$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

3 stars
11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
157 reviews
Great mini getaway!

We decided last minute to take the kids overnight at the beach. Driving through OC as well as... See full review

  • Kristie J
  • Aug 12, 2014
car show overnighter

Hotel staff was super-friendly. The room was impeccable w/a beautiful ocean front view. Only... See full review

  • Jenni0803
  • May 17, 2014
Family-friendly high-rise on the beach in Ocean City, Maryland

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums, along the Ocean City beach, offers well-equipped rooms and suites and two- and three-bedroom condos. Amenities include heated indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center with sauna and whirlpool, outdoor tennis court, and even an indoor ice rink. For golfers, Carousel promises "16 courses within 16 miles." Features for young guests include a pirate ship playground, kiddie pool, and game room with pool tables and video arcade. Dining options include Seasons restaurant, Atrium Bistro, and an outdoor bar and grill.

Highlights
  • Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and atrium
  • Fitness center, sauna, and ice rink
  • Seasons restaurant with oceanfront dining
Rooms

Carousel offers 259 oceanfront (with sleeper sofa) and non-oceanfront rooms, all equipped with free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker, and 96 deluxe two- and three-bedroom condominiums, with full kitchens, living rooms, and oceanfront balconies. (Condominiums require three-night minimum stay in season.) Handicapped rooms are available.

Features

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums provides families with a variety of choices to ensure a great beach vacation. Indoor and outdoor heated pools, fitness center, ice rink, and tennis court are some of the active recreation options. Guests can also just lounge on the palm-edged lawn area or the miles-long adjacent beach. Carousel caters to families with a playground, game room/video arcade, and kiddie pool.

 

Seasons restaurant offers oceanfront dining in an attractive space. Lighter fare is available at Outside Bar and Grill by the pool and at Atrium Bistro. An ice cream/candy shop serves sweet treats. Bamboo Lounge sports bar is a place to relax and have a drink.

 

Facilities for business travelers include conference and banquet rooms, including 12,000 square feet of meeting space. Room service is available. Wi-Fi is free in guest rooms and the atrium.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (140 mi/225.3 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (153 mi/246.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Museum (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Banquet staff and facilities
  • Rooms from 224 to 5,000 square feet
  • Ice rink can double as exhibit space

Hotel Map

38.4216 -75.0557
Area served
Ocean City, Maryland - north end of town were the crowd is better.
Nearby airports
Salisbury Airport (SBY)
Area description
Located on a 10 mile Peninsula in Ocean City. Beautiful beach and plenty of sun.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums Rooms

Direct Oceanfront
Hotel room with sleep sofa microwave, sink, mini fridge and coffeemaker. Outstanding Oceanfront View
Deluxe Standard Non-Oceanfront Room
Hotel room with microwave, sink, mini fridge and coffeemaker.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Seasons
Oceanfront Restaurant- featuring all you can eat crab legs and great prime rib. Season's offer's a variety of seafood and steaks dishes including the "jumbo lump crab cake", don't miss it!
Atrium Deli
Features Starbucks coffee as well a great danish, bagels, huge sandwiches, kosher hot dogs, and a whole lot more.
Ice Cream Shop
Ice Cream and Candy Shop- this says it all, great selection of both. Fresh cotton candy without going to the boards.
Patio Bar and Grill
Patio Bar & Grill in Summer- lounge on the patio or lawn and have the service come to you. Drinks, grilled burgers, tuna and great chicken sandwiches along with are new beach fries.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting Rooms - All beautifully redone in 2004. Plan your meetings, wedding receptions, lunches, dinners or any function were you want your own privacy. We can handle just about any size. Check us out for your next event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Murphalo
DC
Apr 29, 2013

Needs updating

Staff was friendly, great rate, neat feel to it. But it obviously hasn't been updated in a long time, room was a GREAT size, but kind of dirty/falling apart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous 13
Philadelphia PA
Apr 27, 2013

Don't pay for an ocean view!

