$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Grand Hotel Ocean City

2 stars
2100 N Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
93 reviews
wonderful, wonderful wonderful

the view was perfect of the ocean. The desk clerks were very helpful.the room was of great size... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 27, 2011
Grand Hotel

The Grand has always been a top notch hotel. This is our 7th or 8th stay here. Always an excellent... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 27, 2010
Large hotel with ample features on Ocean City boardwalk

Grand Hotel is a high-rise on the long, vibrant Ocean City boardwalk, just steps from the sand. Features include free Wi-Fi indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center, saunas, game room, salon with full beauty and spa services, meeting/banquet facilities, guest laundry facilities, and on-site shops. Grand Terrace restaurant on the sixth floor offers upscale dining and sweeping bay views. Lounge and 24-hour coffee house are also on site. Features available seasonally include a pizzeria, ice cream parlor, and the second-floor Pool Bar.

Highlights

  • Indoor and outdoor swimming pools
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access
  • On-site restaurants, full-service salon, and shops
Rooms

All 251 guest rooms (including two suites) boast full or partial ocean views. Most rooms have two queen beds. Rooms on the top (12th) floor come with a king-size bed and Jacuzzi. Additional room features include balcony, cable television, free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, electronic safe, and wet bar. Nonsmoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available.

Features

Grand Hotel takes advantage of its beachfront setting with ample ocean views and a seaside-holiday atmosphere. The 251-room hotel features indoor and outdoor pools, free Wi-Fi, a fitness center, full-service salon with spa services, meeting/banquet facilities, guest laundry facilities, and a jewelry store and other on site.

                   

Guests can dine in Grand Terrace restaurant, which offers sweeping bay views from the sixth floor. Java Beach Coffee House provides service 24 hours a day, and a pizzeria and ice cream parlor are open in season. Shipwreck Lounge offers pool tables and karaoke. Six-story garage provides plenty of parking.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (138 mi/222.1 km)
  • Reagan Washington National Airport (151 mi/243 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Ocean City Convention Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

Hotel Map

38.3504 -75.0766
Area served
Ocean City.
Nearby airports
Ocean City Airport (SBY).
Area description
Nearby Attractions : Atlantic Ocean and Ocean City Boardwalk, Numerous Restaurants/Lounges within Walking Distance, Trimper's Amusement Park and Interactive Arcade, Waterslides/Miniature Golf/Go Karts, 21 Area Golf Courses, Fishing and Charter Boats, Jet Skis/Parasailing, Ocean City Life Saving Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Ocean City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Grand Hotel Ocean City Rooms

Premier View/Unobstructed ocean views
Room with 2 Queen Beds include Refrigerator, Microwave, Wet Bars, Coffee Makers, Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Cable Television, Irons and full size ironing boards. Smoking or non-smoking by request and subject to availability. Every room is equipped with an electronic safe. A daily safe warranty fee of $1.50 plus tax will be posted to your account.
Grandview/ Limited or side ocean views
Room with 2 Queen Beds include Refrigerator, Microwave, Wet Bars, Coffee Makers, Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Cable Television, Irons and full size ironing boards. Smoking or non-smoking by request and subject to availability. Every room is equipped with an electronic safe. A daily safe warranty fee of $1.50 plus tax will be posted to your account.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Ocean City

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DKumpf4
Pennsylvania
Jun 23, 2010

Rooms clean, great location

Our first room was ocean view, but the balcony was next to the huge air conditioner units which masked the ocean sounds; fortunately for us the lock on the patio door was broken so they gave us a room facing ocean front (room 1111)--beautiful view of the ocean. Room was clean, fixtures getting a bit old and worn but fine for us; very roomy with a microwave and small refrigerator, sink and cabinets for storage. Price we got was expensive for us but a deal compared to the regular price. I'd never pay the $300 per nite for this, but $200 was nice. BEWARE: The 'Grand Pizza' shop in the lower level is not associated with the hotel, and was horrible--my "Italian" sub consisted of one piece of minced bologna (for $7 bucks). No one there spoke English (or just the basics) so when I asked for a manager, everyone just shrugged. OC Food recommendations: The Fish Tale nearby has good sandwiches/fish tacos, fresh and reasonable. Best Mexican restaurant is a bit of a drive-in Selbyville Delaware (just over the border, about a 20 minute drive but well worth it: Cactus Cafe. Excellent meals! Get your pizza elsewhere on the boardwalk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cactus Cafe, Selbyville, Delaware - excellent mexican type food. Layton's restaurant on 16th?/highway for breakfast; the Grand Hotel coffee/bake shope, 24 hours, great bagels.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elkton, MD
Jun 7, 2010

