$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

2 stars
9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
119 reviews
Great Family Hotel

Great hotel for family. We stayed in Thanksgiving 2014, it was surprisingly better than expected.... See full review

  • El Ultimo Pasajero
  • Dec 1, 2014
We will be back!

First time and we will be back. The best mattress I've ever slept on looking to purchase the same... See full review

  • YoungFam
  • Sep 9, 2014
Ocean City beachfront hotel with spacious suites and quality amenities

Princess Royale Hotel and Conference Center bills itself as Ocean City's largest all-suite, non-smoking facility. The AAA 3-Diamond beachfront property accommodates families, couples, and business travelers with amenities like a large indoor pool, fitness center, game room, business center, free Wi-Fi, and 30,000 square feet of meeting and exhibit space. Schooners restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner in a seaview setting. Staff golf coordinator can arrange preferred tee times at one of 17 championship golf courses.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Suites with flat-screen television and kitchenette
  • Indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna
  • More than 30,000 square feet of meeting space
Rooms

The 310 spacious, newly remodeled, two-room suites overlook the ocean or a four-story tropical atrium with indoor pool. Rooms are furnished with two queen-size beds or one king-size bed with Tempur-pedic mattress, 32-inch LCD high-definition cable television (with HBO and Disney Channel), free Wi-Fi, two telephones with voicemail, 240-thread-count bedding, granite counters, and fully equipped kitchen with range top, microwave oven, and full-sized refrigerator. Most rooms have a sleeper sofa. Other room features include balcony, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/ironing board, bathtub, coffeemaker, and hairdryer. Some oceanfront suites have a heart-shaped whirlpool tub. Thirty two- and three-bedroom oceanfront condo-style units are available.

Features

Princess Royale Hotel and Conference Center centers on a four-story atrium with Olympic-size swimming pool, whirlpool, and saunas. The smoke-free facility on the oceanfront also features a business center, fitness center, guest laundry facilities, and on-site amusements including table tennis, billiards, and a video arcade. Schooners, an ocean-view restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with a Thursday chicken-and-ribs buffet. Daily happy hour, Sunday brunch, and room service further satisfy guest needs. In the July and August busy season, additional food and drink choices include an atrium bar and outdoor café. Other on-site conveniences include a gift shop, jewelry store, and beauty salon.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (30.7 mi/49.4 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (139 mi/223.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (6 mi/9.7 km)
Business
  • More than 30,000 square feet of exhibit, meeting, and banquet space
  • Professional meeting and banquet staff
  • Audiovisual equipment available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel Rooms

Side Oceanview King
2 RM Suite-1 BDRM KNG bed-Living RM QN sofabed Side ocean view-full kitchen-balcony-HBO-WiFi
Great View Ocean Front
Great View Ocean Front
Side Oceanview Queen
2 RM Suite-2 Queens in BDRM-Living RM QN sofabd Side ocean view-Full kitchen-Balcony-WiFi
Pool and Ocean View King
2 RM Suite-1BDRM KNG bed-Living RM QN sofabed Pool and Side ocean view-full kitchen-balcony
Pool View Queen
2 RM Suite-2 Queens in BDRM-Living RM QN sofabd Pool and Side ocean view-full kitchen-balcony

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania.
Sep 8, 2009

Great place for good price.

The hotel rooms were very nice(King Suite), The woman that checked us in and out had an attitude problem but all other workers were very nice. The beach in front of the hotel was excellent. The Prime rib amd Seafood buffet was outstanding at the hotel and the swimming pool area is vety spacious with several hot tubs inside and outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Couple miles from the board walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethlehem PA
Sep 6, 2009

Not what we expected

We had a "cabana" room which only meant that it was on the first floor. For the price we paid for the room it was not worth it. We have been vacationing in Ocean City MD since our honeymoon 23 years ago and have stayed in much better places. The room was nothing special and rather small for a Queen Suite. That only meant that the beds were Queen sized and not the suite. We will not be returning to the Princess Royale anytime in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you get a "cabana" suite you do not have to take the elevator each time you want to leave your room. There are other means out of the hotel which was never told to us by our porter. Took us 2 days to figure it all out!!! Too confusing!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not prissy just want what I pay 4
Business
HBG. PA
Sep 6, 2009

