$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Grand Hotel Ocean City

2 stars
2100 N Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
93 reviews
wonderful, wonderful wonderful

the view was perfect of the ocean. The desk clerks were very helpful.the room was of great size... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 27, 2011
Grand Hotel

The Grand has always been a top notch hotel. This is our 7th or 8th stay here. Always an excellent... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 27, 2010
Large hotel with ample features on Ocean City boardwalk

Grand Hotel is a high-rise on the long, vibrant Ocean City boardwalk, just steps from the sand. Features include free Wi-Fi indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center, saunas, game room, salon with full beauty and spa services, meeting/banquet facilities, guest laundry facilities, and on-site shops. Grand Terrace restaurant on the sixth floor offers upscale dining and sweeping bay views. Lounge and 24-hour coffee house are also on site. Features available seasonally include a pizzeria, ice cream parlor, and the second-floor Pool Bar.

Highlights

  • Indoor and outdoor swimming pools
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access
  • On-site restaurants, full-service salon, and shops
Rooms

All 251 guest rooms (including two suites) boast full or partial ocean views. Most rooms have two queen beds. Rooms on the top (12th) floor come with a king-size bed and Jacuzzi. Additional room features include balcony, cable television, free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, electronic safe, and wet bar. Nonsmoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available.

Features

Grand Hotel takes advantage of its beachfront setting with ample ocean views and a seaside-holiday atmosphere. The 251-room hotel features indoor and outdoor pools, free Wi-Fi, a fitness center, full-service salon with spa services, meeting/banquet facilities, guest laundry facilities, and a jewelry store and other on site.

                   

Guests can dine in Grand Terrace restaurant, which offers sweeping bay views from the sixth floor. Java Beach Coffee House provides service 24 hours a day, and a pizzeria and ice cream parlor are open in season. Shipwreck Lounge offers pool tables and karaoke. Six-story garage provides plenty of parking.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (138 mi/222.1 km)
  • Reagan Washington National Airport (151 mi/243 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Ocean City Convention Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

Hotel Map

38.3504 -75.0766
Area served
Ocean City.
Nearby airports
Ocean City Airport (SBY).
Area description
Nearby Attractions : Atlantic Ocean and Ocean City Boardwalk, Numerous Restaurants/Lounges within Walking Distance, Trimper's Amusement Park and Interactive Arcade, Waterslides/Miniature Golf/Go Karts, 21 Area Golf Courses, Fishing and Charter Boats, Jet Skis/Parasailing, Ocean City Life Saving Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Ocean City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Grand Hotel Ocean City Rooms

Premier View/Unobstructed ocean views
Room with 2 Queen Beds include Refrigerator, Microwave, Wet Bars, Coffee Makers, Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Cable Television, Irons and full size ironing boards. Smoking or non-smoking by request and subject to availability. Every room is equipped with an electronic safe. A daily safe warranty fee of $1.50 plus tax will be posted to your account.
Grandview/ Limited or side ocean views
Room with 2 Queen Beds include Refrigerator, Microwave, Wet Bars, Coffee Makers, Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Cable Television, Irons and full size ironing boards. Smoking or non-smoking by request and subject to availability. Every room is equipped with an electronic safe. A daily safe warranty fee of $1.50 plus tax will be posted to your account.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Ocean City

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomsweet999
Hanover PA
Sep 19, 2010

not bad

It was a nice room with a decent view. Room was clean, bed was comfy. They need to put a sofa in the room. A free breakfast would be nice. It would have been a quiet room, but it was bike week, Which is not the hotels fault. They had a real nice pool, gym facilities were good also. All in all I would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvin OC
Fort Loudon, PA
Sep 6, 2010

NOT SCARED OF EARL

Check in went very well, we could have accepted a room with a not so nice view if we wanted to check in before lunch. (we chose to wait till 4 pm check in which was worth it)The Spa was great for the one and only rainy day we had - Good prices and great service. The Pizza place below the hotel was not so good - but it is not part of the hotel or hotels managment. We plan to stay there again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Save 20% on Crab Cake Dinners at the Captain Gallery II on Thursdays - We love this place!

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 30, 2010

Grand Hotel, not too grand

Hotel was recommended by a family member who vacations there in the fall, and we had traveled during the last week of August--VERY different crowd experiences! Hotel didn't seem to be able to handle the capacity of people (check in was slow, they were out of ice cream flavors in the evenings in their coffee/ice cream shop/pools were crowded).Luckily, we were there for a golf vacation, so we didn't spend most daytime hours in the hotel. The main issue was that out of a 3 night stay, we were evacuated two consecutive nights due to a "fire emergency". They vacated the hotel, waited for fire & police to give the all clear, and eventually let us back in. Neither time was there an emergency and the people around us seemed to comment that this happened pretty regularly. One last comment on Room selection that was clarified to us after we checked in : Grand Ocean View rooms are possibly side view of the ocean, but below the 6th floor (so you are looking at hotels, buildings around you) the Premier Ocean View is anything above the 6th floor, but no guarantee of an ocean front view, could be a side view as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Aug 25, 2010

