$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

3 stars
View map of 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous 13
Business
Philadelphia PA
Apr 27, 2013

Don't pay for an ocean view!

I was excited to get away for the weekend for our anniversary. We checked in to our ocean front room(extra $100) which was staring right at the back of a closed up shack/bar on the first floor. We didn't complain since our balcony (without table or chairs) gave us easy access to the beach. Saturday at 8am we were woken up to men outside our room painting the ground and roped off all the balconies on the first floor. when i called and spoke to manager she said that they were sold out of ocean front and since i booked through a 3rd party they couldn't help me. She informed me that if another room came available she would contact me. When we checked in I also heard a women who booked an ocean front room told they same thing cause they were sold out. We came down in April to check it out for the summer- obviously we wont be coming back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChrisT
Business
Mechanicsville, MD
Mar 29, 2013

Spring Break Vacation

Not impressed. Room was dirty, uncomfortable bed, loose spicket in the bathtub, and the AC unit blew black dirt all over the room and beds. Only the Condos have full kitchens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cheer dad 1162
Business
lindenwold new jersey
Feb 26, 2013

cheer comp

well it was ok but there was no place for the adults to hang out after 10 with out being told told to move and i was a little unhappy that the hot tub was being redone. knowing that there was a lot of us coming in on wed and it would have bin nice if the pool or the food stand were open sooner on thursday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the food lion and d&d is right acrossed the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin life 76
Business
Elkton, MD
Jan 26, 2013

Lots to do for the family without even leaving the hotel!

My stay was for a weekend getaway for me and my boyfriend. There is so much to do for all ages without even leaving the hotel! We had tons of fun ice skating, swimming and relaxing in the hot tub! I can not wait to bring my son back for a vacation..loads of fun to be had! The staff was so friendly and helpful..rooms was clean and a beautiful view over looking the ocean! If you are looking for peace and quiet this may not be the place for you...from all the activities going on down stairs the noise seems to travel. Definitely will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dad207
Business
Baltimore
Oct 24, 2012

Business Traveller

A grand edifice of mediocrity. Advertises a full-service restaurant, really a dark sports-pub. Short-handed at the front, desk, no one available to help with bags on arrival. I know it is the off-season in a tourist town but truth in advertising should prevail: if things are not open, and you are working with limited staff, then say so. Price was right, breakfast was decidedly better than dinner offerings; at least it was in a bright, sunny room facing the ocean. This is a property in the decline: management better decide to refurbish soon, or else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACHarrison
Business
Annapolis, MD
Sep 24, 2012

Pleasant Stay

I was pleasantly surprised by The Carousel. I knew that it is an old hotel and I was not expecting much. The room was not luxurious but it was large and very clean. The indoor pool is large. There is an ice skating rink, too. There is plenty of parking. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was good. My only complaint would be that the girl who gave out the beach chairs was rather surly. Everyone else was nice. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Megg5
Business
Frederick, md
Sep 17, 2012

Not worth the money

The whole reason we stayed here was the ice rink, which was out of order! The jets in the hot tub didn't work! When we first got into our room the bed had a wet spot on it like someone had sat on it. All the food at the kiosk in the hotel was sooo expensive for what we got. When we said something about everything when checking out the staff couldn't seem to have cared less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChickenlittlePA
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 31, 2012

Wish It Was Longer

We came back to Carousel after 9 years. We appreciated the family atmosphere, even if the kids were noisy at times. The room and beds were comfortable and roomy. The beach view was a delight, but the bar below was noisy at times and the music from down there not particularly good. We had a little noise from neighboring rooms, but the AC drowned it out. Parking on site was rare, but the adjoining garage had plenty of space. The price was competitive, but still a stretch for us in the present economy. The hotel's beach was well kept and all the personnel friendly and helpful. We hope to be able to come back again sooner than this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
S Smith
Business
Maryland
Aug 30, 2012

Our two day vacation

I usually do not feel motivated to write a review but in this particular case I do. I read some of the previous reviews and thought that this would be a great family hotel for us to stay. My first surprise (this having been my first visit to Ocean City) was that the hotel was no where near the boardwalk. We drove so far that I actually thought we were going to run out of beach! Anyway, we arrived and the hotel itself looked less than desirable. As the other reviews said there were alot of kids. One huge pro was the customer service the people at the front desk and the hotel overall were great! However, the actual hotel itself was subpar. The room we had was not renovated since it was not an oceanfront view (which I regret not purchashing). The room was big but not very comfortable. The tv was nice but everything else was old. The bathroom was small and some of the ceiling tiles were loose. I admit that initially I was going to check out but we made the most of the trip. Also, there was loud music that seemed to play all day. Now, for the positives, the ice skating rink inside of the hotel was nice and the food at the grill was excellent! We enjoyed it alot. Also they do offer 2 free beach chair rentals for the beach which is located right outside of the hotel. Overall, it was an okay experience but if I ever chose to visit Ocean City again I would not stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toni79
Business
rockville, MD
Aug 27, 2012

Avg hotel

First and last stay. Lots of amenities bits the hotel is top outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top