Great Location for the OC Air Show

The OC air show was unbeleivable, fighter jets flying 200 yards off the beach, what a weekend. This hotel is in the flight area but 2 blocks from the main party so you don't have the crowds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza place at the hotel had excellent pizza, the cheese steaks weren't so good.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
May 31, 2010

A great getaway

The S.O. and I went for a week vacation just prior to the summer busy season. The hotel was well kept for a beach hotel and quiet as well. The only downside we saw in the hotel was that the front desk staff seemed rather cold but being that we have been to Ocean City many times luckily we did not have to rely on their "services".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ellicott City, Md.
May 24, 2010

Great parking for OC

Went to OC for a car show. They had great parking and I never had to worry about my car being damaged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SAD
Pittsburgh, PA
May 21, 2010

Would stay there again

The only complaint I really had was that the room didn't have a couch as I was told in the description. The bathroom was small but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brass Balls had excellent fish and chips!

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington, dc
Apr 4, 2010

ok

I stayed here several years ago and was really impressed, but the hotel is in desperate need of updating. my room had peeling wall paper. I won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Castle, DE
Feb 22, 2010

rescheduled trip ok

The original date had to be rescheduled due to a medical emergency with my mother on top of the major snopw storms we were hit with back to back. I feel as though the manager could have been more compassionate and flexible under the situation. The night we were to arrive we were at my mother's side in an emergency room waiting for her to been seen for massive blood clots in her legs. We called the mamager and were told no way could we cancel! He basically told us we had to give him a reschedule date within this month to even be given a credit for 1/2 of our stay. I did make him aware that word of mouth travels and that I was considering rescheduling but if we haven't even stayed there and this was the treatment I definitely was not going to consider trying to reschedule and would make sure the review reflected how we were treated. We did manage to get there this past weekend and somewhat wish we had stayed elsewhere. The hotel was not in bad shape overall but our heating unit was unreasonable noisy when it came on and sounded like our room door slamming shut when it cut off! It also filled the room with cold air prior to heating up! There was work going on above us and the workers kept opening and closing the noisy sliding glass door. The beds were also very hard. We also asked about the costs associated with upgrading to an ocean view and the desk staff had no clue! It is unusual to find staff incapable of offering to upsell but oh well .... Did I mention every morning we got a 6:30am wake up call we did not schedule???!!!! It was a reschedule of our fourth wedding anniversary (we spend in Ocean City, MD)and as luck woud have it it fell near Valentine's Day. We have been searching for a hotel to call "our spot" to go with our night out always at Fager's Island Restaurant at sunset. Sad to say this will not be it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fager's Island Restarant at Sunset second floor dining room is impeccable!

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDVisit
Philly
Jan 2, 2010

Very Comfortable Accomodations

Nice hotel with on-site amenities (even though it was off-season). The only problem for the hotel were the ignorant people on our floor who threw pizza on the floor and against the wall. I feel for hotel management as they have to clean up after inconsiderate pigs like that. Stay home, people, and mess up your own house (sty).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Jan 2, 2010

not bad

Check in was easy. The room was quite large and apportioned well. There was a kitchenette too. The bed was too hard for me. The bath was fine. The worst part was the noise. There was a loud runbling in the room, at all hours of the day and night, like someone was moving heavy things around above us, several times an hour, every hour. It woke us up. There was also quite a song from the pipes whenever anyone nearby was using the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bayonne, NJ
Dec 14, 2009

Great for a business stay.

My stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Coins.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search