$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

3 stars
11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
160 reviews
Great Family Destination

We stayed for 3 nights. We had an enjoyable experience. Loved the access to the beach and the 2... See full review

  • JKH329
  • Aug 25, 2014
Great mini getaway!

We decided last minute to take the kids overnight at the beach. Driving through OC as well as... See full review

  • Kristie J
  • Aug 12, 2014
Family-friendly high-rise on the beach in Ocean City, Maryland

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums, along the Ocean City beach, offers well-equipped rooms and suites and two- and three-bedroom condos. Amenities include heated indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center with sauna and whirlpool, outdoor tennis court, and even an indoor ice rink. For golfers, Carousel promises "16 courses within 16 miles." Features for young guests include a pirate ship playground, kiddie pool, and game room with pool tables and video arcade. Dining options include Seasons restaurant, Atrium Bistro, and an outdoor bar and grill.

Highlights
  • Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and atrium
  • Fitness center, sauna, and ice rink
  • Seasons restaurant with oceanfront dining
Rooms

Carousel offers 259 oceanfront (with sleeper sofa) and non-oceanfront rooms, all equipped with free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, and 96 deluxe two- and three-bedroom condominiums, with full kitchens, living rooms, and oceanfront balconies. (Condominiums require three-night minimum stay in season.) Handicapped rooms are available.

Features

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums provides families with a variety of choices to ensure a great beach vacation. Indoor and outdoor heated pools, fitness center, ice rink, and tennis court are some of the active recreation options. Guests can also just lounge on the palm-edged lawn area or the miles-long adjacent beach. Carousel caters to families with a playground, game room/video arcade, and kiddie pool.

 

Seasons restaurant offers oceanfront dining in an attractive space. Lighter fare is available at Outside Bar and Grill by the pool and at Atrium Bistro. An ice cream/candy shop serves sweet treats. Bamboo Lounge sports bar is a place to relax and have a drink.

 

Facilities for business travelers include conference and banquet rooms, including 12,000 square feet of meeting space. Room service is available. Wi-Fi is free in guest rooms and the atrium.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (140 mi/225.3 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (153 mi/246.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Museum (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Banquet staff and facilities
  • Rooms from 224 to 5,000 square feet
  • Ice rink can double as exhibit space

Hotel Map

38.4216 -75.0557
Area served
Ocean City, Maryland - north end of town were the crowd is better.
Nearby airports
Salisbury Airport (SBY)
Area description
Located on a 10 mile Peninsula in Ocean City. Beautiful beach and plenty of sun.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums Rooms

Direct Oceanfront
Hotel room with sleep sofa microwave, sink, mini fridge and coffeemaker. Outstanding Oceanfront View
Deluxe Standard Non-Oceanfront Room
Hotel room with microwave, sink, mini fridge and coffeemaker.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting Rooms - All beautifully redone in 2004. Plan your meetings, wedding receptions, lunches, dinners or any function were you want your own privacy. We can handle just about any size. Check us out for your next event.

Dining

Seasons
Oceanfront Restaurant- featuring all you can eat crab legs and great prime rib. Season's offer's a variety of seafood and steaks dishes including the "jumbo lump crab cake", don't miss it!
Atrium Deli
Features Starbucks coffee as well a great danish, bagels, huge sandwiches, kosher hot dogs, and a whole lot more.
Ice Cream Shop
Ice Cream and Candy Shop- this says it all, great selection of both. Fresh cotton candy without going to the boards.
Patio Bar and Grill
Patio Bar & Grill in Summer- lounge on the patio or lawn and have the service come to you. Drinks, grilled burgers, tuna and great chicken sandwiches along with are new beach fries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 12, 2009

Not a good stay

The hotel was not clean at all the rooms were dirty and the first night I found a bug in my bed.The hotel itself is not very well kept. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No sleep for the Family Friday
Hanover, PA
Jul 19, 2009

Carousel Hotal OC, MD- Never Again

We arrived to the Hotel and thought that it appeared we would enjoy our trip. We got settled in our room around 10:30 PM. From that point till 3 AM in the morning we good hear kids unsupervised running the halls and the common areas screaming and yelling. You can hear patrons of the Bar outside all night long. The room was very dated. The stained carpets were ragged and torn. The bathroom was cramped and not very clean. The towels and linens had colored stains on them and were not attractive at all. The beds were cheap and worn out. The staff was not friendly when looking to find additional accomadations. There is no option for food after 10 PM. The breakfast buffet was not very good and the waitstaff could be improved. We actuall saw a couple next to us get up and leave after waiting for ten minutes to not have their server come to them after being seated. There was only ten people at the restuarant at that time to boot. Even though we paid in advance we left a day earlier and found better accommandation for nearly the same price. It was an expensive lesson but we learned that we will never stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington Township, NJ
Apr 30, 2010

Lumpy pillows and uncomfortable beds.