Nice, Clean Hotel

We stayed in this hotel mid-August 2010 and had the ocean view 2 queen bed room. PROS- I got to the hotel at noon (check in was at 400)and they said my room was ready and let me check in! I was SO HAPPY they let me in my room. Big brownie points! The room was a nice size (plenty of room for 4 of us and the kids to run around) and had a small kitchen area (no stove) with a mini fridge, micro, sink and cabinets to put your snacks in. The room was clean and the hotel was clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and gave us everything we asked for and quickly. (extra towels..coupons to restaurants, etc.) 24 hour cafe in the lobby for coffee, tea, donuts, sandwiches, everything. THIS WAS NICE! I have to tell you..I would go back just for this. The room was quiet..never heard a peep in the hallway. There was a conference room across from our room where they were on microphones a couple mornings..and we never heard a word in our room. We walked down to the pier every night and it wasn't a bad walk. It's 21 blocks though.. so keep that in mind. Lots to look at..and even worth it to walk it and then take the tram car back. All of the other travelers in the hotel were so friendly.. It was just a genuinely good crowd. The family enjoyed the large chess game and shuffle board. It was a bit of a pain though dropping off your license at the desk to get the shuffle board pieces. The balcony is all see-through bars from side to side. It's nice to have nothing blocking your view to the beach..but there's no privacy. The A/C was GREAT! CONS- Our second night the fire alarm went off around 9 or 10pm. Everyone had to evacuate the building while the fire dept came. Thankfully--we were not asleep yet. As we stood outside, we heard chatter from other guests how they had stayed there before and the smoke alarm has gone off quite frequently before on other visits (once 3 times in one night) Maybe the clue was the big sign in the room that says "if you burn something in the microwave, and the smoke alarm goes off, we will charge you $250." (this should've been the red flag that this happens alot) Next night--1am smoke alarm goes off AGAIN and everyone stumbles out of bed to get out of the building. You get back in bed and settle down and they come on a speaker to tell you no fire. LOL! If this was a random thing--I can understand that. But if this happens that often--what can I say? It's not fun pulling your kids out of bed and dragging them down steps in the middle of the night. Noone will really tell you what really happened either. Maybe a free cup of coffee in the morning from the cafe would've made me feel better :-) All in all, great hotel...would love to go back..but will definetly weigh my options if the smoke detectors are an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Power couple
New Jersey/Philadephia
Aug 24, 2010

Nice place for price!

The location was great, right on the beach, plus the hotel offers shops that are located inside as well as a 24 hour cafe. Some of the staff, however wasn't as helpful as what I am use to while on vacation. The air conditioning unit was a bit noisy, and if the neighboring rooms shut their doors it felt like the bed was shaking. Overall the room and hotel was clean and tidy. The housekeeper was pleasant and the room was cleaned well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to call for a cab, there aren't any on the street. Fager's Island is a great place for dinner and nightlife.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valley Stream, NY
Aug 20, 2010

could have been better

we went there for a 4 day vacation. we love the hotel location because it is near the boardwalk. since it's a vacation, a good night sleep could have been better and with a softer pillow. it's not going to stop me from coming back but i would bring my own pillow next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

make sure to get a boardwalk map.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Better Half
Frederick, Md.
Aug 15, 2010

Nice place to stay for weekend getaway

Very good location. Room was clean. The carpet in the room needed to be re-stretched, it was bunched up in places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurant 1 block away.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 24, 2010

On the boardwalk and view of the ocean

We parked the car in the hotel's garage and did not move it for three days. Great location - right on the boardwalk and a view of the ocean. You could lie on the bed and watch the waves roll in. We played on the beach, used the indoor pool and morning bike rides and evening strolls on boardwalk. Only complaint (small) was the room was not cleaned until 4:00 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

They only take cash at many of the places on the boardwalk. Take cash or prepare to pay hefty atm fees.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern VA
Jul 21, 2010

What A Great Vacation

Location, location, location was Fabulous for our family, its on the boardwalk but far enough away from downtown that you dont get all the noise. its close to 2 putput coarses and the jolly roger amusement park and Phillips and Embers resteraunts off boardwalk. A great find was the Terrace resteraunt on the 6th floor for breakfast, great food at reasonable price. All of the staff was super helpful. on our last day when we checked out the front desk said if we planned on spending the day we were welcome to use all of the facilities that guests could. so we stayed on the beach until 5pm our last day. The Hotel really is a great place to spend your vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Would definitely recommend taking the trolly up and down the boardwalk if you just want to go to the rides at the inlet.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Jun 30, 2010

good time

very nice accomodation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search