen with range top, microwave oven, and full-sized refrigerator. Most rooms have a sleeper sofa. Other room features include balcony, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/ironing board, bathtub, coffeemaker, and hairdryer. Some oceanfront suites have a heart-shaped whirlpool tub. Thirty two- and three-bedroom oceanfront condo-style units are available.

Features

Princess Royale Hotel and Conference Center centers on a four-story atrium with Olympic-size swimming pool, whirlpool, and saunas. The smoke-free facility on the oceanfront also features a business center, fitness center, guest laundry facilities, and on-site amusements including table tennis, billiards, and a video arcade. Schooners, an ocean-view restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with a Thursday chicken-and-ribs buffet. Daily happy hour, Sunday brunch, and room service further satisfy guest needs. In the July and August busy season, additional food and drink choices include an atrium bar and outdoor café. Other on-site conveniences include a gift shop, jewelry store, and beauty salon.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (30.7 mi/49.4 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (139 mi/223.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (6 mi/9.7 km)
Business
  • More than 30,000 square feet of exhibit, meeting, and banquet space
  • Professional meeting and banquet staff
  • Audiovisual equipment available

Hotel Map

38.4071 -75.059
Nearby airports
(SBY), 30.00, MI;
Area description
Tourist site

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel Rooms

Side Oceanview King
2 RM Suite-1 BDRM KNG bed-Living RM QN sofabed Side ocean view-full kitchen-balcony-HBO-WiFi
Great View Ocean Front
Great View Ocean Front
Side Oceanview Queen
2 RM Suite-2 Queens in BDRM-Living RM QN sofabd Side ocean view-Full kitchen-Balcony-WiFi
Pool and Ocean View King
2 RM Suite-1BDRM KNG bed-Living RM QN sofabed Pool and Side ocean view-full kitchen-balcony
Pool View Queen
2 RM Suite-2 Queens in BDRM-Living RM QN sofabd Pool and Side ocean view-full kitchen-balcony

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Aug 15, 2007

Avoid the Princess Royale

What appears once to have been a very beautiful hotel now seems to be challenged in its service efforts. We checked in to find no sheets or pillows for our childrens' bed; we had to call 2x to get them. We had to call 3x to get toilet paper over the course of 2 days. Luggage carts can only be used if you also agree to use a bellboy. Sadly, we cannot recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, Fl.
Oct 5, 2010

disappointment in service

I never checked into the hotel. We had a family emergency in Texas and had to go there. I contacted both Cheap Tickets who said the hotel chain had to handle it and I contacted the hotel who said [...] had to handle it. I got an email address to sent a request to Info@preincessroyale and did so so a review board could review my request for cancellation due to emergency. I have yet do hear back from them. I can assure you I will Never"Never" book another hotel with [...] unless I get a credit. I have never had to pre-pay for a hotel and all hotels I have traveled with allow for cancellation up to 6PM of the day of arrival. I have traveled in business for 32 years and never had this problem. I have learned to never trust [...] or hotels that they will do the right thing. If I do not get credit I will for sure post this information on every website and place on the internet that I can find and I will file a complaint with every hotel association and the City of Ocean City, Maryland. I am really ticked off!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bed Bug Victim
Dayton, OH, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Bed Bugs everywhere!!!!!!!!

I realize that there is a problem with Bed Bugs in the U.S. these days but they moved us to a second bedroom and it also had bed bugs though half as many bites that night as the one before. I believe they just don't care. The front desk people were totally uninterested in our problem. Some older guy named mike said we must have got bitten by misquitos all over and not known it. This trip was in December.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Exit

Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Only the truth
Virginia
Aug 14, 2012

Dirty room with a view and free GI bug for the whole family

This hotel should be downgraded significantly. Any positive review I am convinced is submitted by hotel staff. Everything about the experience from the hotel atmosphere, the food, the staff, the pool, the room- everything, was a resounding failure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bermands
Laurel MD
Oct 7, 2012

Problem with Management

As I was on my way to the hotel I received a phone call that my mother had passed away. Arriving there they said they would NOT accommodate me (refund advance payment) and suggested that I contact the hotel's executive committee. Sent letter and they did not have even the courtesy of a reply.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern VA
Sep 14, 2009

