Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

3 stars
6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
155 reviews
Better than expected

I enjoyed my 2 night stay. The ocean facing balcony presented an absolutely beautiful view. Rooms... See full review

  • karp2900
  • Jun 3, 2014
Can't wait to go again...

It was GREAT...above our expectations...They are remodeling the restaurant so we could not use that... See full review

  • Salebe
  • May 22, 2014
Full-feature hotel on the beach in Ocean City

Holiday Inn Ocean City is a large hotel on the beach, a short drive from 20 area golf courses and the wild ponies of Assateague Island. Features include a large beachfront pool and the Original Pool Bar, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, and sauna. Sterling Raw Bar and Grill and Reflections are two onsite dining options serving gourmet and local specialties. Game room/video arcade serves young guests. Facilities for business travelers include business center and more than 6,000 square feet of meeting space.

Highlights
  • Indoor and outdoor swimming pools
  • Free Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access
  • Fitness center, sauna, and tanning bed
  • All rooms have kitchenettes
Rooms

All rooms include kitchenettes equipped with full-size refrigerator and oven, microwave, dishwasher, coffeemaker, toaster, plates, glassware, and silverware. Each room has double-glazed windows that open, private balcony, king-size or two double beds, and double-size pull sleeper sofa. Standard amenities also include free high-speed Internet access, cable television with HBO and Disney Channel, DVD/VCR player, free local calls, and free newspaper. Non-smoking rooms, room service, and cribs are available.

Features

Holiday Inn Ocean City appeals to vacationers with its convenient beachfront location, a concierge desk, indoor and outdoor pools, hot tubs, fitness center, sauna, and tanning bed. An outdoor pool bar complements an indoor lounge and fine dining at Reflections restaurant. Sterling Raw Bar and Grill offers more dining options with a lounge atmosphere.

 

For business travelers, the Holiday Inn features a computer-equipped business center, staff meeting planners, and six meeting rooms totaling more than 6,000 square feet.

 

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access and daily newspaper are free.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (138 mi/222.1 km)
  • Reagan Washington National Airport (150 mi/241.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (5 mi/8.1 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms with over 6,000 square feet of space
  • Meeting planners on staff
  • Audiovisual equipment available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Ironing board

Hotel Map

38.3882 -75.0652
Nearby airports
Salisbury - Ocean City - Wicomico Regional, (SBY), 30.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Dining

POOL BAR AND GRILL
The Original Underwater Pool Bar and Grill Summer Season Only Crusin to Sunfest
Touch of Italy
Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800s. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes pass
Brick House Pub
Food, Spirits, and Fun, several tv's to watch the game, raw bar for fresh seafood and made to order soup.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Claud12
New York, New York
Jun 22, 2011

Missing wallet from room

I have always enjoyed staying in Holiday Inn hotel chains; every time I have traveled, I received nothing but great customer service and always recommended the Holiday Inn to friends and family. However, after my last stay I am extremely displeased. During my stay my wallet was removed from room 119. Although the hotel provided a safe in my room, I was unable to use it because the door to the closet, in which the safe was located, was broken and restricted my access to the safe. Prior to my discovery of the broken closet door, I had already called maintenance to fix the broken balcony door and I did not feel the need to call again, so I kept my wallet in my gym bag, which was located on the luggage rack. In addition the Hotel Manager was rude, provided poor customer service and failed to conduct a reasonable investigation into my claim. Rather than apologize for providing me a room with broken doors or for the failure of the maintenance staff to repair these defects during my stay, he repeatedly stated that I should have called maintenance specifically to fix the broken closet door and that I should have used the safe. As stated earlier, I had placed one call for maintenance services and I was not aware that it was a guest's responsibility to 1) ensure the services are completed or 2) that a guest's request for maintenance services nullified the Holiday Inn's responsibility from providing me an adequate and secure room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
May 10, 2010

Moldy smelly stank!!!

