$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

2 stars
View map of 2401 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
33 reviews
Wonderful view!

great location with a wonderful view. We were off season so many places were closed. If we go back... See full review

  • Wirtcoman
  • May 31, 2014
GREAT VACATION

We were able to walk to alot of the stores and boardwalk. We had a great time with our family. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 31, 2010

Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront is located on the boardwalk, close to shops, restaurants, and other amusements and recreation. The five-story hotel has a 24-hour front desk and heated outdoor pool and provides guests with free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast. On-site coffee shop serves breakfast and lunch. Bike rentals and water activities from jet skiing to parasailing and fishing boat charters are close by. Staff golf coordinators can help arrange for guests to play at more than 20 area courses.

Rooms

The smoke-free hotel offers oceanfront deluxe, ocean-view, and poolside rooms. Rooms feature free Wi-Fi, 32-inch flatscreen cable television with premium channels and remote control, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, safe, and iron/ironing board. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available.

Property features

Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront boasts a heated outdoor pool, 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi, and free continental breakfast. Shopping, dining, and nightlife options are all within walking distance. On-site coffee shop serves breakfast and lunch daily.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • Coffee shop serves breakfast and lunch daily
Nearby attractions
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Ocean City Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (30.2 mi/48.6 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (135 mi/217.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 33
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.8

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Butch5298
Business
PA
Jun 28, 2014

Birthday stay

Our experience at this hotel, was great. Front desk allowed us to park the car, change into Beach attire and check in 2 hours early! VERY POSITIVE EXPERIENCE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Buffett at 2nd St. on the Boardwalk was TERRIBLE

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ops21
Business
03801
Sep 21, 2013

Ocean City

Nice Location.... Right at the board walk. Nice balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vino Rosa
Business
Balto., MD
Sep 13, 2013

Thumbs Down

The curtain was down when we walked in, had to call maintenance. One of our keys did not work. A smelly microwave with a burned substance had to be removed from the room. The elevator was filthy, all the outside glass needs to be cleaned. The coffee shop has great breakfasts, but the service is terrible. We kept losing Internet service; had to keep entering ID and password. There are much better values on the boardwalk for the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DaVincis has great food for a reasonable priceI

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
worldaccordingtojim
Business
Johnstown, PA
Aug 20, 2013

Average

Nothing special, nothing to really complain about. Room is OK, bathroom is small, everything is mostly out dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Seacrets on 49th street.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kaye and Al
Business
Watervliet NY
Jul 11, 2013

Ocean City

The staff was fairly friendly. The room we received wasn't what I expected, and the staff didn't even try to go out of their way to accommodate me. Basically, sorry that's too bad, nothing we can do. The room was ok. Smelled kinda dingy,the carpet felt sticky, sheets were clean. Bathroom was tiny but the shower was brand new and clean. Overall the walls and paint needed to be updated and cleaned. The place looked a bit outdated and old. Room service was ok, but we decided to skip on the daily room cleaning. Just personal preference. The pool out side looked clean, we didn't partake though. Hotel location was right on the boardwalk which is always nice. Elevator was very dirty and very slow moving. Overall a two out of five stars. Definitely needs some TLC on multiple levels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phillips Crab House is superb!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
electric and sizzling
Business
pa
Sep 20, 2012

Very Nice place to stay

Upon arrival the staff was very helpful and accommodating. The friendliness was a good change from other places in the past. The room was quite nice and clean. The bathroom sparkled and we felt quite comfortable there. We enjoyed walking the 27+- blocks on the boardwalk . We will return to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sharpsburg, MD
May 23, 2011

Great view, great restaurant, ok hotel

We were in Ocean City for the weekend and wanted to get into our room to relaxand prepare for the evening's activities. When we got to the room and opened the door the beds weren't made and there was stuff from the previousguest, thinking that there was still someone staying there, we went downstairs to inform the front desk. We were then assigned a different room which was even more so occupied and returned to the previous room whereby it took three attempts to get the room cleaned. The staff was nice butif there's a do not disturb sign on the people will respect your privacy in so much that the room might remain a mess. Regardless, the oceanfront view is great, the room is decent and the Satellite restaurant attached has great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to give the Satellite a try. The food is really great despite what you might think about the rundown appearance. Great portions, good prices, a must try if staying at this hotel or nearby.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Aug 17, 2010

Great View, liveable room

The view was amazing, right above the boardwalk as advertised. It was very convenient for just walking out the door and onto the beach or boardwalk. The kitchen area was fine (fridge, toaster oven, microwave, sink) but the cleaning lady does absolutely nothing for the rooms except change towels on the floor (no cleaning of kitchen area, floors, extra shampoos, etc). You can tell that the hotel is a bit rundown, esp. looking at the bathrooms. But then again, just about everything in OC could use a make-over. Location is GREAT if you want privacy and peace and quiet. It's not so great if you expect to walk to a bunch of attractions and on-the-boardwalk activities/restaurants. The biggest problem was definitely the price...booking last minute just didn't work for us this time. For what we paid, we could have stayed at a 4 star hotel in Hawaii instead of a 2 star in OC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

10 blocks on the boardwalk to the first decent sit-down restaurant, and another 10 blocks after that for the next...

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greencastle, Pa
Aug 13, 2010

Great room, very quiet, bath small

Room was very nice and quiet. Had great view of the beach. Bathrooms were very small but we made due.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Falcon99
Business
Phila., Pa
Jul 27, 2010

Standard room for the price.

The Staff help make our trip very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top