$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

3 stars
1109 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
35 reviews
great weekend getaway

Nice place to stay perfect location. Restaurant was nice and clean. We watched the sun rise from... See full review

  • Sheila67
  • Jul 7, 2014
Escape from the holiday hustle and bustle!

Very nice stay. Great location. Attentive staff. Wonderful housekeepers. See full review

  • newlywed couple
  • Jan 5, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront. Walk to the Ocean City Boardwalk and swim in the Atlantic Ocean. Casinos, bike rentals, water sports, and fishing are all nearby. Jolly Roger Amusement Park, Splash Mountain Water Park, and Ripleys Believe It or Not Museum are less than 2 miles away. Enjoy a meal at the onsite Brothers Bistro and Lounge. Tell your friends about your adventures with the complimentary wireless Internet access, and relax in the heated indoor pool and hot-tub. Enjoy the 24-hour front desk, and complimentary car and large-vehicle parking. Book your next social or business event in the meeting space, and take advantage of the copy and fax services. Refresh in your guest room watching the 32-inch flat-screen TV, and enjoy the in-room microwave and refrigerator. Handicapped-accessible and oceanfront rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult at this smoke-free lodging.

Hotel Map

38.3411 -75.0797
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheila67
pennsylvania
Jul 7, 2014

great weekend getaway

Nice place to stay perfect location. Restaurant was nice and clean. We watched the sun rise from our balcony....breath taking! It's worth the extra to stay on the board walk. My only disappointment was we did not get the room we reserved. We wanted a king bed that had a sofa in room and got a room with two double beds. We reserved this room because we were able to get king and have the sofa to relax. We will go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newlywed couple
Baltimore, MD, USA
Jan 5, 2014

Escape from the holiday hustle and bustle!

Very nice stay. Great location. Attentive staff. Wonderful housekeepers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hissistor
Washington, DC
Dec 15, 2013

Even in the dark of winter

Lovely rooms, nice staff, we'll stay there next time we come to visit grampa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ed dad
Annapolis
Aug 29, 2013

Boardwalk conveneience

Older hotel but in good condition. Great location on Boardalk. Good resturant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timothy 28th
new jersey
Aug 27, 2013

beautiful view

We liked the hotel and the parking were very convenient. The view was very nice and the room was clean. We loved being wright on the beach with a view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
keith man
elkton
Jun 1, 2013

great deal

nice place to stay right on the beach close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spike D.
Gwynn Oak, Baltimore, MD, USA
Mar 31, 2013

Nice hotel

The hotel was nice for the money, right on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JGBD
Pennsylvania
Oct 23, 2012

weekend getaway before winter

stayed here for long weekend in Oct. nice ,clean comfortable room on boardwalk. all the staff were courteous & helpfull with any questions i had since this was my first trip to OC would recommend staying in oceanfront room to avoid noise from exhaust fans from restauraunts along one side of hotel. overall a nice hotel that i would definetly stay at again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JB SLM
Business
Pasadena, Maryland
May 12, 2012

HoJo on the Boardwalk

The hotel screams on it's sign "newly renovated rooms" - not sure when my room was newly renovated?? - it looked very worn -- (as do many of the hotels in Ocean City). The room looked out over the alley between the hotel and a restaurant next door - you had to step out onto the balcony and crane to the left to see the ocean. The room at odd hours smelled like food -- I assume from the ventilation system pulling in the smell from next door. The room was clean except for the run in I had with the roach the morning I was leaving -- the hotel clerk seemed to be horrified about the roach but didn't go out of her way to be overly apologetic or offer any discount, etc. For the price I guess you take your chances. I would definately be wary of paying full rates for this place during season!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jules Restaurant and Liquid Assets both excellent places for dinner and to get your drink on!!

Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mt Airy, MD 21771, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great long weekend

My wife and I plus another couple went away for a long weekend and enjoyed our Howard Johnson stay tremendously. The staff was very courteous and friendly. We would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Outlet center just outside Ocean City on Route 50.

Back to menu Return to top