$177 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

3 stars
6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
228 reviews
Better than expected

I enjoyed my 2 night stay. The ocean facing balcony presented an absolutely beautiful view. Rooms... See full review

  • karp2900
  • Jun 3, 2014
Can't wait to go again...

It was GREAT...above our expectations...They are remodeling the restaurant so we could not use that... See full review

  • Salebe
  • May 22, 2014
Full-feature hotel on the beach in Ocean City

Holiday Inn Ocean City is a large hotel on the beach, a short drive from 20 area golf courses and the wild ponies of Assateague Island. Features include a large beachfront pool and the Original Pool Bar, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and sauna. Sterling Raw Bar and Grill and Reflections are two onsite dining options serving gourmet and local specialties. Game room/video arcade serves young guests. Facilities for business travelers include business center and more than 6,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Indoor and outdoor swimming pools
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Fitness center, sauna, and tanning bed
  • All rooms have kitchenettes
Rooms

All rooms include kitchenettes equipped with full-size refrigerator and oven, microwave, dishwasher, coffeemaker, toaster, plates, glassware, and silverware. Each room has double-glazed windows that open, private balcony, king-size or two double beds, and double-size pull sleeper sofa. Standard amenities also include free high-speed Internet access, cable television with HBO and Disney Channel, DVD/VCR player, free local calls, and free newspaper. Non-smoking rooms, room service, and cribs are available.

Features

Holiday Inn Ocean City appeals to vacationers with its convenient beachfront location, a concierge desk, indoor and outdoor pools, hot tubs, fitness center, sauna, and tanning bed. An outdoor pool bar complements an indoor lounge and fine dining at Reflections restaurant. Sterling Raw Bar and Grill offers more dining options with a lounge atmosphere.

 

For business travelers, the Holiday Inn features a computer-equipped business center, staff meeting planners, and six meeting rooms totaling more than 6,000 square feet.

 

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and daily newspaper are free.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (138 mi/222.1 km)
  • Reagan Washington National Airport (150 mi/241.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (5 mi/8.1 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with over 6,000 square feet of space
  • Meeting planners on staff
  • Audiovisual equipment available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Safe
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.3882 -75.0652
Nearby airports
Salisbury - Ocean City - Wicomico Regional, (SBY), 30.00, MI, W;
Area description
Resort, resort

Dining

POOL BAR AND GRILL
The Original Underwater Pool Bar and Grill Summer Season Only Crusin to Sunfest
Touch of Italy
Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800s. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes pass
Brick House Pub
Food, Spirits, and Fun, several tv's to watch the game, raw bar for fresh seafood and made to order soup.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seaford's Finest
Seaford, NY
May 29, 2010

Ocean City Holiday Inn

The only problems I experienced was that the cleaning lady did not clean the room for two days and the pool was not open until the last day of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Sushi restaurant called Sakuri.

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boho
DC
Mar 16, 2011

=/

the room was clean, the view was nice, and the staff was friendly. But the gym was closed and many other things that were advertised on the website were not available for use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

seafood

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 20, 2011

Location

I stayed at the Holiday Inn when working an event at the Ocean City Convention Center. The location was convenient...close to the Convention Center and right on the beach. I could see the ocean even though I had a "garden view" of the parking area. Unfortunately the hotel is currently undergoing renovations so some guest amenities were not available. The room I stayed in has obviously not yet been renovated...old fixtures, dated kitchen/bathroom, closet doors that did not open, old mattress. But the room was clean, and hotel staff was helpful. Would stay again once the renovations are complete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located right on the beach

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becky 3001
Germantown, MD
Jun 6, 2011

I had a great time

I had a great time with my man. We needed time alone and away and we found the great hotel for it.The staffs in the hotel were friendly. I really like the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ocmdvisitor
Pennsylvannia
Nov 10, 2010

Okay

The overall stay was alright. Bed was nice and view was great. Bathroom could be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becky 3001
Germantown, MD
Jun 6, 2011

I had a great time

I had a great time with my man. We needed time alone and away and we found the great hotel for it.The staffs in the hotel were friendly. I really like the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kensington, MD
Aug 16, 2010

Nice stay. Depends on your priorities.

