$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

2 stars
View map of 2401 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunshine
Business
Charleston, SC.
May 22, 2012

Ok, quick getaway.

For a one night stay, i really can not say much, however, the toilet in my room would not flush properly and the phone did not work. Hotel maintenance personnel did attempt to fix phone, however, no success. Phone line required phone company repair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmc87
Business
Ohio, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Great stay!!

The hotel was a great place and everyone was very nice!! The ocean was right there along with the boardwalk! Plan on going back this year coming up!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScottH711
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Had a blast in OC

Had a great time in OC. The hotel was clean,quiet and comfortable. Only slight issue I had was I was told I was getting a room with an ocean view so I expected a room facing the ocean but it was facing to the side, still had somewhat of an ocean view but you should ask if this is important to you. Overall I would recommend this hotel and can't wait til my next trip to OC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the para sailing and make sure it is ocean side!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rolando
Business
Gainesville, VA, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Last minute deal

We were late on our plans, ended up finding this one and found it to be ok. Not the best place we have stayed in. Staff was really friendly, and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melinda , mother of 2
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 5, 2011

family vacation

Howard Johnson was a convenient hotel. It was not a luxury hotel. I was not happy when we arrived to find out we were booked for a handicap room. Small children and no bathtub(it had a ramp into the shower area) was very inconvenient. Our bathroom was a wet mess!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of things to do in walking distance. Right on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vestal,N Y
Jul 19, 2011

wonderful experience

We had a beautiful room that's balcony had a wonderful side view of the ocean.The hotel management went out of their way to locate a wheel chair for some friends that were with us. And my daughter-in-law is 7 1/2 months pregnant and the hotel management gave us an extra parking lot pass for their family. Would highly recommend this motel to anyone.It had a delicious restraunt for lunch and breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pennsylvania
Jun 27, 2011

average hotel

the hotel had a great location at 24th street for a family with children. the room was a little tightly spaced for a family of 6. the bathroom was very small for a suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lancaster, PA
Jun 6, 2011

Great location, room and bathroom small

Great location to enjoy the beach and boardwalk. Needed more drawer space in room and counter space in bathroom. Food at restaurant was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food very good and restaurant, especially breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sharpsburg, MD
May 23, 2011

Great view, great restaurant, ok hotel

We were in Ocean City for the weekend and wanted to get into our room to relaxand prepare for the evening's activities. When we got to the room and opened the door the beds weren't made and there was stuff from the previousguest, thinking that there was still someone staying there, we went downstairs to inform the front desk. We were then assigned a different room which was even more so occupied and returned to the previous room whereby it took three attempts to get the room cleaned. The staff was nice butif there's a do not disturb sign on the people will respect your privacy in so much that the room might remain a mess. Regardless, the oceanfront view is great, the room is decent and the Satellite restaurant attached has great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to give the Satellite a try. The food is really great despite what you might think about the rundown appearance. Great portions, good prices, a must try if staying at this hotel or nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Aug 24, 2010

Definitely third-rate

location was great - everything else was a disappointment. Very small room for 3 adults, noisy, dripping air conditioner, pool was closed most of the time we were there, could not reach light switch over bathroom sink, no shower curtain when we arrived, room keys often did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top