$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

3 stars
11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
164 reviews
Great Stay

I choose to stay at Carousel often for business trips. They have great amenities and staff. Wifi is... See full review

  • Lynne0123
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great Family Destination

We stayed for 3 nights. We had an enjoyable experience. Loved the access to the beach and the 2... See full review

  • JKH329
  • Aug 25, 2014
Family-friendly high-rise on the beach in Ocean City, Maryland

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums, along the Ocean City beach, offers well-equipped rooms and suites and two- and three-bedroom condos. Amenities include heated indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center with sauna and whirlpool, outdoor tennis court, and even an indoor ice rink. For golfers, Carousel promises "16 courses within 16 miles." Features for young guests include a pirate ship playground, kiddie pool, and game room with pool tables and video arcade. Dining options include Seasons restaurant, Atrium Bistro, and an outdoor bar and grill.

Highlights
  • Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and atrium
  • Fitness center, sauna, and ice rink
  • Seasons restaurant with oceanfront dining
Rooms

Carousel offers 259 oceanfront (with sleeper sofa) and non-oceanfront rooms, all equipped with free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, and 96 deluxe two- and three-bedroom condominiums, with full kitchens, living rooms, and oceanfront balconies. (Condominiums require three-night minimum stay in season.) Handicapped rooms are available.

Features

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums provides families with a variety of choices to ensure a great beach vacation. Indoor and outdoor heated pools, fitness center, ice rink, and tennis court are some of the active recreation options. Guests can also just lounge on the palm-edged lawn area or the miles-long adjacent beach. Carousel caters to families with a playground, game room/video arcade, and kiddie pool.

 

Seasons restaurant offers oceanfront dining in an attractive space. Lighter fare is available at Outside Bar and Grill by the pool and at Atrium Bistro. An ice cream/candy shop serves sweet treats. Bamboo Lounge sports bar is a place to relax and have a drink.

 

Facilities for business travelers include conference and banquet rooms, including 12,000 square feet of meeting space. Room service is available. Wi-Fi is free in guest rooms and the atrium.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (140 mi/225.3 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (153 mi/246.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Museum (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Banquet staff and facilities
  • Rooms from 224 to 5,000 square feet
  • Ice rink can double as exhibit space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums Rooms

Direct Oceanfront
Hotel room with sleep sofa microwave, sink, mini fridge and coffeemaker. Outstanding Oceanfront View
Deluxe Standard Non-Oceanfront Room
Hotel room with microwave, sink, mini fridge and coffeemaker.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Seasons
Oceanfront Restaurant- featuring all you can eat crab legs and great prime rib. Season's offer's a variety of seafood and steaks dishes including the "jumbo lump crab cake", don't miss it!
Atrium Deli
Features Starbucks coffee as well a great danish, bagels, huge sandwiches, kosher hot dogs, and a whole lot more.
Ice Cream Shop
Ice Cream and Candy Shop- this says it all, great selection of both. Fresh cotton candy without going to the boards.
Patio Bar and Grill
Patio Bar & Grill in Summer- lounge on the patio or lawn and have the service come to you. Drinks, grilled burgers, tuna and great chicken sandwiches along with are new beach fries.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting Rooms - All beautifully redone in 2004. Plan your meetings, wedding receptions, lunches, dinners or any function were you want your own privacy. We can handle just about any size. Check us out for your next event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BCPD
Business
Maryland
Jul 6, 2009

DIRTY!!! Cust serv pretty miserable too!

Our first room had trash under the comforter, within the sheets. The room they moved us to had long hair on the sheets and pillowcases. This suggested to us that beds were remade and sheets were not changed! The second room also hadn't been vacuumed in who knows how long. At the pool bar our draft beers tasted funny so I went to the bartender and told her to which her reply was, and I quote, "So". I was absolutely appalled at this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone. The only saving grace was the front desk ladies who really tried to help on the super busy 4th of July weekend at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Greene Turtle was right across the street and a pretty decent sports bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
akron ohio
Sep 21, 2009

Very dissapointed

First of all the room I booked was supposed to have an ocean view all we saw was the roof and other hotel rooms (major disappointment!)Things that didn't work: the alarm clock,an electrocal outlet, a lamp and the iron. We had to call the front desk twice and waited an hour for the iron. This made us late for an engagement(big bummer). We had to go back down to the front desk twice to get our cards programmed to open our door.The water pressure in the shower was weak.The sink's water went from hot to cold. no warm or luke warm. On sunday morning we woke up at 10:50 because the alarm clock didn't work, so we informed the front desk and was told if we weren't out the room by 11:30 we would be charged an additional 139.99. We planned along time for this trip and because of the hotel, our getaway was a disaster!Also housekeeping made our bed with potato chips and underwear still on the bed(gross)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OC Traveler with Kids
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Aug 14, 2012

