$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

3 stars
11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
160 reviews
Great Family Destination

We stayed for 3 nights. We had an enjoyable experience. Loved the access to the beach and the 2... See full review

  • JKH329
  • Aug 25, 2014
Great mini getaway!

We decided last minute to take the kids overnight at the beach. Driving through OC as well as... See full review

  • Kristie J
  • Aug 12, 2014
Family-friendly high-rise on the beach in Ocean City, Maryland

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums, along the Ocean City beach, offers well-equipped rooms and suites and two- and three-bedroom condos. Amenities include heated indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center with sauna and whirlpool, outdoor tennis court, and even an indoor ice rink. For golfers, Carousel promises "16 courses within 16 miles." Features for young guests include a pirate ship playground, kiddie pool, and game room with pool tables and video arcade. Dining options include Seasons restaurant, Atrium Bistro, and an outdoor bar and grill.

Highlights
  • Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and atrium
  • Fitness center, sauna, and ice rink
  • Seasons restaurant with oceanfront dining
Rooms

Carousel offers 259 oceanfront (with sleeper sofa) and non-oceanfront rooms, all equipped with free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, and 96 deluxe two- and three-bedroom condominiums, with full kitchens, living rooms, and oceanfront balconies. (Condominiums require three-night minimum stay in season.) Handicapped rooms are available.

Features

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums provides families with a variety of choices to ensure a great beach vacation. Indoor and outdoor heated pools, fitness center, ice rink, and tennis court are some of the active recreation options. Guests can also just lounge on the palm-edged lawn area or the miles-long adjacent beach. Carousel caters to families with a playground, game room/video arcade, and kiddie pool.

 

Seasons restaurant offers oceanfront dining in an attractive space. Lighter fare is available at Outside Bar and Grill by the pool and at Atrium Bistro. An ice cream/candy shop serves sweet treats. Bamboo Lounge sports bar is a place to relax and have a drink.

 

Facilities for business travelers include conference and banquet rooms, including 12,000 square feet of meeting space. Room service is available. Wi-Fi is free in guest rooms and the atrium.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (140 mi/225.3 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (153 mi/246.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Museum (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Banquet staff and facilities
  • Rooms from 224 to 5,000 square feet
  • Ice rink can double as exhibit space

Hotel Map

38.4216 -75.0557
Area served
Ocean City, Maryland - north end of town were the crowd is better.
Nearby airports
Salisbury Airport (SBY)
Area description
Located on a 10 mile Peninsula in Ocean City. Beautiful beach and plenty of sun.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums Rooms

Direct Oceanfront
Hotel room with sleep sofa microwave, sink, mini fridge and coffeemaker. Outstanding Oceanfront View
Deluxe Standard Non-Oceanfront Room
Hotel room with microwave, sink, mini fridge and coffeemaker.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Seasons
Oceanfront Restaurant- featuring all you can eat crab legs and great prime rib. Season's offer's a variety of seafood and steaks dishes including the "jumbo lump crab cake", don't miss it!
Atrium Deli
Features Starbucks coffee as well a great danish, bagels, huge sandwiches, kosher hot dogs, and a whole lot more.
Ice Cream Shop
Ice Cream and Candy Shop- this says it all, great selection of both. Fresh cotton candy without going to the boards.
Patio Bar and Grill
Patio Bar & Grill in Summer- lounge on the patio or lawn and have the service come to you. Drinks, grilled burgers, tuna and great chicken sandwiches along with are new beach fries.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting Rooms - All beautifully redone in 2004. Plan your meetings, wedding receptions, lunches, dinners or any function were you want your own privacy. We can handle just about any size. Check us out for your next event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Megg5
Frederick, md
Sep 17, 2012

Not worth the money

The whole reason we stayed here was the ice rink, which was out of order! The jets in the hot tub didn't work! When we first got into our room the bed had a wet spot on it like someone had sat on it. All the food at the kiosk in the hotel was sooo expensive for what we got. When we said something about everything when checking out the staff couldn't seem to have cared less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChickenlittlePA
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 31, 2012

Wish It Was Longer

We came back to Carousel after 9 years. We appreciated the family atmosphere, even if the kids were noisy at times. The room and beds were comfortable and roomy. The beach view was a delight, but the bar below was noisy at times and the music from down there not particularly good. We had a little noise from neighboring rooms, but the AC drowned it out. Parking on site was rare, but the adjoining garage had plenty of space. The price was competitive, but still a stretch for us in the present economy. The hotel's beach was well kept and all the personnel friendly and helpful. We hope to be able to come back again sooner than this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
S Smith
Maryland
Aug 30, 2012

