$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

3 stars
11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
164 reviews
Great Stay

I choose to stay at Carousel often for business trips. They have great amenities and staff. Wifi is... See full review

  • Lynne0123
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great Family Destination

We stayed for 3 nights. We had an enjoyable experience. Loved the access to the beach and the 2... See full review

  • JKH329
  • Aug 25, 2014
Family-friendly high-rise on the beach in Ocean City, Maryland

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums, along the Ocean City beach, offers well-equipped rooms and suites and two- and three-bedroom condos. Amenities include heated indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center with sauna and whirlpool, outdoor tennis court, and even an indoor ice rink. For golfers, Carousel promises "16 courses within 16 miles." Features for young guests include a pirate ship playground, kiddie pool, and game room with pool tables and video arcade. Dining options include Seasons restaurant, Atrium Bistro, and an outdoor bar and grill.

Highlights
  • Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and atrium
  • Fitness center, sauna, and ice rink
  • Seasons restaurant with oceanfront dining
Rooms

Carousel offers 259 oceanfront (with sleeper sofa) and non-oceanfront rooms, all equipped with free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, and 96 deluxe two- and three-bedroom condominiums, with full kitchens, living rooms, and oceanfront balconies. (Condominiums require three-night minimum stay in season.) Handicapped rooms are available.

Features

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums provides families with a variety of choices to ensure a great beach vacation. Indoor and outdoor heated pools, fitness center, ice rink, and tennis court are some of the active recreation options. Guests can also just lounge on the palm-edged lawn area or the miles-long adjacent beach. Carousel caters to families with a playground, game room/video arcade, and kiddie pool.

 

Seasons restaurant offers oceanfront dining in an attractive space. Lighter fare is available at Outside Bar and Grill by the pool and at Atrium Bistro. An ice cream/candy shop serves sweet treats. Bamboo Lounge sports bar is a place to relax and have a drink.

 

Facilities for business travelers include conference and banquet rooms, including 12,000 square feet of meeting space. Room service is available. Wi-Fi is free in guest rooms and the atrium.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (140 mi/225.3 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (153 mi/246.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Museum (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Banquet staff and facilities
  • Rooms from 224 to 5,000 square feet
  • Ice rink can double as exhibit space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums Rooms

Direct Oceanfront
Hotel room with sleep sofa microwave, sink, mini fridge and coffeemaker. Outstanding Oceanfront View
Deluxe Standard Non-Oceanfront Room
Hotel room with microwave, sink, mini fridge and coffeemaker.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting Rooms - All beautifully redone in 2004. Plan your meetings, wedding receptions, lunches, dinners or any function were you want your own privacy. We can handle just about any size. Check us out for your next event.

Dining

Seasons
Oceanfront Restaurant- featuring all you can eat crab legs and great prime rib. Season's offer's a variety of seafood and steaks dishes including the "jumbo lump crab cake", don't miss it!
Atrium Deli
Features Starbucks coffee as well a great danish, bagels, huge sandwiches, kosher hot dogs, and a whole lot more.
Ice Cream Shop
Ice Cream and Candy Shop- this says it all, great selection of both. Fresh cotton candy without going to the boards.
Patio Bar and Grill
Patio Bar & Grill in Summer- lounge on the patio or lawn and have the service come to you. Drinks, grilled burgers, tuna and great chicken sandwiches along with are new beach fries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MD
Aug 26, 2010

Good for the Kids; But Dated Facilities

This hotel is great for kids. Lots of things to do for them. The A/C in the unit we had (beach front) rattled when we turned it on, so we had to move to a room below (with a view that was not as good). So we asked to be moved back to the original room when it was fixed. "No problem, yes sir." Early the next day we saw people already moved into that room. Too bad. That is a management problem. The hotel is pretty dated, but it is clean, safe, a great place for kids and has lots of things to do for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Exeter, PA
Aug 22, 2010

Plenty to do at this hotel.

