$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Grand Hotel Ocean City

2 stars
View map of 2100 N Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Ocean City

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tomsweet999
Couples
Hanover PA
Sep 19, 2010

not bad

It was a nice room with a decent view. Room was clean, bed was comfy. They need to put a sofa in the room. A free breakfast would be nice. It would have been a quiet room, but it was bike week, Which is not the hotels fault. They had a real nice pool, gym facilities were good also. All in all I would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvin OC
Couples
Fort Loudon, PA
Sep 6, 2010

NOT SCARED OF EARL

Check in went very well, we could have accepted a room with a not so nice view if we wanted to check in before lunch. (we chose to wait till 4 pm check in which was worth it)The Spa was great for the one and only rainy day we had - Good prices and great service. The Pizza place below the hotel was not so good - but it is not part of the hotel or hotels managment. We plan to stay there again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Save 20% on Crab Cake Dinners at the Captain Gallery II on Thursdays - We love this place!

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 30, 2010

Grand Hotel, not too grand

Hotel was recommended by a family member who vacations there in the fall, and we had traveled during the last week of August--VERY different crowd experiences! Hotel didn't seem to be able to handle the capacity of people (check in was slow, they were out of ice cream flavors in the evenings in their coffee/ice cream shop/pools were crowded).Luckily, we were there for a golf vacation, so we didn't spend most daytime hours in the hotel. The main issue was that out of a 3 night stay, we were evacuated two consecutive nights due to a "fire emergency". They vacated the hotel, waited for fire & police to give the all clear, and eventually let us back in. Neither time was there an emergency and the people around us seemed to comment that this happened pretty regularly. One last comment on Room selection that was clarified to us after we checked in : Grand Ocean View rooms are possibly side view of the ocean, but below the 6th floor (so you are looking at hotels, buildings around you) the Premier Ocean View is anything above the 6th floor, but no guarantee of an ocean front view, could be a side view as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Virginia
Aug 25, 2010

Nice, Clean Hotel

We stayed in this hotel mid-August 2010 and had the ocean view 2 queen bed room. PROS- I got to the hotel at noon (check in was at 400)and they said my room was ready and let me check in! I was SO HAPPY they let me in my room. Big brownie points! The room was a nice size (plenty of room for 4 of us and the kids to run around) and had a small kitchen area (no stove) with a mini fridge, micro, sink and cabinets to put your snacks in. The room was clean and the hotel was clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and gave us everything we asked for and quickly. (extra towels..coupons to restaurants, etc.) 24 hour cafe in the lobby for coffee, tea, donuts, sandwiches, everything. THIS WAS NICE! I have to tell you..I would go back just for this. The room was quiet..never heard a peep in the hallway. There was a conference room across from our room where they were on microphones a couple mornings..and we never heard a word in our room. We walked down to the pier every night and it wasn't a bad walk. It's 21 blocks though.. so keep that in mind. Lots to look at..and even worth it to walk it and then take the tram car back. All of the other travelers in the hotel were so friendly.. It was just a genuinely good crowd. The family enjoyed the large chess game and shuffle board. It was a bit of a pain though dropping off your license at the desk to get the shuffle board pieces. The balcony is all see-through bars from side to side. It's nice to have nothing blocking your view to the beach..but there's no privacy. The A/C was GREAT! CONS- Our second night the fire alarm went off around 9 or 10pm. Everyone had to evacuate the building while the fire dept came. Thankfully--we were not asleep yet. As we stood outside, we heard chatter from other guests how they had stayed there before and the smoke alarm has gone off quite frequently before on other visits (once 3 times in one night) Maybe the clue was the big sign in the room that says "if you burn something in the microwave, and the smoke alarm goes off, we will charge you $250." (this should've been the red flag that this happens alot) Next night--1am smoke alarm goes off AGAIN and everyone stumbles out of bed to get out of the building. You get back in bed and settle down and they come on a speaker to tell you no fire. LOL! If this was a random thing--I can understand that. But if this happens that often--what can I say? It's not fun pulling your kids out of bed and dragging them down steps in the middle of the night. Noone will really tell you what really happened either. Maybe a free cup of coffee in the morning from the cafe would've made me feel better :-) All in all, great hotel...would love to go back..but will definetly weigh my options if the smoke detectors are an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Power couple
Couples
New Jersey/Philadephia
Aug 24, 2010

Nice place for price!

The location was great, right on the beach, plus the hotel offers shops that are located inside as well as a 24 hour cafe. Some of the staff, however wasn't as helpful as what I am use to while on vacation. The air conditioning unit was a bit noisy, and if the neighboring rooms shut their doors it felt like the bed was shaking. Overall the room and hotel was clean and tidy. The housekeeper was pleasant and the room was cleaned well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to call for a cab, there aren't any on the street. Fager's Island is a great place for dinner and nightlife.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Valley Stream, NY
Aug 20, 2010

could have been better

we went there for a 4 day vacation. we love the hotel location because it is near the boardwalk. since it's a vacation, a good night sleep could have been better and with a softer pillow. it's not going to stop me from coming back but i would bring my own pillow next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

make sure to get a boardwalk map.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Better Half
Couples
Frederick, Md.
Aug 15, 2010

Nice place to stay for weekend getaway

Very good location. Room was clean. The carpet in the room needed to be re-stretched, it was bunched up in places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurant 1 block away.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago, IL
Jul 24, 2010

On the boardwalk and view of the ocean

We parked the car in the hotel's garage and did not move it for three days. Great location - right on the boardwalk and a view of the ocean. You could lie on the bed and watch the waves roll in. We played on the beach, used the indoor pool and morning bike rides and evening strolls on boardwalk. Only complaint (small) was the room was not cleaned until 4:00 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: In Hotel

They only take cash at many of the places on the boardwalk. Take cash or prepare to pay hefty atm fees.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Northern VA
Jul 21, 2010

What A Great Vacation

Location, location, location was Fabulous for our family, its on the boardwalk but far enough away from downtown that you dont get all the noise. its close to 2 putput coarses and the jolly roger amusement park and Phillips and Embers resteraunts off boardwalk. A great find was the Terrace resteraunt on the 6th floor for breakfast, great food at reasonable price. All of the staff was super helpful. on our last day when we checked out the front desk said if we planned on spending the day we were welcome to use all of the facilities that guests could. so we stayed on the beach until 5pm our last day. The Hotel really is a great place to spend your vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Would definitely recommend taking the trolly up and down the boardwalk if you just want to go to the rides at the inlet.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
PA
Jun 30, 2010

good time

very nice accomodation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top