Run down room and hotel floor. Lobby is immaculate though, but rest of hotel that I saw was scummy. Indoor pool and sauna not well maintained. Room was very smelly and seemed moldy. Great location next to beach but this place looks great on outside and suckls on the inside. Would not recommend. We were on first floor, maybe other higher floors are nicer and newer??? We were not allowed to find out! We will NEVER be back to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GARI
Ocean City, MD, USA
Dec 30, 2011

The price was right....the hotel was nothing great

This hotel was okay....not great. It was okay for our purpose to just "get away!" However, that being said, our room could have been better. The closet door came off the track upon opening, the mattresses were soft and lumpy and there was a leak in the bathroom behind the commode. Upon entering the room, there was an unpleasant smell. Other than that, the room was fine and served our purpose. The price was right and we enjoyed our 2 night get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to many shopping areas including the outlets in Delaware and O. C. MD.

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brittx1777
Allentown, PA
Mar 17, 2012

HAHAH!

The room was nice, minus it being really hot. Had to complain about people slamming their doors at like 2 in the morning. Too far from like everything. I must say, the staff were decent, a little bit snark, but oh well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pzk95
MD
Nov 23, 2012

Just So So ...

Below average! unpleasant smells in the hall and common area. For some reason, order didn't get through to hotel and had to pay 60% higher for hotel fee. The issue was solved after the trip by contacting with CSR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Julie and Brian
Middletown, DE
Jul 25, 2010

Not Worth the Money!!

Disappointing couple getaway...This hotel appears to have been built in the 70's with only a few upgrades (thankfully the bed was one). Pools were small and crowded/dirty, kitchen and bathroom were old and dirty, stains on carpet and furniture. The one TV was far away from the bed, and table in kitchen was in the way so we rearranged the whole room. One of the two restaurants onsite was closed, and no way to order movies in-room. Very few shady spots to relax outside, so we spent most time on balcony. If this had not been a no-refund hotel, we would have left and found somewhere better as soon as we arrived. This hotel is a resort wanna-be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are lots of yummy restaurants within a short drive of the hotel--Ristorante Antipasti is a fabulous Italian, Dead Freddie's fun and delicious American variety (swords and eye patches for kids!) Avoid JR's--the WORST ribs I have ever had in my life (tough, salty--blech)

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hunter K
Baltimore, MD
Aug 2, 2011

Not up to Holiday Inn standards

Our room turned out to be a handicap room which we did not intend on getting. In all fairness to the hotel it was listed [...] as a handicap room but we did not notice it. When we asked for a regular room the staff at the front desk was very abrupt and unyielding to do anything for us. The handicap room was next to the elevator and the hallway noise was constant and loud. The room was on the first floor and faced the tennis court with no view at all. We paid more money for this hotel because we thought it would be nice but it wasn't. The room was not up to Holiday Inn standards; it was run down and showed lots of wear including the mattress which slumped in the middle. Not could for $300 per night plus taxes. [...]Anyway, I won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YoungAmber
West VIrginia
Jun 23, 2010

Not the best.....

We booked this hotel because we thought it would be nice since we have stayed at a Holiday Inn in another city in the past and it was great. The staff were friendly but other than that it was a horrible hotel stay. We booked an oceanfront room but they put us on the 2nd level and all we could see was the tennis court. The room had a strong musty smell. The bathroom had a leaking ceiling which they fixed right away but then another leak started later in the bathroom and we could hear it all night long but could not figure out where it was coming from. There was another leak over by the couch which is where we kept our clothes and all our clothes got wet. It was very loud, as there was a group of college kids staying there but of course the hotel can't really help that. I could not sleep at night because the fridge in the room made a loud buzzing noise and the A/C would not stay on long enough to actually cool the room...so needless to say it was very hot in the room. There is not free wi-fi internet so be prepared to bring your own ethernet cable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You are a short distance to everything. Can walk to most locations but there is a short drive to the boardwalk.

Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love the Beach
NY
Oct 1, 2011

Average

To be fair, we were only there one night. The ocean view room actually overlooked a tennis court, a pool and then the dunes. The staff was OK, the grounds were OK, nothing terrible, but just average. The carpet in the room was wet. Everything in the room, including the bed felt damp. It was off season and beach chairs were not available for rent,. For the off season price, we probably could have done better. Will try another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn OCEAN CITY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OC Fan
Owings Mills, MD
Mar 21, 2010

Holiday Inn - 6600 Coastal Hwy

Double beds were well-worn with no support whatsoever, so sleep was very difficult. Room was extremely small but the balcony and ocean view was perfect. Specifically asked the staff to not clean room during our 2-day stay and left a do-not-disturb card on the door but they came in anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to boardwalk area.

Back to menu Return to top