$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Westin Washington National Harbor

4 stars
171 Waterfront Street, 171 Waterfront Street, National Harbor, MD 20745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
35 reviews
staff was great

This hotel is very nice we liked it. The staff was friendly. Parking was ok it is public can cost... See full review

  • dv1trav
  • Aug 8, 2014
Relaxing and wonderful

The hotel was very clean and inviting. We truly enjoyed our stay. See full review

  • Tonya P.
  • Aug 5, 2014
Rising up on the shores of the scenic Potomac River, The Westin Washington National Harbor looks out over views of our nations capital and its many landmarks. One of the newest hotel additions to Washington, DC, our hotel brings style, sophistication, and elegance to National Harbor – a dynamic 300-acre waterfront destination that incorporates the best in quality dining, retail, and entertainment outlets. 195 exceptionally-appointed guest rooms, including five suites, are designed with your comfort in mind. Amenities such as High Speed Internet Access, flat panel LCD televisions, the Heavenly® Bed, and the Heavenly® Shower, provide the respite you deserve. With refreshing panoramic views of the Potomac River and the Harbor Walk, our restaurant and lobby bar add to your world-class experience. Located in Prince George County, Maryland on the banks of the Potomac River, our hotel is in close proximity of Old Town Alexandria, Arlington, and Georgetown and only a 10-minute drive via I-295 to Washington, DC, the Naval Research Laboratory and the Navy Yard. We are also ideally located between Andrews Air Force Base and Bolling Air Force Base. Our National Harbor hotel is also just a 15-minute drive from Reagan National Airport and within a 45-minute drive of both Washington Dulles and Baltimore Washington International Airports. We invite you to discover new possibilities, a new destination, a new city, and The Westin Washington National Harbor.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Washington National Harbor also booked these hotels.

The Westin Washington National Harbor Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Children's activities
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Multilingual
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Dining

Lobby Bar
Join friends and colleagues for a glass of wine in the Lobby Bar. Try a signature cocktail and a light snack as you gaze out over the National Harbor and marina.
Sauciety
Join us for an unusual twist on dining at the Sauciety…an American grill. Flavorful sauces, dips, and chutneys are provided, encouraging you and your guests to share and taste each one. Enjoy a fresh spin on regional cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Washington National Harbor

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Washington National Harbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Apple pie
Business
Virginia, USA
Dec 28, 2011

We are disappointed

We had problem by the time we arrived, first the parking, then the room, we pay additional $25.00 to see the view. There's no refrigerator or microwave in the room, you need to request if you want one. The TV is not working , we need to moved to a different room. The staff is not friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring a lot of money coz they're expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington National Harbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Annika Brown
Business
National Harbor
Aug 12, 2013

CAUGHT STAPH INFECTION

!!DO NOT STAY HERE!! What I thought was a bad acne breakout was really a STAPH INFECTION (on my face!) caused by the hot tub! I have been given the run around by the general manager, Salem Shaheen, assistant general manager, Amr Bakr, (who both told me I would hear from the pool company and Coporate Prevention Loss Department.. never did) and Starwood Hotels eCommunication Specialists. Unless you want to waste money on a night, a doctors visit and all new cosmetic/facial products and deal with AWFUL customer service I suggest you stay somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington National Harbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kelvin the Salesman
Business
Woodbridge Virginia
Dec 30, 2013

Disappointed

When I first got to the room it had a musty smell that never left. Also there were only 1 set of towels. Other then that things were good. Until the next day, when I was surprised that after 2pm returning to my room, it still hasn't been cleaned or towels replenished. They knocked on the door around 3pm to clean up. At that point I was relaxing with my wife. I asked if they could come back around 5 once we left for dinner. They said yes, however when I got back around 8 the room still was the same mess , no new towels , sheets not made and trash not taken out. For the name and price I expected a little more then that. I would not use them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington National Harbor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 14, 2009

Maybe in another city

My room was disgusting. I found hair and stickly stuff in the bathroom and computer desk. Blood on toilet and a spot on the comforter. This hotel hasnt been open for more than a year, and it looked like a MOTEL. I was pleasantly moved after I complained to the front desk. But to be honest I was never comfortable again. The location is weird, not much interaction with the MD or DC or VA areas. Nice views, but little shopping, maybe will grow after in existence longer. The hotel didn't have a gift shop and there was no drugstore within a 5 mile radius. Difficult to walk to or catch transit of that matter. I will not stay here again if I visit the area, and have second guessed my logalty to Westin altogether.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington National Harbor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ES of MD
May 9, 2011

national harbor

Phone not functioning at first, television quirky, service response good however. Hotel would not pass up oportunity to overprice some items such a parking. Some other amenities as well. Location is more one of isolation than "scenic" resort. The facilitiy may appeal to some but not to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check independant parking rather than hotel offering 30$ V. 11$ /diem

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington National Harbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
poeili
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
May 24, 2012

location only matches value

the hotel has a great location and good amenities, but the details are not entirely cared for. For instance toilet products were not replaced after the first day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington National Harbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wm and Son
Business
Newark, NJ
Aug 27, 2013

50th March on Wash DC Weekend

Westin Hotel was comfortable and convient. The surounding area had enough things to do without leaving the Harbour area. Transportation to and from Downtown DC was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington National Harbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tamburlaine
Business
NYC
Feb 1, 2010

Go Elsewhere to eat and drink

Nice reception; great bed; trendy room (402), but two lamps were unplugged, cracked mirror, and defective frig were annoying for new hotel. Charges for everything more so: $11/30 parking; $4.50 for bottle of water in room; $10 internet connection (faulty and never repaired despite two requests); music channels on TV were another $4.50, limited TV options. Is a credit card swipe on the toilet tissue dispenser next at Starwood hotels? Avoid hotel bar and restauant at all costs--lousy drinks and surly service to match. All mentioned at departure check- out to no effect. Stay elsewhere in National Harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great seafood restaurant down the street with great wine selection by the glass. Great service and view. (McSomething & Schmidt). Also great hamburger place (50's decor)(Ultimate Hamburger?) two short blocks away with freshly ground beef--very good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington National Harbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MPS
Business
Manassas, VA
May 28, 2010

Harbor View

We really didn't spend much time there. However, I was a little disappointed that the room did not have the amenities I am used to such as a stocked refrigerator. Additionally, I thought the hotel would be alive at all hours but when we arrived back at midnight it was completely shut down and no one was manning the front desk and the lights were out. Lastly, the food in the restaurant was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Washington National Harbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joannagirl
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 4, 2009

Never got to stay there!

This hotel was very difficult to find - which I blame mostly on the town as there were no signs nor directions on how to get into the new constructioned area! After 2 hours of wandering around the town and being very frazzled and finally calling the hotel and getting yelled at by the person answering the phones (I kept trying to tell her where I was and she kept trying to tell me how to get there, and finally she yelled at me to be quiet so that she could talk. NOT what I expected from a Westin. Or any hotel for that matter.), I finally found the entrance. Pulled up to the hotel excited to just relax from the past two very stressful hours, and was told that they had overbooked their rooms, and had found me a hotel room elsewhere. I was whisked out of the lobby and back in my car before I knew what to say or do. They did book me in another Westin only about 8 miles away which ended up working out very well, but the small interaction I had with their customer service was pretty disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a ton of restaurants and shops within a short one block walk from the hotel from what I could see! Except... I couldn't experience any of them as I had to find the hotel they had rebooked me at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top