$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

3 stars
View map of 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boho
Business
DC
Mar 16, 2011

=/

the room was clean, the view was nice, and the staff was friendly. But the gym was closed and many other things that were advertised on the website were not available for use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

seafood

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kensington, MD
Aug 16, 2010

Nice stay. Depends on your priorities.

Not the cheapest for the location, but we'd probably stay again. Staff was friendly, parking easy and being 40 blocks north of the boardwalk was very manageable with plenty nearby. Aspects of a hotel mean different things to different people. Some people pick apart everything, others are just happy to be on vacation at a decent place. So without editorializing too much, here are some things of note in no particular order. Except for a few rooms at the end of the L-shaped building, oceanfront rooms are set back relatively far and overlook the landscaped tennis court/pool/bar/grill area. On the 3rd floor we could see just above the treeline and crashing waves, but no sand -- anything below the 3rd floor will disappoint. This area though is nicely landscaped and has a small resort feel. The pool becomes densely crowded (due in part because of the pool bar at one end), but unlike most hotel pools in the area, the surrounding trees and its irregular shape make it much nicer than the typical, exposed rectangle surrounded by cement, which seems to be the norm. There's a nice, separated hammock area, and the adjacent outdoor restaurant/bar/grill had enough to satisfy most. And despite full capacity, the tennis court was not always in use. The room was nice, but not dramatically so. The entrance kitchenettes have tables that bottleneck the space. If you're sporting a 40+ inch waistline, you may honestly have to turn sideways to get to the main room (we had to do this with our suitcase). No big deal, but one at a time in the kitchen area. Appliances were fine and covered all of the bases. Small, clean bathroom. A simple mattress pad made the bed surprisingly comfortable and is something every hotel should use. They also give you firm and soft pillows -- another bonus. There was a small drip from the ceiling right above the wall's online port (likely from the AC), but an occasional sop with a towel at the ceiling tile cured that. This may cause some people to ask for another room, but was it really a big deal? No. And if you must have new, spotless deck furniture, then you won't be happy. Did the two chairs and table function fine? Of course. The exercise room is obligatory, but it is there. Same for the arcade, though with enough quarters there's still plenty to occupy the kids for a good while. There's also a coffee maker and such in the arcade, but the hot chocolate packets were there just one day out of six and the coffee is, well, hotel coffee. And though there's no free basic breakfast of any kind, there is a somewhat irregularly stocked bowl of fruit at the front desk with apples, bananas and oranges. A good thing. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant and, other than for the complete convenience of not stepping outside or not wanting to have any number of places deliver to your room, I can't imagine many guests do. Menu seemed expensive and unremarkable given all that's close by. If you want a nice place with the kids that's not too far from the boardwalk yet close to plenty, you're good. If you want and need a decent pool AND close access to the ocean -- like my kids do -- it works. If you want to drink by and IN the pool all day in a better-than-average, non-frat house setting, you're golden. Just keep in mind that if you're there during peak season and paying peak rates, the cost of the rooms does not suddenly elevate the hotel to 4-star status. In other words, have reasonable expectations and the place will make you happy. There are a lot of trade-offs when it comes to location and amenities, and this hotel struck a pretty good balance for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I was surprised that parking wasn't too bad near the boardwalk being August, but the time at the lights may irritate you. Plus, you can pick within a couple blocks of WHERE on the boardwalk you want to go by driving there. Being on the boardwalk at 23rd St. means nothing if you want to go to the amusement park end, and the boardwalk trolley is more expensive than paid parking.

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the dish
Business
Sterling Heights, MI
Jul 11, 2010

Great location with a pool on the roof

We had a great time in D.C., but we found out later that we were sold tickets for the Hop On/Hop Off Bus for 48 hours. We thought that it included the boat tour, which when we finally arrived to the boat that our tickets did not include that. Not to mention that it was a 100 plus degrees that day. We had to spend another $49.00! The bus driver told us that the people at the hotels work on commission, that he should have sold us the family package. We could have bought the family pass that was $17.50 less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seed
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 23, 2010

Family Retreat

Overall OK facility. Out of date bathroom and room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Jersey
May 31, 2011

Holiday Inn 6600 Coastal Highway

Enjoyed the beach mostly. Pool was nice, filled with 21 year old kids at the pool bar. Don't have kids, but if we did, we wouldn't go there. Hotel Restaurant was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Sky Bar - across the street. FUN! Great bartenders!

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ocmdvisitor
Business
Pennsylvannia
Nov 10, 2010

Okay

The overall stay was alright. Bed was nice and view was great. Bathroom could be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kt302
Business
delaware
Nov 29, 2010

good offseason value

Single day getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Jun 1, 2010

not so good, not so bad

I had the oceanfront room but on the 2nd floor. It was close to the pool so it's kind of noisy and the view was not so great. The wireless signal was at to bottom, I had to get the network cable from the front desk to get the internet. The kitchen was very tight. the refrigerator' door is about 1/4" to the kitchen table when you swing open. The room was clean, bathroom was clean and everything else was good. If we've got the higher floor it may change a lot of things to the better. So, I say " not so good and not so bad"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annapolis, MD
Nov 13, 2010

Convenient & Comfortable

Easy check-in. Was disappointed that wireless Internet was not available in the room but I was able to get wireless in the main lobby. Enjoyed OC without the summer crowds. Walked the boardwalk twice and rented bikes in Fenwick Island and enjoyed a good long ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cottage Cafe at Bethany Beach was excellent. Good food, good service, casual atmosphere. Also enjoyed Dumsers in Ocean City. Dumsers has several locations.

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becky 3001
Business
Germantown, MD
Jun 6, 2011

I had a great time

I had a great time with my man. We needed time alone and away and we found the great hotel for it.The staffs in the hotel were friendly. I really like the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top