$284 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Grand Hotel Ocean City

2 stars
2100 N Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
182 reviews
wonderful, wonderful wonderful

the view was perfect of the ocean. The desk clerks were very helpful.the room was of great size... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 27, 2011
wonderful, wonderful wonderful

the view was perfect of the ocean. The desk clerks were very helpful.the room was of great size... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 27, 2011
Large hotel with ample features on Ocean City boardwalk

Grand Hotel is a high-rise on the long, vibrant Ocean City boardwalk, just steps from the sand. Features include free Wi-Fi indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center, saunas, game room, salon with full beauty and spa services, meeting/banquet facilities, guest laundry facilities, and on-site shops. Grand Terrace restaurant on the sixth floor offers upscale dining and sweeping bay views. Lounge and 24-hour coffee house are also on site. Features available seasonally include a pizzeria, ice cream parlor, and the second-floor Pool Bar.

Highlights

  • Indoor and outdoor swimming pools
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access
  • On-site restaurants, full-service salon, and shops
Rooms

All 251 guest rooms (including two suites) boast full or partial ocean views. Most rooms have two queen beds. Rooms on the top (12th) floor come with a king-size bed and Jacuzzi. Additional room features include balcony, cable television, free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, electronic safe, and wet bar. Nonsmoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available.

Features

Grand Hotel takes advantage of its beachfront setting with ample ocean views and a seaside-holiday atmosphere. The 251-room hotel features indoor and outdoor pools, free Wi-Fi, a fitness center, full-service salon with spa services, meeting/banquet facilities, guest laundry facilities, and a jewelry store and other on site.

                   

Guests can dine in Grand Terrace restaurant, which offers sweeping bay views from the sixth floor. Java Beach Coffee House provides service 24 hours a day, and a pizzeria and ice cream parlor are open in season. Shipwreck Lounge offers pool tables and karaoke. Six-story garage provides plenty of parking.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (138 mi/222.1 km)
  • Reagan Washington National Airport (151 mi/243 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Ocean City Convention Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

Hotel Map

38.3504 -75.0766
Area served
Ocean City.
Nearby airports
Ocean City Airport (SBY).
Area description
Nearby Attractions : Atlantic Ocean and Ocean City Boardwalk, Numerous Restaurants/Lounges within Walking Distance, Trimper's Amusement Park and Interactive Arcade, Waterslides/Miniature Golf/Go Karts, 21 Area Golf Courses, Fishing and Charter Boats, Jet Skis/Parasailing, Ocean City Life Saving Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Ocean City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Grand Hotel Ocean City Rooms

Premier View/Unobstructed ocean views
Room with 2 Queen Beds include Refrigerator, Microwave, Wet Bars, Coffee Makers, Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Cable Television, Irons and full size ironing boards. Smoking or non-smoking by request and subject to availability. Every room is equipped with an electronic safe. A daily safe warranty fee of $1.50 plus tax will be posted to your account.
Grandview/ Limited or side ocean views
Room with 2 Queen Beds include Refrigerator, Microwave, Wet Bars, Coffee Makers, Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Cable Television, Irons and full size ironing boards. Smoking or non-smoking by request and subject to availability. Every room is equipped with an electronic safe. A daily safe warranty fee of $1.50 plus tax will be posted to your account.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Ocean City

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
Sep 11, 2009

stay home it cheaper...

did not enjoy the food in md

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Sep 1, 2009

Wasn't worth the money :(

On the plus side, the hotel has a nice location right on the boardwalk. Unfortunately, the inconveniences outweighed the convenient location. By far the biggest inconvenience was the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night 3 TIMES during a four night stay (twice in one night and all between midnight and 2 a.m.), causing a full evacuation of the hotel with no explanation of the cause and no offer of any compensation. One of the other guests told me that this also happened earlier that same week. It took three tries before I got a coffee maker that worked. The carafe lid on the first one was broken off and just sitting on the pot and the water reservoir had pink mold in it. The second one almost caused painful burns on my hands with its malfunction when steaming hot water was trapped in the basket. While there were two very cheap, uncomfortable chairs on the balcony (you know the kind), the absence of even a small table made it difficult to sit and enjoy your morning coffee while enjoying the view, something that you pay extra to be able to do. I had to have my room card key reprogrammed three times because it kept quitting, locking us out of the room. Luckily I travel with some Clorox scrubs because the bathtub was a bit grimy (had one of those textured bottoms and I don't think they scrub well enough - just spray it down and wipe it maybe? (The second day it looked like they missed the tub, although the rest of the room seemed OK.) The pizza shop downstairs was overpriced for the quality of the food but the coffee shop was nice. Don't know about the nicer restaurant upstairs or the pool bar as they were both closed every time I looked. The lounge was convenient but boring and HOT - the staff told me that the AC was broken the night second night we stopped in. We stopped in the night before but it was too hot and we left after a few minutes. The smoothie machine was also broken. Maintenance seems to be an issue. There was a plug broken off in one the outlets in our room, the exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work, the balcony door handle didn't lock (but it did have a bar to keep it secured), and I had to turn the little refrigerator on the highest setting to get anything cooled. The staff works hard to keep it clean, which is a challenge with a beachfront hotel. There were folks sweeping and vacuuming just about every time I passed through the lobby area/elevator area. Parking is convenient and seemed to be plentiful - the garage was never full during our stay but maybe the hotel wasn't either. Don't know. While I got a reasonable deal using Orbitz, it wasn't worth even the lower price (still over $200/night) and I can't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go off the boardwalk to eat. The food is much better AND less expensive. Worth a short drive, and there's a lot of eateries located nearby.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Sep 1, 2009

