$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Grand Hotel Ocean City

2 stars
View map of 2100 N Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
96 reviews
wonderful, wonderful wonderful

the view was perfect of the ocean. The desk clerks were very helpful.the room was of great size... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 27, 2011
Grand Hotel

The Grand has always been a top notch hotel. This is our 7th or 8th stay here. Always an excellent... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 27, 2010

Grand Hotel is a high-rise on the long, vibrant Ocean City boardwalk, just steps from the sand. Features include free Wi-Fi indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center, saunas, game room, salon with full beauty and spa services, meeting/banquet facilities, guest laundry facilities, and on-site shops. Grand Terrace restaurant on the sixth floor offers upscale dining and sweeping bay views. Lounge and 24-hour coffee house are also on site. Features available seasonally include a pizzeria, ice cream parlor, and the second-floor Pool Bar.

Rooms

All 251 guest rooms (including two suites) boast full or partial ocean views. Most rooms have two queen beds. Rooms on the top (12th) floor come with a king-size bed and Jacuzzi. Additional room features include balcony, cable television, free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, electronic safe, and wet bar. Nonsmoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available.

Property features

Grand Hotel takes advantage of its beachfront setting with ample ocean views and a seaside-holiday atmosphere. The 251-room hotel features indoor and outdoor pools, free Wi-Fi, a fitness center, full-service salon with spa services, meeting/banquet facilities, guest laundry facilities, and a jewelry store and other on site.

                   

Guests can dine in Grand Terrace restaurant, which offers sweeping bay views from the sixth floor. Java Beach Coffee House provides service 24 hours a day, and a pizzeria and ice cream parlor are open in season. Shipwreck Lounge offers pool tables and karaoke. Six-story garage provides plenty of parking.

Highlights

  • Indoor and outdoor swimming pools
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access
  • On-site restaurants, full-service salon, and shops
Nearby attractions
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Ocean City Convention Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (138 mi/222.1 km)
  • Reagan Washington National Airport (151 mi/243 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Ocean City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Grand Hotel Ocean City Rooms

Premier View/Unobstructed ocean views
Room with 2 Queen Beds include Refrigerator, Microwave, Wet Bars, Coffee Makers, Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Cable Television, Irons and full size ironing boards. Smoking or non-smoking by request and subject to availability. Every room is equipped with an electronic safe. A daily safe warranty fee of $1.50 plus tax will be posted to your account.
Grandview/ Limited or side ocean views
Room with 2 Queen Beds include Refrigerator, Microwave, Wet Bars, Coffee Makers, Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Cable Television, Irons and full size ironing boards. Smoking or non-smoking by request and subject to availability. Every room is equipped with an electronic safe. A daily safe warranty fee of $1.50 plus tax will be posted to your account.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Ocean City

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 96
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Martinsburg WV
May 5, 2011

Grande Hotel

we check out a number of restaurants and other food locatons such as donut shops, ice creme shops etc, Grnade Hotel, had the best donut, bagel, and danish, that I found, not necessary the best selecton but the best tasting The only thing missing was the bed was a little hard for me, but my fiance likes it that way. I would stay at Grande Hotel, everytime, they have everything, including great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We were looking for a late night dinner,and Grande hotel hook us up with "Harpoon Hannahs" we have been there three times.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eastern Shore
Sep 27, 2010

Grand Hotel

The Grand has always been a top notch hotel. This is our 7th or 8th stay here. Always an excellent stay. They overbooked and put us up at the Paradise Plaza (a serious dump) the 1st night. Seriously disappointed there. After that, back to the Grand, like going from 1 star to 5 star. Informed the Grand about our 1st night and they reduced our rate for that night. I will always pick the Grand as 1st choice. Close to our favorite buffets(Phillips & Embers), not far from the inlet area. An awesome place, friendly & helpful staff & excellent management. 5 Stars all the way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 excellent buffets (Phillips & Embers)

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 19, 2010

Bike Week 2010

Room was beautiful. Ocean View was gorgeous. Location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Loved all the places to get food and snacks...not just the typical vending machines.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomsweet999
Business
Hanover PA
Sep 19, 2010

not bad

It was a nice room with a decent view. Room was clean, bed was comfy. They need to put a sofa in the room. A free breakfast would be nice. It would have been a quiet room, but it was bike week, Which is not the hotels fault. They had a real nice pool, gym facilities were good also. All in all I would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvin OC
Business
Fort Loudon, PA
Sep 6, 2010

NOT SCARED OF EARL

Check in went very well, we could have accepted a room with a not so nice view if we wanted to check in before lunch. (we chose to wait till 4 pm check in which was worth it)The Spa was great for the one and only rainy day we had - Good prices and great service. The Pizza place below the hotel was not so good - but it is not part of the hotel or hotels managment. We plan to stay there again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Save 20% on Crab Cake Dinners at the Captain Gallery II on Thursdays - We love this place!

