Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

2 stars
View map of 2401 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
37 reviews
Wonderful view!

great location with a wonderful view. We were off season so many places were closed. If we go back... See full review

  • Wirtcoman
  • May 31, 2014
GREAT VACATION

We were able to walk to alot of the stores and boardwalk. We had a great time with our family. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 31, 2010
Boardwalk hotel in Ocean City with basic amenities

Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront is located on the boardwalk, close to shops, restaurants, and other amusements and recreation. The five-story hotel has a 24-hour front desk and heated outdoor pool and provides guests with free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast. On-site coffee shop serves breakfast and lunch. Bike rentals and water activities from jet skiing to parasailing and fishing boat charters are close by. Staff golf coordinators can help arrange for guests to play at more than 20 area courses.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Heated outdoor pool
  • Coffee shop serves breakfast and lunch daily
Rooms

The smoke-free hotel offers oceanfront deluxe, ocean-view, and poolside rooms. Rooms feature free Wi-Fi, 32-inch flatscreen cable television with premium channels and remote control, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, safe, and iron/ironing board. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available.

Features

Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront boasts a heated outdoor pool, 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi, and free continental breakfast. Shopping, dining, and nightlife options are all within walking distance. On-site coffee shop serves breakfast and lunch daily.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (30.2 mi/48.6 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (135 mi/217.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Ocean City Convention Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Aug 17, 2010

Great View, liveable room

The view was amazing, right above the boardwalk as advertised. It was very convenient for just walking out the door and onto the beach or boardwalk. The kitchen area was fine (fridge, toaster oven, microwave, sink) but the cleaning lady does absolutely nothing for the rooms except change towels on the floor (no cleaning of kitchen area, floors, extra shampoos, etc). You can tell that the hotel is a bit rundown, esp. looking at the bathrooms. But then again, just about everything in OC could use a make-over. Location is GREAT if you want privacy and peace and quiet. It's not so great if you expect to walk to a bunch of attractions and on-the-boardwalk activities/restaurants. The biggest problem was definitely the price...booking last minute just didn't work for us this time. For what we paid, we could have stayed at a 4 star hotel in Hawaii instead of a 2 star in OC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

10 blocks on the boardwalk to the first decent sit-down restaurant, and another 10 blocks after that for the next...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greencastle, Pa
Aug 13, 2010

Great room, very quiet, bath small

Room was very nice and quiet. Had great view of the beach. Bathrooms were very small but we made due.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Akron, OH
Aug 2, 2010

Don't hold your breath

The majority of the staff could not have been more UNcaring. The toilet ran. Faucets leaked. Walls (especially our ceiling) were paper thin. The noise was unbearable. We were on the first floor. There was quite a bit of trash on the ground outside our porch. It stayed there all four days we were there. Don't put the DO NOT DISTURB sign on your door. If you do, have it off by 9:00 AM. If the maid comes around and it's on, SHE NEVER COMES BACK. Our room was made up once in four days. However, we were able to get clean towels (at the front desk). Would NEVER come back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new castle delaware
Jul 31, 2010

GREAT VACATION

We were able to walk to alot of the stores and boardwalk. We had a great time with our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the menu book was really helpful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh, pa
Jul 29, 2010

GREAT STAY

It was a good hotel with a nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Falcon99
Business
Phila., Pa
Jul 27, 2010

Standard room for the price.

The Staff help make our trip very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ersienpre
Business
Centreville
Jul 18, 2010

Is good Hotel

This Hotel is Good,Only is Not Good Clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crooksville, Ohio
Jul 7, 2010

Good price Good hotel

The Hotel is right on the beach which is awesome. It is now five star hotel but I was pleased withe the friendly staff and clean rooms. If you go on vacation to spend your time in a hotel spend more money and get something else. If you just need a place to sleep and a quick rest its perfect. You can get out of bed take two steps and be on you balcony watching the waves crash on the beach. To me that makes it a great room!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Philips seafood buffet is an awesome place. If you want some of the best Italian in the world at a very good price try Flavors Of Italy. You wont be disappointed either way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annapolis, MD
Jun 8, 2010

Average hotel experience

The front desk staff was efficient but not friendly during check-in. Daily maid service meant fresh towels, but the beds were never made up and I don't think the room was vacuumed. The parking lot in front of the hotel is extremely tight - I think they may have another lot, but I wasn't told about it on check-in. The beds were comfortable and it was pretty quiet. The location is great. The Satellite Cafe was delicious for breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mom2all100
Business
West Virginia
Jun 6, 2010

Great Weekend Getaway!!

Great weekend. It is on the Boardwalk but out of the high traffic area...nice place for a quite stay and still close enough to all the night life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top