$63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

3 stars
5501 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-1344
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
56 reviews
BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

I was very pleased with the hotel. Covered parking spaces. Ample breakfast amenities. Clean room... See full review

  • Bubbahyde
  • Sep 13, 2013
Very clean room, Very friendly staff

It's almost everything you could ask for...a friendly staff, clean room and a nice morning... See full review

  • J. Scott DJ
  • Nov 4, 2013
Essential amenities a block from the beach in Ocean City, Maryland

Best Western Ocean City Hotel and Suites is a smoke-free property located just a block from the beach. Amenities include free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, and 24-hour front desk. Central location is convenient to many restaurants and shops and a short drive from golf courses and other recreation options.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Free continental breakfast
  • 24-hour fitness center
Rooms

Half the 72 accommodations are two-room deluxe suites, and rest are large-sized rooms or mini-suites. Rooms come with two queen beds and sleeper sofa, free Wi-Fi, cable television with free HBO, free local calls, voicemail, air conditioning, microwave, refrigerator, alarm clock/radio, coffeemaker, hair dryer, and iron/ironing board. Deluxe suites also include whirlpool tub, second television, and DVD player. Non-smoking and handicapped rooms are available.

Features

The Best Western Ocean City Hotel and Suites offers spacious rooms and suites, free Wi-Fi access, free continental breakfast, and a central location with easy access to the beach, restaurants, and shops. The smoke-free property has elevators, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour front desk, safe deposit box, and fax/copy services.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (138 mi/222.1 km)
  • Reagan National Airport (150 mi/241.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ocean City Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Museum (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • Children 17 and under stay free with a parent in the room. If no parent is present, adult rates apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.3796 -75.0683
Area served
Dover,, Bethany Beach,, Berlin, Salisbury, Washington,, Rehoboth,, Fenwick Island,, Baltimore, Annapolis
Nearby airports
(BWI), 130.00, MI, W;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,JETTED TUB,MICR RFRG,3RD BD SOFA BD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,JETTED TUB,MICR RFRG,3RD BD SOFA BD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFABED,JETTED TUB,MICRWV,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFABED,JETTED TUB,MICRWV,REFRIG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,SOFABED,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL SHWR,SOFBD,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Boating
Driving range
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Fager's Island
0.60 mile(s) from Fager's Island, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m.
Seacrets
0.60 mile(s) from Seacrets, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Jamaican, 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m.
Johnny's Pizza & Pub
0.20 mile(s) from Johnny's Pizza & Pub, bar/lounge, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, winter: 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 a.m., summer - 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 a.m.
Bonfire
1.00 mile(s) from Bonfire, bar/lounge, Seafood, open for: lunch, dinner, 3:00 p.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Mackey's Bar & Grill
0.10 mile(s) from Mackey's Bar & Grill, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m.
Dead Freddies
0.90 mile(s) from Dead Freddies, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner, 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 a.m.
Sea Bay Cafe
0.80 mile(s) from Sea Bay Cafe, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, 6:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 56
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hippojst
Montgomery County, MD
Jul 8, 2014

One night in OC

Booked this hotel because it was touted as a suite. We were traveling with our son who sleeps on the early side so we like getting a suite so we can watch tv or hang out outside the sleeping area while our son sleeps. This room was a "suite" but there was no door separating the living area from the bedroom. I was about to change our reservation to a different hotel but decided not to because it was only for one night. We figured we could work something out or just sleep early. So I wouldn't really call the room a suite. The free breakfast and free parking were both big draws for us. Savings achieved! The breakfast spread was ok, just a simple continental breakfast. The location was great, just one block from the beach which wasn't too crowded post 4th of July crowd. There were at least 2 large families/groups staying here so I think they must offer pretty decent rates. The rooms were mostly clean but the bathroom ledge was filthy with little hairs and lots of dust. I didn't look too hard anywhere else because I didn't want to get disgusted. I think the cleanliness was expected. Plastic and paper cups used here, so you know they are fresh because they are all individually wrapped. Fridge and microwave in room was great, except the fridge was not turned on so the milk went bad overnight. Make sure to check that it's on. Beds were ok, nothing out of the ordinary. Towels are well worn but seemed clean. Overall it was a good one night stay. Not sure I would stay again since it's not a separated sleeping area unless I am traveling without my kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free parking and free breakfast, doesn't get better than that. Coffee available 24 hours.

Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OCFamily
Virginia
Aug 7, 2013

Yikes!

Awful!!! What a disappointment. The room we had was right above the laundry room and it made a huge noise made the whole floor vibrate it sounded like we were in a spaceship all night. When we mentioned it to the staff they acted like they didn't know what we were talking about. The bathroom was not thoroughly cleaned...gross! Never again staying here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony's Mudder
Lorton, VA
May 13, 2013

It was fine but not real disability friendly.

Hotel was fine but the disability elevator was not operation unless you went and found someone to turn it on. Also had to move items just to get the wheelchair in the room. Also, I would have received the same "savings" by just booking through the hotel itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask the clerk about the restaurant you want to go to. They may have discount coupons for you. They did for me!

Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Karbear
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 17, 2011

Weekend at the Beach

I thought it was too much money for the little amenities it offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, Maryland
Jul 19, 2011

Nice place for an overnight stay

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. When we got to our room, we were pleasantly surprised to find how much space there really was. With two double beds and a pull out couch it was more than enough space for a family of six for one or two nights. And it was only ten blocks from Secrets, so it was no problem to walk there. My husband and I are plannig to go back to the ocean next month with friends an are really consiering staying at this hotel again and even recommening for our friends to get rooms there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a pizza place in the shopping center to the left of the hotel that has great food and they make it fast. The only draw back is, like anything else in ocean city, the price is a little high.

Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Airville PA
Aug 12, 2010

birthday getaway

Our needs were met. We only needed a clean and quiet place to sleep. If we would have stayed for more then onen night we would have wanted to have a pool. Great location allowing us to walk to a couple of places we visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We visited Dead Freddies located on 64th street- which was an easy walk. (Mixed age group) On our way home we stopped at Johnnie's Pizza- which wasn't bad.

Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theo M
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 5, 2010

Great stay

Courteous staff. Excellent location, only 1 block from the beach. Beach was less crowded than further south but still at the heart of OC. Free breakfast was a plus; nothing fancy but did the trick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Beach at 56th St was close and very enjoyable

Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paradise, PA
Jul 17, 2008

good value for the money

Best Western Ocean City Hotel and Suites was a good value for the money. The rooms were large and had a separate living area with a sofa, television and dvd player. The beds were very comfortable. A complimentary breakfast was served every morning. The hotel was only one block from the beach and within easy walking distance of night clubs and restaurants. The only drawback was only parking for one car per room. My son had his car along and had to use off street parking. Also, although the rooms seemed very clean, the carpet in the hallways looked a little shabby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 4, 2008

Very Good

The room was very clean and the housekeeping staff was promopt and effecient. The beach was right across the street and parking was easy. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was more then ample.....bagels, toast, yogurts, pastry etc. Nothing fantastic, but it was an easy way to start off a day at the beach. The fridge and microwave in the room were also nice comfort items. Overall, we didn't spend all that much time in the room because we were always out and about at the beach/boardwalk.......but when we were there, it was pleasurable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bus stop right out front.....$2 per person for use the entire day. Easy to use and a great way to save money on parking in the inlet area.

Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Aug 10, 2007

Hotel was okay

The hotel was okay, but I was stuck in a handycaped room. I asked for some extra pillow and they said they didn't have any. No frills hotel. Although the rooms were larger than most hotel. All in all, it was just okay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search