$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

3 stars
10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
70 reviews
his is one place i will stay again at

the price was high but i enjoyed everything about it .yes i will return to his hotel. See full review

  • sonnyjr
  • Oct 11, 2011
Clarion Hotel

Hotel was really clean and the room was really nice. Would DEFINITELY get a room there again. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 14, 2011
Ocean City, Maryland, with numerous amenities

Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel has plenty to make guests comfortable, including large indoor and outdoor heated pools, fitness center, sauna, steam room, 24-hour business center, and a 40,000-square-foot conference center. The 250 rooms offer ocean views, private balconies, and free Wi-Fi. The non-smoking, AAA 3-Diamond hotel also offers 1-, 2-, and 3-bedroom oceanfront condos with full kitchens and balconies.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Spacious ocean-view rooms with balconies
  • Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools
  • 40,000 square feet of meeting space
Rooms

The hotel has 250 spacious, non-smoking rooms, including the two-floor cabana suites. All rooms feature ocean views, balconies, cable television, free Wi-Fi, free weekday newspaper, voicemail, sleeper sofa, individual air conditioning/heating, alarm clock/radio, safe, refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, and hairdryer. The Clarion also offers oceanfront condos with 1-3 bedrooms, balconies, and fully equipped kitchens. Pets are allowed (restrictions apply). Handicapped rooms are available.

Features

The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel has two oceanfront restaurants, a night club, 24-hour business center, and 16 meeting rooms totaling 40,000 square feet. The expansive, smoke-free property caters to active guests with indoor and outdoor heated pools, fitness center, whirlpool, sauna, and steam room.

 

Dining options at the resort include Horizons Oceanfront, serving three meals with a children's menu and buffet options. Breakers Pub and Raw Bar serves light fare until 11 p.m. Ocean Club night club presents live music and offers a spot for relaxing. Lenny's Beach Bar and Grill offers life entertainment during summer months.

 

Staff specialists assist with meeting planning and golf outings at 20 fine courses nearby. The Clarion also has laundry/valet services, elevators, valet parking (in season), and an on-site gift shop/newsstand and jewelry store.

Transportation
  • Salisbury-Ocean City Regional Airport (31.2 mi/50.2 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (139 mi/223.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Museum (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Business
  • 40,000-square-foot conference center with 16 rooms
  • 24-hour business center
  • Professional meeting staff
  • Audiovisual equipment available

Hotel Map

38.4132 -75.0579
Nearby airports
Salisbury-Wicomico Co. Arpt., (SBY), 35.00, MI, W; Ocean City Municipal Arpt, (OCE), 9.00, MI, SW; Baltimore / Wash. Intl Arpt, (BWI), 124.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, 101 St Cstl Hwy

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Restaurant
Lounge
Poolside snackbar
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sonnyjr
Calvert, Maryland, USA
Oct 11, 2011

his is one place i will stay again at

the price was high but i enjoyed everything about it .yes i will return to his hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Terribly Disappointed
Washington, DC
Jun 2, 2011

What a HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE !

As a child my family and I stayed at, what was then called, the Sheraton Fontainebleu. The hotel back then (early 80s) was beautiful and exceptionally clean considering its location on the beach. Now, unfortunately, the hotel looked as if it hadn't been updated since the 80s. It was as if everything around the hotel made it into the 2000s and the Clarion was stuck in a time warp. What a HORRIBLE experience! To be as specific as I can, the hallway carpets were dingy and looked as if they hadn't been replaced, shampooed, or even vacuumed in years; the hallway walls were filthy and hadn't been either repainted or re-papered in who-knows-how-long; and the room's only upgrade was the granite bathroom sink counter. That's just the beginning. The bathtub showed signs of an ill-attempt to eradicate the mildew that, I'm sure, at one point, overtook the tub entirely; the television was a Zenith (or something equally outdated) and looked like the TV I had as a child. At one point I was looking for the chord that connected the remote control to the television itself. Trying to hang my clothes in the closet was next to impossible with the sliding door off its track. Unbelievable! As for the staff, I arrived before the 4 PM check-in, having called earlier to see if I could do an early check-in. The operator I spoke with was very courteous and said that it wouldn't be a problem. However, when I arrived at the hotel, the front desk clerk was rude and brushed me aside telling me to come back later. I stayed calm and graciously left. Is this hotel related to the "Fontainebleu Miami Beach"? I certainly hope not. If it is, please do all of your unsuspecting guests a favor and remove it from your name. The Clarion Fontainebleu is a far cry from the same-named hotel in Miami. Needless to say, while we had reservations for two nights, we left after the first! I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The crabcakes at Waterman's restaurant just over the bridge are amazing! The waitstaff were extremely welcoming and courteous.

Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Terribly Disappointed
Washington, DC
Jun 2, 2011

What a HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE !

As a child my family and I stayed at, what was then called, the Sheraton Fontainebleu. The hotel back then (early 80s) was beautiful and exceptionally clean considering its location on the beach. Now, unfortunately, the hotel looked as if it hadn't been updated since the 80s. It was as if everything around the hotel made it into the 2000s and the Clarion was stuck in a time warp. What a HORRIBLE experience! To be as specific as I can, the hallway carpets were dingy and looked as if they hadn't been replaced, shampooed, or even vacuumed in years; the hallway walls were filthy and hadn't been either repainted or re-papered in who-knows-how-long; and the room's only upgrade was the granite bathroom sink counter. That's just the beginning. The bathtub showed signs of an ill-attempt to eradicate the mildew that, I'm sure, at one point, overtook the tub entirely; the television was a Zenith (or something equally outdated) and looked like the TV I had as a child. At one point I was looking for the chord that connected the remote control to the television itself. Trying to hang my clothes in the closet was next to impossible with the sliding door off its track. Unbelievable! As for the staff, I arrived before the 4 PM check-in, having called earlier to see if I could do an early check-in. The operator I spoke with was very courteous and said that it wouldn't be a problem. However, when I arrived at the hotel, the front desk clerk was rude and brushed me aside telling me to come back later. I stayed calm and graciously left. Is this hotel related to the "Fontainebleu Miami Beach"? I certainly hope not. If it is, please do all of your unsuspecting guests a favor and remove it from your name. The Clarion Fontainebleu is a far cry from the same-named hotel in Miami. Needless to say, while we had reservations for two nights, we left after the first! I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The crabcakes at Waterman's restaurant just over the bridge are amazing! The waitstaff were extremely welcoming and courteous.

Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BadhptelondBech
New york
Jul 8, 2012

Terrible and fithy

Good point, ocean front, bad point everythong else, sincerely do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Virginia
Aug 12, 2010

Not worth $350.00 + a night.

It is not a beach front hotel. Period. None of the rooms face the ocean. This is an ocean side view. You cannot advertise Ocean front. We were on the 16th floor of the hotel. The rooms are medium size. Again we paid $300 per night. The regular rates are $399.00 per room per night (full season) I guess. There are 3 elevators including freight. It was a joke amongst ALL clients how busy these elevators are in the morning between the staff, the check out guests, the guests trying to reach the beach or the breakfast buffet ($9.75 per person for made to order omelets and waffles). The chefs on the line are quite helpful and professional, the rest of the buffet offers the typical, sausage, ham, bacon, pancakes, fried processed potatoes, cream chipped beef..that was awful. You can toast your bagel and other breads and spread with a variety of toppings. The staff was either very nice or asleep at the counter. There are 2 pools. 1 inside, 1 outside. They are very small and get overcrowded very rapidly. We had to remagnetize our hotel keys 7 times. (not because of being close to electronic equipment). At one point we were just coming back from the beach, after hosing down the extra sand from our bodies, we rushed to our room dripping and cold only to be stuck once more with both keys not functioning. I go back down (16 floors) and about 10 minutes waiting for an elevator, to have the keys changed again at the front desk. I asked to speak to a manager to tell the problem and perhaps have it fixed. Well I waited another 15 minutes still dripping wet for a manager who never bothered to show up. I was cold so I decided to forget about it and go back upstairs to open the room for my family and go on. The manager is still a no show to date. The front desk is just ok about service. They are there as a job…. nothing more. We found most of the hotel room staff to be very friendly and polite. The rooms were made very efficiently and kept clean. The health rooms / SPA looked quite well equipped. We did not use them. On your way in or out, you are on your own to get a luggage carrier( if you can find one) and get your stuff while the concierge/ door bell guy/ parking enforcer/ looks on, just wondering what he is doing there. Be ready to pay extra for an umbrella $15 with tip, $5 for a plastic beach chair and so on. Why not charge an extra $50 and forget about all these little things. By the way it is a dog lover's dream hotel. There were dogs everywhere, small and large (golden retriever). All in all for the amount of dollars you spend, this hotel is a farce. The web site is deceiving so is the entire experience. I spent $1146 for 3 nights and 2 breakfasts and received only medium service. I will not recommend this place unless they were to charge for what they give you. I will put a value (compared to other places in O.C. at $175. 00 per night. Not more. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to post these comments. I hope you will send it to the hotel management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Virginia
Aug 12, 2010

Not worth $350.00 + a night.

