$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

3 stars
View map of 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
171 reviews
BEST VALENTINE EVER!!

It was the perfect place to get a away for the weekend. We LOVED IT!! next time we'll bring the kids. See full review

  • Breuklyn
  • Apr 17, 2015
Anniversary

My wife and I really enjoyed ourselves in Ocean City.It was the off season so a lot of the stores... See full review

  • Brandon H.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Full-feature hotel on the beach in Ocean City

Holiday Inn Ocean City is a large hotel on the beach, a short drive from 20 area golf courses and the wild ponies of Assateague Island. Features include a large beachfront pool and the Original Pool Bar, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and sauna. Sterling Raw Bar and Grill and Reflections are two onsite dining options serving gourmet and local specialties. Game room/video arcade serves young guests. Facilities for business travelers include business center and more than 6,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Indoor and outdoor swimming pools
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Fitness center, sauna, and tanning bed
  • All rooms have kitchenettes
Rooms

All rooms include kitchenettes equipped with full-size refrigerator and oven, microwave, dishwasher, coffeemaker, toaster, plates, glassware, and silverware. Each room has double-glazed windows that open, private balcony, king-size or two double beds, and double-size pull sleeper sofa. Standard amenities also include free high-speed Internet access, cable television with HBO and Disney Channel, DVD/VCR player, free local calls, and free newspaper. Non-smoking rooms, room service, and cribs are available.

Features

Holiday Inn Ocean City appeals to vacationers with its convenient beachfront location, a concierge desk, indoor and outdoor pools, hot tubs, fitness center, sauna, and tanning bed. An outdoor pool bar complements an indoor lounge and fine dining at Reflections restaurant. Sterling Raw Bar and Grill offers more dining options with a lounge atmosphere.

 

For business travelers, the Holiday Inn features a computer-equipped business center, staff meeting planners, and six meeting rooms totaling more than 6,000 square feet.

 

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and daily newspaper are free.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (138 mi/222.1 km)
  • Reagan Washington National Airport (150 mi/241.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (5 mi/8.1 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with over 6,000 square feet of space
  • Meeting planners on staff
  • Audiovisual equipment available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board

Dining

POOL BAR AND GRILL
The Original Underwater Pool Bar and Grill Summer Season Only Crusin to Sunfest
Touch of Italy
Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800s. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes pass

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 171
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 10, 2010

Moldy smelly stank!!!

Run down room and hotel floor. Lobby is immaculate though, but rest of hotel that I saw was scummy. Indoor pool and sauna not well maintained. Room was very smelly and seemed moldy. Great location next to beach but this place looks great on outside and suckls on the inside. Would not recommend. We were on first floor, maybe other higher floors are nicer and newer??? We were not allowed to find out! We will NEVER be back to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pzk95
Business
MD
Nov 23, 2012

Just So So ...

Below average! unpleasant smells in the hall and common area. For some reason, order didn't get through to hotel and had to pay 60% higher for hotel fee. The issue was solved after the trip by contacting with CSR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OC Fan
Business
Owings Mills, MD
Mar 21, 2010

Holiday Inn - 6600 Coastal Hwy

Double beds were well-worn with no support whatsoever, so sleep was very difficult. Room was extremely small but the balcony and ocean view was perfect. Specifically asked the staff to not clean room during our 2-day stay and left a do-not-disturb card on the door but they came in anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to boardwalk area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
have kids will travel
Business
Washington DC
Apr 22, 2011

non smoking is a crock

As I arrived at the hotel and they checked us in we were very upset that we were assighned a SMOKING room when I paid more on the [...]site for a NON smoking room. They said the hotel was full and when booking thru [...]we only get left over rooms ours was smokey smelling and even though we opened the The window and asked for an O_ZONE machine it had a terrible odor. The duvet was very cigarette smelling. Also the free fruit was always gone in the morning. We were locked out of our room several times with a lock malfuntion and the dead bolt was broken. the hotel was rather shabby but the staff was very nice. I WILL LOOK FOR ANOTHER HOTEL NEXT TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Two restaurants that are FAB- Tequila Monkingbird and Fishtails. Lots of good food and fun for everyone especially Fishtails.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pamela King
Business
Roanoke, Va
Dec 31, 2011

Christmas vacation

Very nice, I would go again I like the resturan, pool, and excerise area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Outlet shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tariq Syed
Business
Cockeysville, MD
May 8, 2012

Good trip

It was average. I will still go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reflection rest. at the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trip for 4
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 27, 2012