We stay at the Borgata in AC, NJ a lot and go on a lot of Carnival cruises. Their beds are very comfortable and we did not really consider that a major factor in choosing a hotel...until the Carousel...if you have a good back (like myself) you wake up feeling sore and stiff. If you have a bad back (like my husband) you wake up feeling like a cripple. The pillows felt like pillow cases filled with rags that have hardened into round balls that cannot be flattened. They have cute little rides in the atrium that my grand daughter really wanted to go on, but they were not plugged in. I looked for outlets but could not find any. I went to the check in and the girl that I spoke with told me she would have maintenance there to fix the problem. We waited for almost an hour (at the insistance of my grand daughter) and no one came. We went up to our room and called the front desk and complained and the woman said the rides were not in their usual spots and nothing could be done. It would have been nice if they had sent someone to let us know while we were waiting. The hotel says that they offer room service, it's actually take out with no plates, no napkins and the really cheap plastic forks, all delivered in supermarket bags. We cut our vacation short and only spent one night. Upon check in, I had to sign 2 waivers. The first one was to agree not to have any wild parties (which leads me to believe that this is not really a "Family Hotel") and the second was to ackowledge that there was no refund for early check out (which makes me believe that many people who stay there will not put their backs at risk by sleeping on those beds 2 nights in a row). All in all, it is a place that I would not recommend for anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia, USA
Jun 1, 2009

Noisy Getaway - Friendly Staff

When we arrived and checked-in, we noticed the room was not cleaned. The carpet was dirty. The couch had a chocolate stain on a pillow. The room smelled like stinky feet. The lobby was very noisy throughout the day and night. The staff were friendly and able to answer all of our questions. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone! Please do yourself a favor, go next door or down the street for less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to a shopping center. We walked to Denny's, Wendy's, and Food Lion every day to feed our tummies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ryan dad and son
Springfield, VA
Jun 21, 2009

Marginal At Best

This hotel is not worth the price, hence the 1 star rating I gave it. First I think it fair to say, the room was very clean. However, even though it is on the beach, I would have stayed a block away to obtain more amenities. At close to $300 dollars a night, I expected a lot more. I had a ocean view room. While the tower has well over 30 floors, the hotel is only on the first four floors, Condos are on the other floors. Trees obstructed my view of the ocean. The lobby is the worst I have ever seen, very messy and not well organized. While the Ice skating rink may be nice for some, it was a noisy distraction. For $200-300, find another hotel, like the holiday Inn, Clarion would be a better choice. The rooms are of the caliber of a motel 6 with a $279 price tag for an ocean view room. What little ocean you can see. The best thing about the entire hotel is that the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Megg5
Frederick, md
Sep 17, 2012

Not worth the money

The whole reason we stayed here was the ice rink, which was out of order! The jets in the hot tub didn't work! When we first got into our room the bed had a wet spot on it like someone had sat on it. All the food at the kiosk in the hotel was sooo expensive for what we got. When we said something about everything when checking out the staff couldn't seem to have cared less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BCPD
Maryland
Jul 6, 2009

DIRTY!!! Cust serv pretty miserable too!

Our first room had trash under the comforter, within the sheets. The room they moved us to had long hair on the sheets and pillowcases. This suggested to us that beds were remade and sheets were not changed! The second room also hadn't been vacuumed in who knows how long. At the pool bar our draft beers tasted funny so I went to the bartender and told her to which her reply was, and I quote, "So". I was absolutely appalled at this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone. The only saving grace was the front desk ladies who really tried to help on the super busy 4th of July weekend at the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Greene Turtle was right across the street and a pretty decent sports bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockville, MD
Aug 21, 2010

disappointed

Room and hotel overall didn't measure up to what one one expect for the price $$$$ we paid. Room was made up each day but they could have cleaned & vaccumed better. Room provided was like being at the end of the world, only view from the minimal balcony was of a large flat roof top and sea gulls. Would have been nice if the screen door was on it's rollers and not just proped up against the doors. [...] Had electrical outlets that didn't work, inconvenient when trying to charge phones. One day the ice machine across the hall didin't work, advised hotel and it was fixed then the soda machine wasn't working. Using the lobby elevators was always a circus too many people needing to use three elevators, new guest checking/moving in, existing guest trying to access them after shopping/sightseeing and then people from the beack......always a big log jam.Just not the same Carosel from years past....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Cost for the room/hotel didn't measure up to the quality one would expect. Could have gotten a room in numerous other hotels at half the price and enjoyed more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DisappointedDenise
Sunderland, Maryland - Calvert County
May 12, 2010

Won't stay again!

We have been going to OC our entire lives, and have stayed at the Carousel in the past. Very disappointed this time around. None of the amenities were open, besides the indoor pool and that was on a limited basis. There was also maintenance work being done throughout the building which was intrusive and they were short staffed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
b1daking
Elkton md
Oct 3, 2013

sucked!!!

staff sucked, room had cracks in the ceiling. counter person had a really bad attitude. I stayed in room 209 which had no view.. window looked out to a roof. overall if I was asked to stay in that same hotel for free I would tell them "heck no, keep it"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

don't eat in this hotel!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search