It is not a beach front hotel. Period. None of the rooms face the ocean. This is an ocean side view. You cannot advertise Ocean front. We were on the 16th floor of the hotel. The rooms are medium size. Again we paid $300 per night. The regular rates are $399.00 per room per night (full season) I guess. There are 3 elevators including freight. It was a joke amongst ALL clients how busy these elevators are in the morning between the staff, the check out guests, the guests trying to reach the beach or the breakfast buffet ($9.75 per person for made to order omelets and waffles). The chefs on the line are quite helpful and professional, the rest of the buffet offers the typical, sausage, ham, bacon, pancakes, fried processed potatoes, cream chipped beef..that was awful. You can toast your bagel and other breads and spread with a variety of toppings. The staff was either very nice or asleep at the counter. There are 2 pools. 1 inside, 1 outside. They are very small and get overcrowded very rapidly. We had to remagnetize our hotel keys 7 times. (not because of being close to electronic equipment). At one point we were just coming back from the beach, after hosing down the extra sand from our bodies, we rushed to our room dripping and cold only to be stuck once more with both keys not functioning. I go back down (16 floors) and about 10 minutes waiting for an elevator, to have the keys changed again at the front desk. I asked to speak to a manager to tell the problem and perhaps have it fixed. Well I waited another 15 minutes still dripping wet for a manager who never bothered to show up. I was cold so I decided to forget about it and go back upstairs to open the room for my family and go on. The manager is still a no show to date. The front desk is just ok about service. They are there as a job…. nothing more. We found most of the hotel room staff to be very friendly and polite. The rooms were made very efficiently and kept clean. The health rooms / SPA looked quite well equipped. We did not use them. On your way in or out, you are on your own to get a luggage carrier( if you can find one) and get your stuff while the concierge/ door bell guy/ parking enforcer/ looks on, just wondering what he is doing there. Be ready to pay extra for an umbrella $15 with tip, $5 for a plastic beach chair and so on. Why not charge an extra $50 and forget about all these little things. By the way it is a dog lover's dream hotel. There were dogs everywhere, small and large (golden retriever). All in all for the amount of dollars you spend, this hotel is a farce. The web site is deceiving so is the entire experience. I spent $1146 for 3 nights and 2 breakfasts and received only medium service. I will not recommend this place unless they were to charge for what they give you. I will put a value (compared to other places in O.C. at $175. 00 per night. Not more. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to post these comments. I hope you will send it to the hotel management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Sep 16, 2010

not worth the $$$

None of the rooms of this hotel face the ocean. They have balconies facing away from the ocean that you have to go onto to see the ocean and that's what they call "ocean view"At check in, we had some confusion [...]- the front desk guy was rolling his eyes when I was explaining to him the issues as I understood it!Also ordered food at the restaurant downstairs that took forever to come to us and when it did come out, the pizza was burnt!! The waitress didn't think we needed to send it back either. Service was just plain lousy at this hotel. Very aggravating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tgrarose
Gaithersburg, MD
Jun 2, 2010

A Fair Room

My room had an adjoining door to the next room and the lock had a whole in it. So, the people next door could see through my room. The elevator were crowded because of the holiday. Balcony felt like you were going to fall from in. Not very spacious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tgrarose
Gaithersburg, MD
Jun 2, 2010

A Fair Room

My room had an adjoining door to the next room and the lock had a whole in it. So, the people next door could see through my room. The elevator were crowded because of the holiday. Balcony felt like you were going to fall from in. Not very spacious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Docyule
Business
Catonsville, MD
Sep 24, 2011

Business

I liked the gym area. The pool and dining areas were nice.I had a nice view of the Ocean. And the ocean was very accessable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockville, MD
Mar 22, 2010

Overpriced for off-season

While ocean view, it's very limited and cannot access the tiny balcony

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to hotel's beach

Back to menu Return to top