Wasn't worth the money :(

On the plus side, the hotel has a nice location right on the boardwalk. Unfortunately, the inconveniences outweighed the convenient location. By far the biggest inconvenience was the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night 3 TIMES during a four night stay (twice in one night and all between midnight and 2 a.m.), causing a full evacuation of the hotel with no explanation of the cause and no offer of any compensation. One of the other guests told me that this also happened earlier that same week. It took three tries before I got a coffee maker that worked. The carafe lid on the first one was broken off and just sitting on the pot and the water reservoir had pink mold in it. The second one almost caused painful burns on my hands with its malfunction when steaming hot water was trapped in the basket. While there were two very cheap, uncomfortable chairs on the balcony (you know the kind), the absence of even a small table made it difficult to sit and enjoy your morning coffee while enjoying the view, something that you pay extra to be able to do. I had to have my room card key reprogrammed three times because it kept quitting, locking us out of the room. Luckily I travel with some Clorox scrubs because the bathtub was a bit grimy (had one of those textured bottoms and I don't think they scrub well enough - just spray it down and wipe it maybe? (The second day it looked like they missed the tub, although the rest of the room seemed OK.) The pizza shop downstairs was overpriced for the quality of the food but the coffee shop was nice. Don't know about the nicer restaurant upstairs or the pool bar as they were both closed every time I looked. The lounge was convenient but boring and HOT - the staff told me that the AC was broken the night second night we stopped in. We stopped in the night before but it was too hot and we left after a few minutes. The smoothie machine was also broken. Maintenance seems to be an issue. There was a plug broken off in one the outlets in our room, the exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work, the balcony door handle didn't lock (but it did have a bar to keep it secured), and I had to turn the little refrigerator on the highest setting to get anything cooled. The staff works hard to keep it clean, which is a challenge with a beachfront hotel. There were folks sweeping and vacuuming just about every time I passed through the lobby area/elevator area. Parking is convenient and seemed to be plentiful - the garage was never full during our stay but maybe the hotel wasn't either. Don't know. While I got a reasonable deal using Orbitz, it wasn't worth even the lower price (still over $200/night) and I can't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go off the boardwalk to eat. The food is much better AND less expensive. Worth a short drive, and there's a lot of eateries located nearby.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seeking relaxation and simple pleasures
Newburgh, NY
Aug 30, 2009

Good, but could have been better

When we first arrived I had to remind them that I paid for an Oceanview room which they initially didn't give to us. Our new room only had a partial view of the Ocean (saw more of the sideview). I found it hard to sleep at night as the adjoining room had young children who constantly screamed and I could hear it through the access door that in between our room and the one after it. Someone set off the alarm 4 times during our stay (once the first night) and 3 times on the 3rd night, two within an hour of each other (01:00AM and 02:00AM). The fire department looked as annoyed as the hotel customers were. Other than that the hotel seemed nice for the most part. In was in a great location with regards to the beach, etc. The shoppes on the hotel premises was also a nice feature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Although they had some nice cafes within the hotel itself (we did not use the hotel restaurant) most nice dining places were within walking or short driving distance.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nazareth, PA
Aug 27, 2009

great location,walk to most everything

Awesome location- right on the beach. You can park the car and walk to almost everything. mini golf, restaurants, marinas are within blocks. The Ocean views are awesome, we saw many dolphins swimming by all week. The staff was very friendly and the rooms set up well. Getting some extra towels and an additional parking pass for my teenage son who was only coming for 2 nights was no problem. The only complaint was that there were 2 false fire alarms at 1:15 and then at 2:15 am, on the some night. What made it worse was the feedback buzz that continued all night from the emergency speakers in the room making it tough to sleep. We will be back again next year. The price is right for the location and quality of the hotel and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phillips crab house has the best buffet around and is only 1 block away. The quality of the food on the buffet makes it well worth it compared to most of the buffets in OC.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nazareth, PA
Aug 27, 2009

great location,walk to most everything

Awesome location- right on the beach. You can park the car and walk to almost everything. mini golf, restaurants, marinas are within blocks. The Ocean views are awesome, we saw many dolphins swimming by all week. The staff was very friendly and the rooms set up well. Getting some extra towels and an additional parking pass for my teenage son who was only coming for 2 nights was no problem. The only complaint was that there were 2 false fire alarms at 1:15 and then at 2:15 am, on the some night. What made it worse was the feedback buzz that continued all night from the emergency speakers in the room making it tough to sleep. We will be back again next year. The price is right for the location and quality of the hotel and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phillips crab house has the best buffet around and is only 1 block away. The quality of the food on the buffet makes it well worth it compared to most of the buffets in OC.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Swidowski Family
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 25, 2009

We didn't want to leave!

We had the best vacation ever. Awesome location. The hotel view from our "Premier View" room was beautiful. We could see the dolphins from our balcony in the morning! I would defiantly recommend this hotel for any family's looking for a safe and clean environment for you and your children's vacation. I'm totally satisfied. The Swidowski Family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beach, The Beach, The Beach

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Swidowski Family
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 25, 2009

We didn't want to leave!

We had the best vacation ever. Awesome location. The hotel view from our "Premier View" room was beautiful. We could see the dolphins from our balcony in the morning! I would defiantly recommend this hotel for any family's looking for a safe and clean environment for you and your children's vacation. I'm totally satisfied. The Swidowski Family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beach, The Beach, The Beach

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Aug 23, 2009

Great location clean and well run

Helpful courteous staff. Great location , clean rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boardwalk and Ocean. Plenty of free parking

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Aug 23, 2009

Great location clean and well run

Helpful courteous staff. Great location , clean rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boardwalk and Ocean. Plenty of free parking

Back to menu Return to top