Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

2 stars
2401 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
37 reviews
Wonderful view!

great location with a wonderful view. We were off season so many places were closed. If we go back... See full review

  • Wirtcoman
  • May 31, 2014
wonderful birthday getaway

From check in to check out, it was amazing. Ocean front view with balcony. Outstanding!!!! Howard... See full review

  • yolo 57
  • Aug 9, 2013
Boardwalk hotel in Ocean City with basic amenities

Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront is located on the boardwalk, close to shops, restaurants, and other amusements and recreation. The five-story hotel has a 24-hour front desk and heated outdoor pool and provides guests with free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast. On-site coffee shop serves breakfast and lunch. Bike rentals and water activities from jet skiing to parasailing and fishing boat charters are close by. Staff golf coordinators can help arrange for guests to play at more than 20 area courses.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • Coffee shop serves breakfast and lunch daily
Rooms

The smoke-free hotel offers oceanfront deluxe, ocean-view, and poolside rooms. Rooms feature free Wi-Fi, 32-inch flatscreen cable television with premium channels and remote control, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, safe, and iron/ironing board. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available.

Features

Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront boasts a heated outdoor pool, 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi, and free continental breakfast. Shopping, dining, and nightlife options are all within walking distance. On-site coffee shop serves breakfast and lunch daily.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (30.2 mi/48.6 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (135 mi/217.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Ocean City Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 37
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deb Luvs Ocean City
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 8, 2012

Never Again

I travel alot and this time is the first I ever complained about a room. First I want to say the maintenance on the outside of the building is very maintained. Got to give credit were it is do. But housekeeping is very bad. The sheets were musty, one day are beds were made and garbage taken out but no towels left. The next day no housekeeping at all. Beds not made, garbage not taken out, no clean towels again. The coffee pot had an old filter in it and mold was in the pot. The surge protector at one time was white but was totally black. Was afraid to plug anything in. My sock were black from the carpet not being clean. Old sea shells and sand under the microwave. Stains on the celling from a water leak. Air conditioner very loud. Kept me up. Elevator very very slow. The avertise a heated pool. It was ice water. Everyone was complaining. Was shown as having a complimentary breakfast. There was none. Attendee checking us in was not friendly at all. Checking out attendee was very nice. Our toilet broke and maintenance did come right away. I go to Ocean City alot. Would never stay here again. Same complaints from others staying here. Great location thous. If they got better housekeeping it would be a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunshine
Business
Charleston, SC.
May 22, 2012

Ok, quick getaway.

For a one night stay, i really can not say much, however, the toilet in my room would not flush properly and the phone did not work. Hotel maintenance personnel did attempt to fix phone, however, no success. Phone line required phone company repair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmc87
Business
Ohio, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Great stay!!

The hotel was a great place and everyone was very nice!! The ocean was right there along with the boardwalk! Plan on going back this year coming up!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rolando
Business
Gainesville, VA, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Last minute deal

We were late on our plans, ended up finding this one and found it to be ok. Not the best place we have stayed in. Staff was really friendly, and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melinda , mother of 2
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 5, 2011

family vacation

Howard Johnson was a convenient hotel. It was not a luxury hotel. I was not happy when we arrived to find out we were booked for a handicap room. Small children and no bathtub(it had a ramp into the shower area) was very inconvenient. Our bathroom was a wet mess!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of things to do in walking distance. Right on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vestal,N Y
Jul 19, 2011

wonderful experience

We had a beautiful room that's balcony had a wonderful side view of the ocean.The hotel management went out of their way to locate a wheel chair for some friends that were with us. And my daughter-in-law is 7 1/2 months pregnant and the hotel management gave us an extra parking lot pass for their family. Would highly recommend this motel to anyone.It had a delicious restraunt for lunch and breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pennsylvania
Jun 27, 2011

average hotel

the hotel had a great location at 24th street for a family with children. the room was a little tightly spaced for a family of 6. the bathroom was very small for a suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Aug 24, 2010

Definitely third-rate

location was great - everything else was a disappointment. Very small room for 3 adults, noisy, dripping air conditioner, pool was closed most of the time we were there, could not reach light switch over bathroom sink, no shower curtain when we arrived, room keys often did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Akron, OH
Aug 2, 2010

Don't hold your breath

The majority of the staff could not have been more UNcaring. The toilet ran. Faucets leaked. Walls (especially our ceiling) were paper thin. The noise was unbearable. We were on the first floor. There was quite a bit of trash on the ground outside our porch. It stayed there all four days we were there. Don't put the DO NOT DISTURB sign on your door. If you do, have it off by 9:00 AM. If the maid comes around and it's on, SHE NEVER COMES BACK. Our room was made up once in four days. However, we were able to get clean towels (at the front desk). Would NEVER come back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new castle delaware
Jul 31, 2010

GREAT VACATION

We were able to walk to alot of the stores and boardwalk. We had a great time with our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the menu book was really helpful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top