Not the cheapest for the location, but we'd probably stay again. Staff was friendly, parking easy and being 40 blocks north of the boardwalk was very manageable with plenty nearby. Aspects of a hotel mean different things to different people. Some people pick apart everything, others are just happy to be on vacation at a decent place. So without editorializing too much, here are some things of note in no particular order. Except for a few rooms at the end of the L-shaped building, oceanfront rooms are set back relatively far and overlook the landscaped tennis court/pool/bar/grill area. On the 3rd floor we could see just above the treeline and crashing waves, but no sand -- anything below the 3rd floor will disappoint. This area though is nicely landscaped and has a small resort feel. The pool becomes densely crowded (due in part because of the pool bar at one end), but unlike most hotel pools in the area, the surrounding trees and its irregular shape make it much nicer than the typical, exposed rectangle surrounded by cement, which seems to be the norm. There's a nice, separated hammock area, and the adjacent outdoor restaurant/bar/grill had enough to satisfy most. And despite full capacity, the tennis court was not always in use. The room was nice, but not dramatically so. The entrance kitchenettes have tables that bottleneck the space. If you're sporting a 40+ inch waistline, you may honestly have to turn sideways to get to the main room (we had to do this with our suitcase). No big deal, but one at a time in the kitchen area. Appliances were fine and covered all of the bases. Small, clean bathroom. A simple mattress pad made the bed surprisingly comfortable and is something every hotel should use. They also give you firm and soft pillows -- another bonus. There was a small drip from the ceiling right above the wall's online port (likely from the AC), but an occasional sop with a towel at the ceiling tile cured that. This may cause some people to ask for another room, but was it really a big deal? No. And if you must have new, spotless deck furniture, then you won't be happy. Did the two chairs and table function fine? Of course. The exercise room is obligatory, but it is there. Same for the arcade, though with enough quarters there's still plenty to occupy the kids for a good while. There's also a coffee maker and such in the arcade, but the hot chocolate packets were there just one day out of six and the coffee is, well, hotel coffee. And though there's no free basic breakfast of any kind, there is a somewhat irregularly stocked bowl of fruit at the front desk with apples, bananas and oranges. A good thing. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant and, other than for the complete convenience of not stepping outside or not wanting to have any number of places deliver to your room, I can't imagine many guests do. Menu seemed expensive and unremarkable given all that's close by. If you want a nice place with the kids that's not too far from the boardwalk yet close to plenty, you're good. If you want and need a decent pool AND close access to the ocean -- like my kids do -- it works. If you want to drink by and IN the pool all day in a better-than-average, non-frat house setting, you're golden. Just keep in mind that if you're there during peak season and paying peak rates, the cost of the rooms does not suddenly elevate the hotel to 4-star status. In other words, have reasonable expectations and the place will make you happy. There are a lot of trade-offs when it comes to location and amenities, and this hotel struck a pretty good balance for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I was surprised that parking wasn't too bad near the boardwalk being August, but the time at the lights may irritate you. Plus, you can pick within a couple blocks of WHERE on the boardwalk you want to go by driving there. Being on the boardwalk at 23rd St. means nothing if you want to go to the amusement park end, and the boardwalk trolley is more expensive than paid parking.

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jen and Tony
Annapolis, MD, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Perfect Stay

This Holiday Inn Express was a perfect place that met and exceeded our expectations. We will definitely stay at this hotel again when we visit Ocean City the next time. The staff was very helful in all respects and the room was very accomodating for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shevy
Elkton, Md
Dec 18, 2013

Pre-Honeymoon

Great location and the staff was so GREAT!!! I loved the room and the ocean view but I would and will stay at this hotel mainly because of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfax, VA
May 17, 2011

Great service, nice view

Excellent service! The room was a bit outdated, but the ocean view was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top