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 30, 2010

Grand Hotel, not too grand

Hotel was recommended by a family member who vacations there in the fall, and we had traveled during the last week of August--VERY different crowd experiences! Hotel didn't seem to be able to handle the capacity of people (check in was slow, they were out of ice cream flavors in the evenings in their coffee/ice cream shop/pools were crowded).Luckily, we were there for a golf vacation, so we didn't spend most daytime hours in the hotel. The main issue was that out of a 3 night stay, we were evacuated two consecutive nights due to a "fire emergency". They vacated the hotel, waited for fire & police to give the all clear, and eventually let us back in. Neither time was there an emergency and the people around us seemed to comment that this happened pretty regularly. One last comment on Room selection that was clarified to us after we checked in : Grand Ocean View rooms are possibly side view of the ocean, but below the 6th floor (so you are looking at hotels, buildings around you) the Premier Ocean View is anything above the 6th floor, but no guarantee of an ocean front view, could be a side view as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Power couple
Business
New Jersey/Philadephia
Aug 24, 2010

Nice place for price!

The location was great, right on the beach, plus the hotel offers shops that are located inside as well as a 24 hour cafe. Some of the staff, however wasn't as helpful as what I am use to while on vacation. The air conditioning unit was a bit noisy, and if the neighboring rooms shut their doors it felt like the bed was shaking. Overall the room and hotel was clean and tidy. The housekeeper was pleasant and the room was cleaned well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to call for a cab, there aren't any on the street. Fager's Island is a great place for dinner and nightlife.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Better Half
Business
Frederick, Md.
Aug 15, 2010

Nice place to stay for weekend getaway

Very good location. Room was clean. The carpet in the room needed to be re-stretched, it was bunched up in places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurant 1 block away.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 31, 2010

A great getaway

The S.O. and I went for a week vacation just prior to the summer busy season. The hotel was well kept for a beach hotel and quiet as well. The only downside we saw in the hotel was that the front desk staff seemed rather cold but being that we have been to Ocean City many times luckily we did not have to rely on their "services".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Castle, DE
Feb 22, 2010

rescheduled trip ok

The original date had to be rescheduled due to a medical emergency with my mother on top of the major snopw storms we were hit with back to back. I feel as though the manager could have been more compassionate and flexible under the situation. The night we were to arrive we were at my mother's side in an emergency room waiting for her to been seen for massive blood clots in her legs. We called the mamager and were told no way could we cancel! He basically told us we had to give him a reschedule date within this month to even be given a credit for 1/2 of our stay. I did make him aware that word of mouth travels and that I was considering rescheduling but if we haven't even stayed there and this was the treatment I definitely was not going to consider trying to reschedule and would make sure the review reflected how we were treated. We did manage to get there this past weekend and somewhat wish we had stayed elsewhere. The hotel was not in bad shape overall but our heating unit was unreasonable noisy when it came on and sounded like our room door slamming shut when it cut off! It also filled the room with cold air prior to heating up! There was work going on above us and the workers kept opening and closing the noisy sliding glass door. The beds were also very hard. We also asked about the costs associated with upgrading to an ocean view and the desk staff had no clue! It is unusual to find staff incapable of offering to upsell but oh well .... Did I mention every morning we got a 6:30am wake up call we did not schedule???!!!! It was a reschedule of our fourth wedding anniversary (we spend in Ocean City, MD)and as luck woud have it it fell near Valentine's Day. We have been searching for a hotel to call "our spot" to go with our night out always at Fager's Island Restaurant at sunset. Sad to say this will not be it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fager's Island Restarant at Sunset second floor dining room is impeccable!

Back to menu Return to top