Pros/Cons

When we arrived at our room we noticed a weird odor coming from the hallway after settling in we noticed there was a tray of food that head to have been there for a day or two it was around a corner but right next to the soda machines where you would think of vacuuming... Fitness center was closed due to remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andge
Business
North Bergen, NJ
Sep 2, 2009

Loved Our Stay!!!

My husband and I went for a relaxing weekend get-a-way and that's exactly what we got. Aside from the breath-taking view and the unique pool, the hotel is located right on the beach making it the ideal location. When we were not on the beach we didn't have to look very far for things to do. Right across from the hotel are a variety of restuarants as well as activities to keep you busy and the boardwalk is just a short drive away. I definitely plan on visiting this hotel again and would recommend it to my family and friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Sep 1, 2009

Great Hotel

We have visited the Princess Royale before and we enjoy it there. ORBITZ.com(not so much) See additional survey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham,NC
Aug 28, 2009

Wonderful Beachfront HOTEL

We were very pleasantly surprised by the location of the room-in a very private little alcove with a great view of the ocean in the front and on the side (corner room) The room could not have had a better location because there were tons of kids and the long hallways seemed very noisy- We dined at a fantastic restaurant off of Sunset Drive (off of HWY 50)-Sunset Grille-had a beautiful marina and wonderful food-kinda pricey and not a place for kids but delicious!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Clarion has awesome food and entertainment on Sat. night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sometimes picky but easy to please
Business
falls church, VA
Aug 18, 2009

not so royal

although it has all the amenities you would want, it just doesn't give the 4 or 5 star feeling. the rooms and the carpet are old, nothing looks fresh. the kitchen cabinets are dirty. the beach side cafe with the palm trees give a sense of being on vacation and staff is nice. location is great. the pool could be more kid friendly (like Hilton pool)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 28, 2009

Good

My second time here at the Princess Royale. Had a much better experience the first time around. Orbitz had the check in time on my confirmation e-mail as 3:00 but was told when I arrived I would have to wait until the hotels policy of 4:00 which stunk since we drove 4 hours to get there! The room overlooked the indoor pool which was considered an "ocean view" but I knew better and was hoping that we would have a decent view, ah well. Some of the staff was cranky and rude. But like I said, this was my second time and it may have been an "off" time for the staff. My first experience was great about 2 years ago but I'm not sure if I would go back...Also, the elevators sound horrible. Please Princess Royale, do some maintenance! I was praying everytime I got on the elevators that they wouldn't break down. Very rickety...Not sure why this hotel was lacking so much more than a couple of years ago...Some perks: the location is great, convienent onsite parking garage, and the all you can eat breakfast buffet is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newly Dady...
Business
Rockville MD
Jul 6, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

Have avery good experiece loved the lacation and the hotel was perfect i would definatly go back.The only thing that i thik will make 110% will be to have a very well trained staff at front desk that will have a answer for any kind of question... and to never use the phrase `` I don`t know Iam here for the summer only``.This trip was the best i had ever in all my year coming to OC...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 28, 2009

Nice Visit, as always but a few changes

Typically when we visit Ocean City; we stayed at this hotel and enjoy the location and proximity to the beach. The outdoor parking garage is extremely nice, can park the car and not have to worry about it. The staff is very helpful; though on this green hotel "thing" and stingy on towels (requested that guests use theirs multiple times), toliet paper limited, and room lights were replaced with low voltage bulbs so needed to turn on all the lights to see anything. The room is always very clean, the kitchen is always functional and a nice change from resturants. Very quiet, until the tourements began that weekend. However, do not leave anything behind, called the front desk immedately after requesting to even pay to have it shipped back to my home state...the desk was very rude hanging up twice without getting my information and not being helpful on having the item returned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top