$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 23, 2015

Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

2 stars
View map of 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
120 reviews
Great Family Hotel

Great hotel for family. We stayed in Thanksgiving 2014, it was surprisingly better than expected.... See full review

  • El Ultimo Pasajero
  • Dec 1, 2014
We will be back!

First time and we will be back. The best mattress I've ever slept on looking to purchase the same... See full review

  • YoungFam
  • Sep 9, 2014
Ocean City beachfront hotel with spacious suites and quality amenities

Princess Royale Hotel and Conference Center bills itself as Ocean City's largest all-suite, non-smoking facility. The AAA 3-Diamond beachfront property accommodates families, couples, and business travelers with amenities like a large indoor pool, fitness center, game room, business center, free Wi-Fi, and 30,000 square feet of meeting and exhibit space. Schooners restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner in a seaview setting. Staff golf coordinator can arrange preferred tee times at one of 17 championship golf courses.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Suites with flat-screen television and kitchenette
  • Indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna
  • More than 30,000 square feet of meeting space
Rooms

The 310 spacious, newly remodeled, two-room suites overlook the ocean or a four-story tropical atrium with indoor pool. Rooms are furnished with two queen-size beds or one king-size bed with Tempur-pedic mattress, 32-inch LCD high-definition cable television (with HBO and Disney Channel), free Wi-Fi, two telephones with voicemail, 240-thread-count bedding, granite counters, and fully equipped kitchen with range top, microwave oven, and full-sized refrigerator. Most rooms have a sleeper sofa. Other room features include balcony, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/ironing board, bathtub, coffeemaker, and hairdryer. Some oceanfront suites have a heart-shaped whirlpool tub. Thirty two- and three-bedroom oceanfront condo-style units are available.

Features

Princess Royale Hotel and Conference Center centers on a four-story atrium with Olympic-size swimming pool, whirlpool, and saunas. The smoke-free facility on the oceanfront also features a business center, fitness center, guest laundry facilities, and on-site amusements including table tennis, billiards, and a video arcade. Schooners, an ocean-view restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with a Thursday chicken-and-ribs buffet. Daily happy hour, Sunday brunch, and room service further satisfy guest needs. In the July and August busy season, additional food and drink choices include an atrium bar and outdoor café. Other on-site conveniences include a gift shop, jewelry store, and beauty salon.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (30.7 mi/49.4 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (139 mi/223.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (6 mi/9.7 km)
Business
  • More than 30,000 square feet of exhibit, meeting, and banquet space
  • Professional meeting and banquet staff
  • Audiovisual equipment available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel Rooms

Side Oceanview King
2 RM Suite-1 BDRM KNG bed-Living RM QN sofabed Side ocean view-full kitchen-balcony-HBO-WiFi
Great View Ocean Front
Great View Ocean Front
Side Oceanview Queen
2 RM Suite-2 Queens in BDRM-Living RM QN sofabd Side ocean view-Full kitchen-Balcony-WiFi
Pool and Ocean View King
2 RM Suite-1BDRM KNG bed-Living RM QN sofabed Pool and Side ocean view-full kitchen-balcony
Pool View Queen
2 RM Suite-2 Queens in BDRM-Living RM QN sofabd Pool and Side ocean view-full kitchen-balcony

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore, MD
May 23, 2010

overall ok

I had to pay 0.99$ per day for the safe in the room; that really annoyed me more than the 199$ I paid for the room. I was not informed of that charge and really I never used the safe. Anyhow, overall it was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

we enjoyed the board walk and the food at Philips as well a mini golf club. The best of all was a free tennis court that was empty both days we went there.. A really good one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scranton, Pa
Apr 11, 2010

Good but not Great

Family w/e for a chearleading compitition. The staff was friendly and the room clean but a room safe fee that was added on to the bill made me feel ripped off. They charge 99 cents per night + tax for the room safe if it's used or not. I personally feel that's a rip off. The hotel breakfast buffet was also not worth it. $2.95 for a cup of coffee on top of the buffet charge. Do your wallet a favor and go to the Denny's a few blocks away. The food was better for half the price. Yes this all sounds petty but the dollars add up quickly. The hotel does have TempurPedic matreses. I felt it was quite comfortable. The hotel is also energy friendly. You need to put your room card in the slot above the light switch by the door in order to turn on the lights. I wish I was told this when I checked in since it was late at night and quite dark. I was just ready to head back down to the front desk when my husband discovered the trick to turning on the lights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean City MD
Nov 30, 2009