Great hotel for families. There is no need to leave the hotel grounds if you do not want to. It rained one day and we still had plenty to do at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
Aug 21, 2010

disappointed

Room and hotel overall didn't measure up to what one one expect for the price $$$$ we paid. Room was made up each day but they could have cleaned & vaccumed better. Room provided was like being at the end of the world, only view from the minimal balcony was of a large flat roof top and sea gulls. Would have been nice if the screen door was on it's rollers and not just proped up against the doors. [...] Had electrical outlets that didn't work, inconvenient when trying to charge phones. One day the ice machine across the hall didin't work, advised hotel and it was fixed then the soda machine wasn't working. Using the lobby elevators was always a circus too many people needing to use three elevators, new guest checking/moving in, existing guest trying to access them after shopping/sightseeing and then people from the beack......always a big log jam.Just not the same Carosel from years past....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Cost for the room/hotel didn't measure up to the quality one would expect. Could have gotten a room in numerous other hotels at half the price and enjoyed more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morris County, NJ
Aug 13, 2010

Carousel Resort

Clean hotel, very removed from board walk but that adds to the location in other ways. Staff all seemed new to the area so unable to recommend restaurants and places to go; services close too early in the night without a place to go after 11; need a place for a late breakfast - it is a vacation place; would be more resort like if they offered drink service on the beach. Wi-fi was weak; Bowling and Movies close by; Its an ok place, good room price for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Charlie's in quiet section further north from hotel;

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Aug 9, 2010

Our wonderful short weekend vacation

Evan though we arrived before the 4:00pm check-in, our room was ready and they allowed us to go to our room. This was great because we wanted to make as much of the rest of the day as possible. We brought two vehicles and they gave us two parking passes. Some hotels will only give one. The employees smiled and were always helpful whenever we had a question or concern. I was surprised that the bed was so comfortable. I have problems with my back but woke up feeling refreshed (no aches and pains).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The grocery stores, mall, dunkin donuts, fast food etc. were all close by!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rmericle
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Jul 30, 2010

no longer what it was

I have stayed at the Carousel before ... the room quality isn't what it used to be ... needs a thorough makeover

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rico!
Business
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2010

Fun, relatively cheap, comfortable!

Pros: Haven't been to OC, MD in a long time. This was a very good way to do it! The distance from the boardwalk kind of sucks, but the Carousel does a very good job of keeping you interested in staying in the area. For one, every guest gets a free beach chair to bring to the beach. This may seem like a minimal plus, but it was great for my wife and I, who did not bring beach chairs. In addition, there is an indoor pool as well as an outdoor one. Next to the outdoor pool is a bar (food and drinks!) with either live or DJ'ed music playing all day! There are a bunch of palm trees in the area to complete the 'resort' look. The ice skating rink is a cool concept. Unfortunately we didn't get to see the ice show or go ice-skating, but the people we talked to that had seemed to rather enjoy it! The room we had (faced North, slight view of the ocean) had 2 queen-size beds, a comfy-ish couch, a big mini-fridge with icebox, microwave, small kitchen sink, coffee maker, and nice-size bathroom. It was very convenient to the plethora of stairs in the building, which was a plus. Luckily, we were on the 2nd floor, so we rarely ever took the slow elevators. Cons: The service isn't terribly special though. Every worker there walks around with walkie-talkies with volumes set to 11. This sucks if you were up late on a Saturday night and trying to get a little extra sleep on Sunday. Note to Carousel: If walkie-talkies are so loud that it wakes me up while sleeping, they are TOO LOUD! Arg! The elevators were definitely slow. Lucky for us, we only took them twice during our whole trip. Summary: Finally, I'd still recommend this hotel. The price was decent, the parking was super-easy, the beach right in front was convenient and close, and the amenities helped make it more like a 'resort' experience, rather than just a beach hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Action Water Sports to rent a Waverunner! [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy to get away from work.
Business
Cochranville PA
Jul 23, 2010

Fun for three year olds

The hotel had a real ice skating rink! My 3 year old loved all the activities! Pretty beach. Nice pool. The over seas help was not great. I got attitude from the pool girl who had trouble with her English. Anyway--the pools are wonderful, they have pirate ship playgrounds and bouncing equipment in the back. We watched a movie on the beach (Monsters vs Aliens) The hotel had a big movie screen and gave out glow necklaces for children. It was a big hit with the little ones. They could use a little more help with serving food in the lobby. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I must say, I got the Macadamia nut encrusted Talapia with Peach Chutney in the Hotel Restaurant...It was very delicious!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wellwishes
Business
Bowie, MD
Jul 19, 2010

Very nice property - inside and out!

Great amenities - ice skating, skating show, ice cream bar, pools, beach, free loaner beach chairs, free parking, close to food, grocery, convenience stores. Very nice staff. Nice rooms with microwave, fridge! A very good experience. We'll be back [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street - 2 grocery stores, CVS, fast food. Leftovers okay - microwave and small fridge in the room!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
family from VA
Business
Fauquier County, VA
Jul 14, 2010

okay

The beach was great; however the hotel needed improvement. One elevator smelled like vomit, and the pool was crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The bus stop was right outside.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top