I was excited to get away for the weekend for our anniversary. We checked in to our ocean front room(extra $100) which was staring right at the back of a closed up shack/bar on the first floor. We didn't complain since our balcony (without table or chairs) gave us easy access to the beach. Saturday at 8am we were woken up to men outside our room painting the ground and roped off all the balconies on the first floor. when i called and spoke to manager she said that they were sold out of ocean front and since i booked through a 3rd party they couldn't help me. She informed me that if another room came available she would contact me. When we checked in I also heard a women who booked an ocean front room told they same thing cause they were sold out. We came down in April to check it out for the summer- obviously we wont be coming back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChrisT
Mechanicsville, MD
Mar 29, 2013

Spring Break Vacation

Not impressed. Room was dirty, uncomfortable bed, loose spicket in the bathtub, and the AC unit blew black dirt all over the room and beds. Only the Condos have full kitchens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cheer dad 1162
lindenwold new jersey
Feb 26, 2013

cheer comp

well it was ok but there was no place for the adults to hang out after 10 with out being told told to move and i was a little unhappy that the hot tub was being redone. knowing that there was a lot of us coming in on wed and it would have bin nice if the pool or the food stand were open sooner on thursday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the food lion and d&d is right acrossed the street

Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin life 76
Elkton, MD
Jan 26, 2013

Lots to do for the family without even leaving the hotel!

My stay was for a weekend getaway for me and my boyfriend. There is so much to do for all ages without even leaving the hotel! We had tons of fun ice skating, swimming and relaxing in the hot tub! I can not wait to bring my son back for a vacation..loads of fun to be had! The staff was so friendly and helpful..rooms was clean and a beautiful view over looking the ocean! If you are looking for peace and quiet this may not be the place for you...from all the activities going on down stairs the noise seems to travel. Definitely will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dad207
Business
Baltimore
Oct 24, 2012

Business Traveller

A grand edifice of mediocrity. Advertises a full-service restaurant, really a dark sports-pub. Short-handed at the front, desk, no one available to help with bags on arrival. I know it is the off-season in a tourist town but truth in advertising should prevail: if things are not open, and you are working with limited staff, then say so. Price was right, breakfast was decidedly better than dinner offerings; at least it was in a bright, sunny room facing the ocean. This is a property in the decline: management better decide to refurbish soon, or else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACHarrison
Annapolis, MD
Sep 24, 2012

Pleasant Stay

I was pleasantly surprised by The Carousel. I knew that it is an old hotel and I was not expecting much. The room was not luxurious but it was large and very clean. The indoor pool is large. There is an ice skating rink, too. There is plenty of parking. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was good. My only complaint would be that the girl who gave out the beach chairs was rather surly. Everyone else was nice. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Megg5
Frederick, md
Sep 17, 2012

Not worth the money

The whole reason we stayed here was the ice rink, which was out of order! The jets in the hot tub didn't work! When we first got into our room the bed had a wet spot on it like someone had sat on it. All the food at the kiosk in the hotel was sooo expensive for what we got. When we said something about everything when checking out the staff couldn't seem to have cared less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChickenlittlePA
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 31, 2012

Wish It Was Longer

We came back to Carousel after 9 years. We appreciated the family atmosphere, even if the kids were noisy at times. The room and beds were comfortable and roomy. The beach view was a delight, but the bar below was noisy at times and the music from down there not particularly good. We had a little noise from neighboring rooms, but the AC drowned it out. Parking on site was rare, but the adjoining garage had plenty of space. The price was competitive, but still a stretch for us in the present economy. The hotel's beach was well kept and all the personnel friendly and helpful. We hope to be able to come back again sooner than this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel and Condominiums

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
S Smith
Maryland
Aug 30, 2012

Our two day vacation

I usually do not feel motivated to write a review but in this particular case I do. I read some of the previous reviews and thought that this would be a great family hotel for us to stay. My first surprise (this having been my first visit to Ocean City) was that the hotel was no where near the boardwalk. We drove so far that I actually thought we were going to run out of beach! Anyway, we arrived and the hotel itself looked less than desirable. As the other reviews said there were alot of kids. One huge pro was the customer service the people at the front desk and the hotel overall were great! However, the actual hotel itself was subpar. The room we had was not renovated since it was not an oceanfront view (which I regret not purchashing). The room was big but not very comfortable. The tv was nice but everything else was old. The bathroom was small and some of the ceiling tiles were loose. I admit that initially I was going to check out but we made the most of the trip. Also, there was loud music that seemed to play all day. Now, for the positives, the ice skating rink inside of the hotel was nice and the food at the grill was excellent! We enjoyed it alot. Also they do offer 2 free beach chair rentals for the beach which is located right outside of the hotel. Overall, it was an okay experience but if I ever chose to visit Ocean City again I would not stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search