Live and Learn

Good staff, but bad hotel. Upon check-in during the Labor Day weekend, the hotel staff was prompt and curteous which was nice after a long road trip. Eager to get two small children out of a busy lobby and our stuff stored in the room so we could hit the beach before sunset, I did not pay much attention to the surroundings. If so, I may not have completed the check-in. The Hotel is in very much need of an overhaul. In a nut shell, its as though everything is a few years past its useful life. I am not one to dwell on decor, but I do expect cleanliness. This hotel has seen better days. The pool was in poor shape and the water had a dirty yellow look to it. The carpeting was thread bare throughout the hotel and the hallways had a heavy smell of mold and deodorizer. My biggest complaint, however, was that our room had a horrible smell that would not go away and, worse, there was black mold in the corners of the walls in the bathroom. I tried to make the best of the weekend, but by Sunday evening I couldn't take it anymore and I checked out late in the day despite having missed that day's checkout time. Rather than ask why I was unexpectedly checking out at an odd hour, all the front staff did was reiterate that I would be liable for the cost of the room. I'm at a loss as to how this place can charge the rates they do and be considered three star. Its a one star at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 19, 2008

Had to go Elsewhere

Tried to checked-in around 2PM, and was told that there is a power outage, and the lighting and elevators were down as a result. It certainly is not the fault of the hotel that the electric company isn't supplying power. I gave them the benefit of the doubt, checked-in anyway, got the room key, and headed out to get lunch and drive around the town. We came back around 4:30, and was told that the power is up, but only one elevator was working. Upon going up and inspecting the room, this room still had no electricity. I found a maintenance worker on the floor, and he said they are still having problems with areas of the hotel; to go back to the front desk and get another room. So we did that, and was assigned another room off-of the pool area. The problem with this room: NO AC. Ocean City in July without AC- not really acceptable! The blower worked, but the air streaming from the AC unit was warm, as was the room. By this time, we had all of our bags up in this room. I went down to the front desk, and inquired about the status of the AC, and was told that there is no AC anywhere in the building: they don't know when it will be up and running. Why didn't they tell us this? I can't even get a breeze in the room because we're located off the pool, in the enclosed atrium area. So she offers an ocean-front room at no extra cost. I'm figuring OK, they'll get the AC working eventually, and we can open the sliders and get a nice breeze off the ocean, and the view would be a great bonus. So they send somebody up to help move our bags to this new room, and much to our chagrin, the ocean-front room was really an ocean view room, that really had no view of the ocean, but a great view of the side-street and adjacent buildings. So much for that cool ocean breeze. By this time, I'm really disgusted, so I went down to the front desk, and told them we have to go elsewhere; that no AC with a great view of the pavement isn't acceptable. We checked-out, went to another ocean-front hotel. In conclusion, The Princess Royale is a very nice ocean-front facility, but the management have proven themselves to be lackluster. My advise for them: BE HONEST WITH YOUR CUSTOMERS at all times! Because of the runaround we were subjected to, I will never return; nor could I ever recommend this facility to anyone in good conscience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 5, 2007

Beach Front Hotel in OC

THis was once probably a wonderful resort type hotel on 91st street in Ocean City Maryland. It has an indoor pool but you could really see the wear and tear that this hotel has been through. Still it is a wonderful FAMILY oriented hotel on the beach and it seemed that most everyone there was having a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely check out the Bistro across the street from the hotel. LIQUID ASSETS ..a wonderful mix of a beverage store..wine celler and bar with great upscale food and an awesome Apple Martini

Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bethlehem PA
Sep 6, 2009

Not what we expected

We had a "cabana" room which only meant that it was on the first floor. For the price we paid for the room it was not worth it. We have been vacationing in Ocean City MD since our honeymoon 23 years ago and have stayed in much better places. The room was nothing special and rather small for a Queen Suite. That only meant that the beds were Queen sized and not the suite. We will not be returning to the Princess Royale anytime in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you get a "cabana" suite you do not have to take the elevator each time you want to leave your room. There are other means out of the hotel which was never told to us by our porter. Took us 2 days to figure it all out!!! Too confusing!!!

Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beach Lover 607
Elkton MD
Aug 2, 2012

Not Happy

When I first went to check in at the hotel they were very rude both times I tried to check in. I felt that they were unhappy because I used a "third party" to book my room, that term was thrown around quite a bit. When I booked the room it said that I had a pool and ocean view. Our balcony was actually inside the pool room and you could just barely see a slight view of the beach through a think glass wall. The room was nice though and the house keeping staff was very friendly and helpful though which made me feel better after the cool reception I felt like I got. I don't think I would suggest this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search