$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Grand Hotel Ocean City

2 stars
View map of 2100 N Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Ocean City

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Sep 11, 2009

stay home it cheaper...

did not enjoy the food in md

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
York, PA
Sep 1, 2009

Wasn't worth the money :(

On the plus side, the hotel has a nice location right on the boardwalk. Unfortunately, the inconveniences outweighed the convenient location. By far the biggest inconvenience was the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night 3 TIMES during a four night stay (twice in one night and all between midnight and 2 a.m.), causing a full evacuation of the hotel with no explanation of the cause and no offer of any compensation. One of the other guests told me that this also happened earlier that same week. It took three tries before I got a coffee maker that worked. The carafe lid on the first one was broken off and just sitting on the pot and the water reservoir had pink mold in it. The second one almost caused painful burns on my hands with its malfunction when steaming hot water was trapped in the basket. While there were two very cheap, uncomfortable chairs on the balcony (you know the kind), the absence of even a small table made it difficult to sit and enjoy your morning coffee while enjoying the view, something that you pay extra to be able to do. I had to have my room card key reprogrammed three times because it kept quitting, locking us out of the room. Luckily I travel with some Clorox scrubs because the bathtub was a bit grimy (had one of those textured bottoms and I don't think they scrub well enough - just spray it down and wipe it maybe? (The second day it looked like they missed the tub, although the rest of the room seemed OK.) The pizza shop downstairs was overpriced for the quality of the food but the coffee shop was nice. Don't know about the nicer restaurant upstairs or the pool bar as they were both closed every time I looked. The lounge was convenient but boring and HOT - the staff told me that the AC was broken the night second night we stopped in. We stopped in the night before but it was too hot and we left after a few minutes. The smoothie machine was also broken. Maintenance seems to be an issue. There was a plug broken off in one the outlets in our room, the exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work, the balcony door handle didn't lock (but it did have a bar to keep it secured), and I had to turn the little refrigerator on the highest setting to get anything cooled. The staff works hard to keep it clean, which is a challenge with a beachfront hotel. There were folks sweeping and vacuuming just about every time I passed through the lobby area/elevator area. Parking is convenient and seemed to be plentiful - the garage was never full during our stay but maybe the hotel wasn't either. Don't know. While I got a reasonable deal using Orbitz, it wasn't worth even the lower price (still over $200/night) and I can't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go off the boardwalk to eat. The food is much better AND less expensive. Worth a short drive, and there's a lot of eateries located nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seeking relaxation and simple pleasures
Business
Newburgh, NY
Aug 30, 2009

Good, but could have been better

When we first arrived I had to remind them that I paid for an Oceanview room which they initially didn't give to us. Our new room only had a partial view of the Ocean (saw more of the sideview). I found it hard to sleep at night as the adjoining room had young children who constantly screamed and I could hear it through the access door that in between our room and the one after it. Someone set off the alarm 4 times during our stay (once the first night) and 3 times on the 3rd night, two within an hour of each other (01:00AM and 02:00AM). The fire department looked as annoyed as the hotel customers were. Other than that the hotel seemed nice for the most part. In was in a great location with regards to the beach, etc. The shoppes on the hotel premises was also a nice feature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Although they had some nice cafes within the hotel itself (we did not use the hotel restaurant) most nice dining places were within walking or short driving distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nazareth, PA
Aug 27, 2009

great location,walk to most everything

Awesome location- right on the beach. You can park the car and walk to almost everything. mini golf, restaurants, marinas are within blocks. The Ocean views are awesome, we saw many dolphins swimming by all week. The staff was very friendly and the rooms set up well. Getting some extra towels and an additional parking pass for my teenage son who was only coming for 2 nights was no problem. The only complaint was that there were 2 false fire alarms at 1:15 and then at 2:15 am, on the some night. What made it worse was the feedback buzz that continued all night from the emergency speakers in the room making it tough to sleep. We will be back again next year. The price is right for the location and quality of the hotel and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phillips crab house has the best buffet around and is only 1 block away. The quality of the food on the buffet makes it well worth it compared to most of the buffets in OC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Swidowski Family
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 25, 2009

We didn't want to leave!

We had the best vacation ever. Awesome location. The hotel view from our "Premier View" room was beautiful. We could see the dolphins from our balcony in the morning! I would defiantly recommend this hotel for any family's looking for a safe and clean environment for you and your children's vacation. I'm totally satisfied. The Swidowski Family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beach, The Beach, The Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Aug 23, 2009

Great location clean and well run

Helpful courteous staff. Great location , clean rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boardwalk and Ocean. Plenty of free parking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Surf Rat
Business
Johnstown Pa.
Aug 17, 2009

Pleasant Stay

Great long weekend stay...We were very please with what this hotel had to offer, the overall cleanliness and the staff...they had some plumbing problems at the hotel that they were working through when we arrived...they upgraded our room as compensation for any inconvenience it may have caused...great, great view of the ocean and Ocean City itself...my wife is very particular about hotels, especially when it comes to cleanliness, but she was very pleased...it's a bit pricey, and slightly worn in a few places, but we would absolutely return to this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best fine dining...Fager's Island (make reservations early!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 6, 2009

Grand Hotel Ocean City

Excellent location right on the beach and boardwalk. Stores and restaurants within the building. They kept the hotel extremely clean and do pay attention to detail. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
buckeyegame
Business
Ashland, OH
Jul 5, 2009

4th July stay

Excellent location, located closed to most of the boardwalk activity. Enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NurseTara
Business
WV
Jun 29, 2009

Too expensive for what you get...

The hotel promised ocean view and we had parking lot view. As soon as we checked in there was a LOUD party with LOTS of cursing in the next room and they REFUSED to move us even though they had vacancies. The sliding glass door was broke, wouldn't open all the way and you couldn't close it, two elevators were broke...long waits, and the ceiling fell in onto the floor in front of our door. There is no breakfast or coffee thats complimentary in the AM. Way too expensive for what you are promised and don't get. Good location to the boardwalk and beach is the only good thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Located on the boardwalk, good location, but a long walk to the carnival and if you like to go there you should drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top