Family Trip

The hotel was in a fantastic location,off the boardwalk, and really quiet. The room was very nice and clean, and the garden view was beautiful. There were a lot of things to do in the hotel and surrounding area. For the most part the staff was friendly. The maids were the best. However,when it came time to check out,we were very rushed by the staff...getting 2 phone calls and a knock at the door. Which I think was uncalled for. All in all,it was a great stay,except right up at the end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corning, NY
Jun 29, 2011

Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The kitchenette could have included a few more items. Breakfast was very good at the hotel restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The outlet malls in Delaware were a close drive and a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jun 26, 2010

Very friendly staff

The hotel was not as nice as I was expecting aesthetically. The carpet was stained all in the halls. It looks like the hotel hasn't been updated in a while. There were flys EVERYWHERE!!! They assured me it was just "that time of year". Not sure when June became fly season. On the flip side, the staff was super nice, and accomodating. The ammenities were nice and it was in a great location. The beds were one thing that have been updated...SUPER COMFY, and the little kitchenette area was nice to have for breakfasts and lunches. The kids enjoyed having access to both an indoor and outdoor pool. It would have been much more enjoyable without the fly problem. It is fine for a beach hotel. I wouldn't stay there if I was going to a wedding or anywhere other than the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kensington, MD
Aug 16, 2010

Nice stay. Depends on your priorities.

Not the cheapest for the location, but we'd probably stay again. Staff was friendly, parking easy and being 40 blocks north of the boardwalk was very manageable with plenty nearby. Aspects of a hotel mean different things to different people. Some people pick apart everything, others are just happy to be on vacation at a decent place. So without editorializing too much, here are some things of note in no particular order. Except for a few rooms at the end of the L-shaped building, oceanfront rooms are set back relatively far and overlook the landscaped tennis court/pool/bar/grill area. On the 3rd floor we could see just above the treeline and crashing waves, but no sand -- anything below the 3rd floor will disappoint. This area though is nicely landscaped and has a small resort feel. The pool becomes densely crowded (due in part because of the pool bar at one end), but unlike most hotel pools in the area, the surrounding trees and its irregular shape make it much nicer than the typical, exposed rectangle surrounded by cement, which seems to be the norm. There's a nice, separated hammock area, and the adjacent outdoor restaurant/bar/grill had enough to satisfy most. And despite full capacity, the tennis court was not always in use. The room was nice, but not dramatically so. The entrance kitchenettes have tables that bottleneck the space. If you're sporting a 40+ inch waistline, you may honestly have to turn sideways to get to the main room (we had to do this with our suitcase). No big deal, but one at a time in the kitchen area. Appliances were fine and covered all of the bases. Small, clean bathroom. A simple mattress pad made the bed surprisingly comfortable and is something every hotel should use. They also give you firm and soft pillows -- another bonus. There was a small drip from the ceiling right above the wall's online port (likely from the AC), but an occasional sop with a towel at the ceiling tile cured that. This may cause some people to ask for another room, but was it really a big deal? No. And if you must have new, spotless deck furniture, then you won't be happy. Did the two chairs and table function fine? Of course. The exercise room is obligatory, but it is there. Same for the arcade, though with enough quarters there's still plenty to occupy the kids for a good while. There's also a coffee maker and such in the arcade, but the hot chocolate packets were there just one day out of six and the coffee is, well, hotel coffee. And though there's no free basic breakfast of any kind, there is a somewhat irregularly stocked bowl of fruit at the front desk with apples, bananas and oranges. A good thing. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant and, other than for the complete convenience of not stepping outside or not wanting to have any number of places deliver to your room, I can't imagine many guests do. Menu seemed expensive and unremarkable given all that's close by. If you want a nice place with the kids that's not too far from the boardwalk yet close to plenty, you're good. If you want and need a decent pool AND close access to the ocean -- like my kids do -- it works. If you want to drink by and IN the pool all day in a better-than-average, non-frat house setting, you're golden. Just keep in mind that if you're there during peak season and paying peak rates, the cost of the rooms does not suddenly elevate the hotel to 4-star status. In other words, have reasonable expectations and the place will make you happy. There are a lot of trade-offs when it comes to location and amenities, and this hotel struck a pretty good balance for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I was surprised that parking wasn't too bad near the boardwalk being August, but the time at the lights may irritate you. Plus, you can pick within a couple blocks of WHERE on the boardwalk you want to go by driving there. Being on the boardwalk at 23rd St. means nothing if you want to go to the amusement park end, and the boardwalk trolley is more expensive than paid parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top