Skip this one

We really didn't enjoy this hotel. It was LOUD all of the time. The music for the skating rink can be heard easily inside the room from 9am to 10pm. The cleanliness wasn't up to my standards at all. The stairs frequently had the doors propped which is fine if they were only for the guest convenience but is otherwise a fire hazard. The times I did have to touch the doors, I would have preferred not to do so since they seemed sticky with bad paint. Also, the drop ceilings were very low even in the hallways. I am relatively short. A tall person or a claustrophobe would be uncomfortable, despite the sizable atrium. Speaking of the atrium, the snack bar prices were outrageous... rather like living in a movie theater. It was definitely a similar mark up. The indoor pool was foul and the hot tub was vile. Lastly, the deal with the luggage carts was ignorant. We had no trouble using the cart during check in but experienced a big change in procedure for check out. I had to turn in my driver's license to get a cart on the last day which meant I had the extra step of returning the cart. It seemed like a cheap dodge for them to avoid staffing someone to return the carts to the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Megg5
Business
Frederick, md
Sep 17, 2012

Not worth the money

The whole reason we stayed here was the ice rink, which was out of order! The jets in the hot tub didn't work! When we first got into our room the bed had a wet spot on it like someone had sat on it. All the food at the kiosk in the hotel was sooo expensive for what we got. When we said something about everything when checking out the staff couldn't seem to have cared less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UPSETPERSON
Business
OCEAN CITY MARYLAND
Jul 23, 2013

MY BAD ROMANTIC GETAWAY

I had a bad experience at this hotel. At first they told me they couldn't accomodate me with a king sized bed and gave me a double bed in the room in which the mattresses were as hard as a brick and the room was shabby looking and for the amount of money that i spent i was not going for it. I in turn called the desk and they said they could give me another room with a king bed in it i accepted it and it was an even worst experience because the hotel was already crowded with many children and it was in back of the ice skating rink and in front of the patio bar and restaurant which had singers performing all weekend so with all that noise who could have a relaxing time? I previously stayed at this hotel in a condo and me and my family enjoyed it but this time was just the pits as well as the manager who did not have the courtesy to call me back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
b1daking
Business
Elkton md
Oct 3, 2013

sucked!!!

staff sucked, room had cracks in the ceiling. counter person had a really bad attitude. I stayed in room 209 which had no view.. window looked out to a roof. overall if I was asked to stay in that same hotel for free I would tell them "heck no, keep it"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't eat in this hotel!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
May 29, 2010

Worst Hotel stay ever !

This was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Would never reccomend to anyone. It was clear the current guests were NOT a priority as the hotel was getting ready for the SEASON and made is known that they were too busy to accomate the needs of the current weeks guests. Rooms on both sides of us were being totally gutted - meaning construction noise was constant from 9:00AM until 9:00PM. It made it completely impossible to enjoy the view - which is the only positive thing I have to say about this hotel. Even when we pointed out the issues - the response from the front desk was "We're Busy".. We were treated poorly and are extremely dissapointed, we have nothing good to say about this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Asseteague island -was great. Perfect for biking, hiking or just driving around. You will see the wild horse -it was awesome. Also, in Salisbury, the Country House was great - huge store - great staff - well worth the short drive!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 12, 2009

Not a good stay

The hotel was not clean at all the rooms were dirty and the first night I found a bug in my bed.The hotel itself is not very well kept. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia, USA
Jun 1, 2009

Noisy Getaway - Friendly Staff

When we arrived and checked-in, we noticed the room was not cleaned. The carpet was dirty. The couch had a chocolate stain on a pillow. The room smelled like stinky feet. The lobby was very noisy throughout the day and night. The staff were friendly and able to answer all of our questions. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone! Please do yourself a favor, go next door or down the street for less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to a shopping center. We walked to Denny's, Wendy's, and Food Lion every day to feed our tummies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ryan dad and son
Business
Springfield, VA
Jun 21, 2009

Marginal At Best

This hotel is not worth the price, hence the 1 star rating I gave it. First I think it fair to say, the room was very clean. However, even though it is on the beach, I would have stayed a block away to obtain more amenities. At close to $300 dollars a night, I expected a lot more. I had a ocean view room. While the tower has well over 30 floors, the hotel is only on the first four floors, Condos are on the other floors. Trees obstructed my view of the ocean. The lobby is the worst I have ever seen, very messy and not well organized. While the Ice skating rink may be nice for some, it was a noisy distraction. For $200-300, find another hotel, like the holiday Inn, Clarion would be a better choice. The rooms are of the caliber of a motel 6 with a $279 price tag for an ocean view room. What little ocean you can see. The best thing about the entire hotel is that the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top