$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

3 stars
View map of 10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, Pa.
Jun 22, 2011

Weekend getaway

We had a last minute idea to get away to the ocean for the weekend and found availability at the Clarion Resort Fountainbleau Hotel (although it had no vacancy when we arrived). This is an older hotel, but it is clean, the rooms are fine with good beds and the staff is very friendly. We did not dine there, but did enjoy the tiki bar and outdoor band everyday. There is an outdoor and indoor pool but we enjoyed the wonderful beach behind this resort. There is beach chair and umbrella rental and also drink service on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good restaurants: Hooper's for hard shell crabs & Fager's Island for fine dining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Terribly Disappointed
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 2, 2011

What a HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE !

As a child my family and I stayed at, what was then called, the Sheraton Fontainebleu. The hotel back then (early 80s) was beautiful and exceptionally clean considering its location on the beach. Now, unfortunately, the hotel looked as if it hadn't been updated since the 80s. It was as if everything around the hotel made it into the 2000s and the Clarion was stuck in a time warp. What a HORRIBLE experience! To be as specific as I can, the hallway carpets were dingy and looked as if they hadn't been replaced, shampooed, or even vacuumed in years; the hallway walls were filthy and hadn't been either repainted or re-papered in who-knows-how-long; and the room's only upgrade was the granite bathroom sink counter. That's just the beginning. The bathtub showed signs of an ill-attempt to eradicate the mildew that, I'm sure, at one point, overtook the tub entirely; the television was a Zenith (or something equally outdated) and looked like the TV I had as a child. At one point I was looking for the chord that connected the remote control to the television itself. Trying to hang my clothes in the closet was next to impossible with the sliding door off its track. Unbelievable! As for the staff, I arrived before the 4 PM check-in, having called earlier to see if I could do an early check-in. The operator I spoke with was very courteous and said that it wouldn't be a problem. However, when I arrived at the hotel, the front desk clerk was rude and brushed me aside telling me to come back later. I stayed calm and graciously left. Is this hotel related to the "Fontainebleu Miami Beach"? I certainly hope not. If it is, please do all of your unsuspecting guests a favor and remove it from your name. The Clarion Fontainebleu is a far cry from the same-named hotel in Miami. Needless to say, while we had reservations for two nights, we left after the first! I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The crabcakes at Waterman's restaurant just over the bridge are amazing! The waitstaff were extremely welcoming and courteous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 14, 2011

Clarion Hotel

Hotel was really clean and the room was really nice. Would DEFINITELY get a room there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 27, 2010

Nice hotel in Ocean city, Md

It is a nice hotel, excellent location, clean spacious rooms, in general was a good experience. Dog friendly and perfect for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 16, 2010

not worth the $$$

None of the rooms of this hotel face the ocean. They have balconies facing away from the ocean that you have to go onto to see the ocean and that's what they call "ocean view"At check in, we had some confusion [...]- the front desk guy was rolling his eyes when I was explaining to him the issues as I understood it!Also ordered food at the restaurant downstairs that took forever to come to us and when it did come out, the pizza was burnt!! The waitress didn't think we needed to send it back either. Service was just plain lousy at this hotel. Very aggravating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dorothy M.
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 16, 2010

not worth the $$$

None of the rooms of this hotel face the ocean. They have balconies facing away from the ocean that you have to go onto to see the ocean and that's what they call "ocean view"At check in, we had some confusion [...]- the front desk guy was rolling his eyes when I was explaining to him the issues as I understood it!Also ordered food at the restaurant downstairs that took forever to come to us and when it did come out, the pizza was burnt!! The waitress didn't think we needed to send it back either. Service was just plain lousy at this hotel. Very aggravating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, DE
Aug 15, 2010

Super Good

Just relax .. It was Super GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the hotel was just GREAT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Virginia
Aug 12, 2010

Not worth $350.00 + a night.

It is not a beach front hotel. Period. None of the rooms face the ocean. This is an ocean side view. You cannot advertise Ocean front. We were on the 16th floor of the hotel. The rooms are medium size. Again we paid $300 per night. The regular rates are $399.00 per room per night (full season) I guess. There are 3 elevators including freight. It was a joke amongst ALL clients how busy these elevators are in the morning between the staff, the check out guests, the guests trying to reach the beach or the breakfast buffet ($9.75 per person for made to order omelets and waffles). The chefs on the line are quite helpful and professional, the rest of the buffet offers the typical, sausage, ham, bacon, pancakes, fried processed potatoes, cream chipped beef..that was awful. You can toast your bagel and other breads and spread with a variety of toppings. The staff was either very nice or asleep at the counter. There are 2 pools. 1 inside, 1 outside. They are very small and get overcrowded very rapidly. We had to remagnetize our hotel keys 7 times. (not because of being close to electronic equipment). At one point we were just coming back from the beach, after hosing down the extra sand from our bodies, we rushed to our room dripping and cold only to be stuck once more with both keys not functioning. I go back down (16 floors) and about 10 minutes waiting for an elevator, to have the keys changed again at the front desk. I asked to speak to a manager to tell the problem and perhaps have it fixed. Well I waited another 15 minutes still dripping wet for a manager who never bothered to show up. I was cold so I decided to forget about it and go back upstairs to open the room for my family and go on. The manager is still a no show to date. The front desk is just ok about service. They are there as a job…. nothing more. We found most of the hotel room staff to be very friendly and polite. The rooms were made very efficiently and kept clean. The health rooms / SPA looked quite well equipped. We did not use them. On your way in or out, you are on your own to get a luggage carrier( if you can find one) and get your stuff while the concierge/ door bell guy/ parking enforcer/ looks on, just wondering what he is doing there. Be ready to pay extra for an umbrella $15 with tip, $5 for a plastic beach chair and so on. Why not charge an extra $50 and forget about all these little things. By the way it is a dog lover's dream hotel. There were dogs everywhere, small and large (golden retriever). All in all for the amount of dollars you spend, this hotel is a farce. The web site is deceiving so is the entire experience. I spent $1146 for 3 nights and 2 breakfasts and received only medium service. I will not recommend this place unless they were to charge for what they give you. I will put a value (compared to other places in O.C. at $175. 00 per night. Not more. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to post these comments. I hope you will send it to the hotel management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Advance NC
Jul 17, 2010

convenient for meetings

I was there for a meeting with the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jresey
Jul 11, 2010

Very nice

Okay pLACE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top