Our two day vacation

I usually do not feel motivated to write a review but in this particular case I do. I read some of the previous reviews and thought that this would be a great family hotel for us to stay. My first surprise (this having been my first visit to Ocean City) was that the hotel was no where near the boardwalk. We drove so far that I actually thought we were going to run out of beach! Anyway, we arrived and the hotel itself looked less than desirable. As the other reviews said there were alot of kids. One huge pro was the customer service the people at the front desk and the hotel overall were great! However, the actual hotel itself was subpar. The room we had was not renovated since it was not an oceanfront view (which I regret not purchashing). The room was big but not very comfortable. The tv was nice but everything else was old. The bathroom was small and some of the ceiling tiles were loose. I admit that initially I was going to check out but we made the most of the trip. Also, there was loud music that seemed to play all day. Now, for the positives, the ice skating rink inside of the hotel was nice and the food at the grill was excellent! We enjoyed it alot. Also they do offer 2 free beach chair rentals for the beach which is located right outside of the hotel. Overall, it was an okay experience but if I ever chose to visit Ocean City again I would not stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toni79
rockville, MD
Aug 27, 2012

Avg hotel

First and last stay. Lots of amenities bits the hotel is top outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OC Traveler with Kids
Harrisburg, PA
Aug 14, 2012

Skip this one

We really didn't enjoy this hotel. It was LOUD all of the time. The music for the skating rink can be heard easily inside the room from 9am to 10pm. The cleanliness wasn't up to my standards at all. The stairs frequently had the doors propped which is fine if they were only for the guest convenience but is otherwise a fire hazard. The times I did have to touch the doors, I would have preferred not to do so since they seemed sticky with bad paint. Also, the drop ceilings were very low even in the hallways. I am relatively short. A tall person or a claustrophobe would be uncomfortable, despite the sizable atrium. Speaking of the atrium, the snack bar prices were outrageous... rather like living in a movie theater. It was definitely a similar mark up. The indoor pool was foul and the hot tub was vile. Lastly, the deal with the luggage carts was ignorant. We had no trouble using the cart during check in but experienced a big change in procedure for check out. I had to turn in my driver's license to get a cart on the last day which meant I had the extra step of returning the cart. It seemed like a cheap dodge for them to avoid staffing someone to return the carts to the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nihplod
Boyds, Maryland
Jul 24, 2012

A Good Time

A good time and good hotel. Although initially assigned to room that was made us depressed, the staff only had us stay in the room for one night before moving us to another room. The second room was better and really lifted our spirits. From then on, the stay was good. Thanks to the Staff for accommodating us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best dining experience we had (yet again) was BJ's on the Beach! Amazing location to watch the sun set while being served a delicious meal. Caution though...it was our most expensive meal of the week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thehugfamily
New Jersey
Jul 20, 2012

Average, Ordinary

This hotel was ok, but was dated and could use some sprucing up. The beds and pillows were not good, the bathroom had a lingering odor of vomit and the shower was broken. The beach access and other ammenities were decent. Not a good deal for the money we spent. We probably will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Bonfire Grill is an excellent buffet with lots to choose from for everyones palate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summer fun planner
Drums, Pa
Jul 20, 2012

Good time for the price.

Upon entrance to hotel ,registration receptionist very cheerful and helpful. The room was clean. The air conditioning worked well , a real plus because it was 95 -98 degrees out. It was in great proximity to the beach, right out the back entrance and you get 2 free beach chairs a day with the room. Their indoor pool was nice , they had an outdoor pool to but i really didn't use it being more of a beach person. The one down side if you even want to call it that was the bathroom. It could have been cleaner and I didn't get clean towels the one day. The toilet paper was never refilled either. Other then that bedding clean , TV worked fine and the staff was friendly and always opened a door for you if they were right their. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emonta
Lebanon, PA
Jul 3, 2012

Nice Hotel

The hotel and the staff was good. They had made a mistake by re- booking the our room while we were out other then that everything like the ice skateing show and the pool the beach was clean and the security in the parking and a nice pool side bar and the staff was friendly. I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket across the steet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackie atlantis
philly
May 24, 2012

preseason getaway

easy check in/out. great acsess to beach ,pool and other amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if the hotel doesn't have it ,you have easy acsess to main drag

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search