$172 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

3 stars
View map of 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bashergirl
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Sep 15, 2009

Nice Hotel - Excellent Service

We enjoyed the hotel and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were nice and spacious - as we have an 18 month and 3 year old. The pool could have been warmer - unfortunately the weather was cool/rainy and we wanted to make use of the pool, however found it to be too cold for our youngest - but my 3 year old loved it!! The restaurant wasn't very good and the waitstaff was not friendly at all. Overall loved the hotel and location - right on the beach!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For rainy days with kids we drove in to Rehoboth Beach (Lewes, DE) and took the kids to Bonkersville, which is a small play place with inflatables! They loved it and it allowed them to burn some energy!

Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern VA
Sep 14, 2009

Live and Learn

Good staff, but bad hotel. Upon check-in during the Labor Day weekend, the hotel staff was prompt and curteous which was nice after a long road trip. Eager to get two small children out of a busy lobby and our stuff stored in the room so we could hit the beach before sunset, I did not pay much attention to the surroundings. If so, I may not have completed the check-in. The Hotel is in very much need of an overhaul. In a nut shell, its as though everything is a few years past its useful life. I am not one to dwell on decor, but I do expect cleanliness. This hotel has seen better days. The pool was in poor shape and the water had a dirty yellow look to it. The carpeting was thread bare throughout the hotel and the hallways had a heavy smell of mold and deodorizer. My biggest complaint, however, was that our room had a horrible smell that would not go away and, worse, there was black mold in the corners of the walls in the bathroom. I tried to make the best of the weekend, but by Sunday evening I couldn't take it anymore and I checked out late in the day despite having missed that day's checkout time. Rather than ask why I was unexpectedly checking out at an odd hour, all the front staff did was reiterate that I would be liable for the cost of the room. I'm at a loss as to how this place can charge the rates they do and be considered three star. Its a one star at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Sep 14, 2009

Princess Royal Ocean City

Hotel was right on the beach. Lots to do. Arcade, pool and ping pong table in pool area. Rooms were clean and quite. The temperpedic matress was very comfortable. No noise at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Picky sleeper
Business
Columbia, MD
Sep 14, 2009

Awesome Experience

Beachfront hotels on OC can be a little grimmy due to all the young adults traveling to the area but this hotel was perfect. If you have kids I recommend getting a pool side view so you can keep an eye on them if you need to go back to your room. We stayed on the 2nd floor. Walked right out to the pool from our back door and then out the door to the beach as well. Staff was friendly and professional. The rooms and facility was clean. I will return again. They only "ding" I would give is the pull out couch bed is not comfortable at all and the beds were a little too firm for my comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Super Fresh grocery store is a short distance if you want to stock up on fresh fruits,veggies and snacks so you don't have to dine out each night.

Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Sep 11, 2009

Not So Bad Experience

I had booked this room for $99 night during second week of September. It was weekday. The room had King size bed / oceanfront side view balcony, with kitchen. Location wise the Beach is couple of steps away which was nice, but the Boardwalk was faraway. The Boardwalk is good from 1st street to 6th street, but i believe it is upto the 30 the street.we just walked about 10 streets. The hotel is located in the 91st street, and will take a 10 minutes drive to take to the 1st street. If you want to stay closer to the Board walk then I do not recommend this hotel. One Last word I believe you get what you Paid. I think The Hilton /Holiday were looking brand new on the strip and would probably stay in one of those if we visit ocean city again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linkabur
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 11, 2009

Loved It

My husband and I went for 3 nights, Tuesday to Friday, in September, to escape the noise of our city and to get some much needed rest. I picked this hotel specifically because it is a non smoking hotel and also b/c it was recently rennovated (2008). The suite was absolutely beautiful and very clean. The bed was actually more comfortable than our own at home. There were 2 32in TV's which was nice (we have different taste in shows). The hotel staff were all very nice and helpful. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and it was very good. The crab cakes are terrific (says my husband). We ordered room service several times and the service and food was very good. The little store had everything that I forgot to bring and then some. Though the weather wasn't good enough for walks on the beach, the indoor pool and games made up for it. The only thing I would say that they should have is curtains for the big window. They have blinds which didn't keep the light out of the bedroom at night. The atrium (where the pool is) is open til 11 but the lights stay on all night. We hung a blanket over the window and used safety pins to keep it up. That helped some.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania.
Sep 8, 2009

Great place for good price.

The hotel rooms were very nice(King Suite), The woman that checked us in and out had an attitude problem but all other workers were very nice. The beach in front of the hotel was excellent. The Prime rib amd Seafood buffet was outstanding at the hotel and the swimming pool area is vety spacious with several hot tubs inside and outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Couple miles from the board walk.

Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethlehem PA
Sep 6, 2009

Not what we expected

We had a "cabana" room which only meant that it was on the first floor. For the price we paid for the room it was not worth it. We have been vacationing in Ocean City MD since our honeymoon 23 years ago and have stayed in much better places. The room was nothing special and rather small for a Queen Suite. That only meant that the beds were Queen sized and not the suite. We will not be returning to the Princess Royale anytime in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you get a "cabana" suite you do not have to take the elevator each time you want to leave your room. There are other means out of the hotel which was never told to us by our porter. Took us 2 days to figure it all out!!! Too confusing!!!

Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not prissy just want what I pay 4
Business
HBG. PA
Sep 6, 2009

Pros/Cons

When we arrived at our room we noticed a weird odor coming from the hallway after settling in we noticed there was a tray of food that head to have been there for a day or two it was around a corner but right next to the soda machines where you would think of vacuuming... Fitness center was closed due to remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Princess Royale Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethlehem PA
Sep 6, 2009

Not what we expected

We had a "cabana" room which only meant that it was on the first floor. For the price we paid for the room it was not worth it. We have been vacationing in Ocean City MD since our honeymoon 23 years ago and have stayed in much better places. The room was nothing special and rather small for a Queen Suite. That only meant that the beds were Queen sized and not the suite. We will not be returning to the Princess Royale anytime in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you get a "cabana" suite you do not have to take the elevator each time you want to leave your room. There are other means out of the hotel which was never told to us by our porter. Took us 2 days to figure it all out!!! Too confusing!!!

Back to menu Return to top