Conveniant Location/ But Noisy

My room was a side view of ocean, but had very noisy street traffic. Location is convienant to ocean and local stores, food etc... The 2nd floor is very loud, don't try to sleep when their is a reception. My mother in law had the atrium view overlooking the pool, great during the day but at night you hear the hockey game every 20 minutes all night, plus any parties in room or on the arcade/ patio floor. Plus I brought my canoe and there are very few spots to park with anything on top or your car. Staff wokes us up at 0700 am to move van with small water craft on top out of parking garage. Not happy with that at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Would not pay full price to stay here... get a deal. Good location to ocean, good ammenities, just loud and arcade has needs repairs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
gettysburg, pennsylvania
Nov 15, 2009

wonderful experience

staff was very friendly, courteous & helpful. accomodations were excellent. very convenient location on the beach. convenient & free parking garage. available amenities were magnificent including pool, jacuzzi, convenience store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
Sep 18, 2009

About what I'd expected

Very friendly staff, decent place. The indoor pool/atrium area amenities were way cool... The room itself was, well, a room (okay, it was a suite). Not bad, not great. The Temperpedic beds are comfortable, but the base of one was broken so that the bed was crooked, making one lay uneven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bashergirl
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Sep 15, 2009

Nice Hotel - Excellent Service

We enjoyed the hotel and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were nice and spacious - as we have an 18 month and 3 year old. The pool could have been warmer - unfortunately the weather was cool/rainy and we wanted to make use of the pool, however found it to be too cold for our youngest - but my 3 year old loved it!! The restaurant wasn't very good and the waitstaff was not friendly at all. Overall loved the hotel and location - right on the beach!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For rainy days with kids we drove in to Rehoboth Beach (Lewes, DE) and took the kids to Bonkersville, which is a small play place with inflatables! They loved it and it allowed them to burn some energy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Sep 14, 2009

Princess Royal Ocean City

Hotel was right on the beach. Lots to do. Arcade, pool and ping pong table in pool area. Rooms were clean and quite. The temperpedic matress was very comfortable. No noise at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern VA
Sep 14, 2009

Live and Learn

Good staff, but bad hotel. Upon check-in during the Labor Day weekend, the hotel staff was prompt and curteous which was nice after a long road trip. Eager to get two small children out of a busy lobby and our stuff stored in the room so we could hit the beach before sunset, I did not pay much attention to the surroundings. If so, I may not have completed the check-in. The Hotel is in very much need of an overhaul. In a nut shell, its as though everything is a few years past its useful life. I am not one to dwell on decor, but I do expect cleanliness. This hotel has seen better days. The pool was in poor shape and the water had a dirty yellow look to it. The carpeting was thread bare throughout the hotel and the hallways had a heavy smell of mold and deodorizer. My biggest complaint, however, was that our room had a horrible smell that would not go away and, worse, there was black mold in the corners of the walls in the bathroom. I tried to make the best of the weekend, but by Sunday evening I couldn't take it anymore and I checked out late in the day despite having missed that day's checkout time. Rather than ask why I was unexpectedly checking out at an odd hour, all the front staff did was reiterate that I would be liable for the cost of the room. I'm at a loss as to how this place can charge the rates they do and be considered three star. Its a one star at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Picky sleeper
Business
Columbia, MD
Sep 14, 2009

Awesome Experience

Beachfront hotels on OC can be a little grimmy due to all the young adults traveling to the area but this hotel was perfect. If you have kids I recommend getting a pool side view so you can keep an eye on them if you need to go back to your room. We stayed on the 2nd floor. Walked right out to the pool from our back door and then out the door to the beach as well. Staff was friendly and professional. The rooms and facility was clean. I will return again. They only "ding" I would give is the pull out couch bed is not comfortable at all and the beds were a little too firm for my comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Super Fresh grocery store is a short distance if you want to stock up on fresh fruits,veggies and snacks so you don't have to dine out each night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Sep 11, 2009

Not So Bad Experience

I had booked this room for $99 night during second week of September. It was weekday. The room had King size bed / oceanfront side view balcony, with kitchen. Location wise the Beach is couple of steps away which was nice, but the Boardwalk was faraway. The Boardwalk is good from 1st street to 6th street, but i believe it is upto the 30 the street.we just walked about 10 streets. The hotel is located in the 91st street, and will take a 10 minutes drive to take to the 1st street. If you want to stay closer to the Board walk then I do not recommend this hotel. One Last word I believe you get what you Paid. I think The Hilton /Holiday were looking brand new on the strip and would probably stay in one of those if we visit ocean city again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top